1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(53 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(15%)
(4%)
(2%)
(0%)
Scores well for quality and comfort
rating
by Dzdiver
Cycling Enthusiast
Kailua Kona, HI

Had long postponed replacing my worn-out Shimano R088Ls purely due to dread of the process of buying shoes on-line (have limited shopping choices locally). Wanted to stick with Shimano brand as they have a wide toe box and (I hoped) consistent sizing across their model lines over the years (as needed for my existing custom orthotics to fit into the new shoes). I bought the same size as my old shoes and got a good fit with my orthotics. Being used to old style Velcro straps and ratchet latching systems I had doubts about the Boa system. First look at my new shoes didn’t reduce these doubts as the Boa loops seemed so thin and delicate. Checking out the Boa website convinced me that the wire loops would be more than strong enough. After about 1000 miles of riding with these RC701s I’ve concluded that these are excellent shoes. I’m very happy with this purchase.

Reviewed 10/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really wanted to use them but no go for me
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT

Constructed similarly to the S-Phyres, the RS701's are very well made, look extremely durable. Unfortunately I can't use them. As SteveB commented, putting them on is a problem. With the stock insoles, it isn't too bad, but thicker insoles or the orthotics I must use make getting them on extremely difficult. And you end up with your socks pulled tight against the ends of your toes, a real problem if you have hammertoes as I do. So I can't use them. Anybody planning/needing to use anything other than the stock inserts may have this problem.

This is not an issue with S-Phyres because they have two-piece uppers which wrap over each other; the RC701's have a three piece setup: Left, Right, and Tongue. Unfortunately the S-Phyres cost about twice as much as the RC701's.

Reviewed 10/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes!! The BOA mechanisms are great!
rating
by Eric
Competitive Racer
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I got these a half size bigger than normal as my feet seem to be swelling a bit more as I age. So, these are really great shoes right out of the box. I was a little concerned about the stiffness as the soles aren't 100% carbon. But they say they are a 10 on the Shimano scale. Whatever that actually means!

I do have to say that I like these BOA mechanisms far better than the ones that were on a pair of Specialized shoes I had. I think the technology has just evolved. The fine tuning is great and the way the second BOA wraps over the top of the foot ensure a really great fit. I love these shoes!

Reviewed 7/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is an overall excellent shoe with one significant drawback.
rating
by Steve B
Cycling Enthusiast
American Southwest
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a dedicated (app 4000 mi/yr) older cyclist. These are the most expensive road shoes I have ever purchased, and the first time I wore them on the bike I could tell they are the best - the soles are quite stiff but comfortable and through their stiffness seem to give a boost to each pedal stroke. Once they are on my feet, they are a pleasure to wear on the bike, but getting them on my feet is harder than it should be. With the BOA-secured strap across the top of the shoe, there is not much of an opening to get your foot in, and it can be quite difficult to get hold of the tongue of the shoe and keep it from getting pushed into the shoe by the foot going in. The opening needs to be made larger or the tongue longer or both. A person has to wonder how much actual testing of the shoe was done before the design was finalized.

Reviewed 5/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Upgrade your cycling shoes
rating
by Philpl
Vancouver

Having upgraded from the Shimano RC100 cycling shoes, I can definitely feel the improvements in the quality of the shoe�s material and the stiffer soles. Overall sleek looking and great cycling shoe

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe / great vendor
rating
by tkollig
Cycling Enthusiast
midland, mi

These shoes fit great and the upper is soft. The sole is plenty of stiff for aggressive riding. I wore them now for ~400mi and really like them.

I was unsure about sizing but I called the vendor and they gave me info about shimano's sizing variations.

Returns would have been easy (according to that conversation) but The shoes fit perfectly.

Reviewed 8/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy Feet
rating
by Me from here
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been waiting to buy these shoes, I had to wait for my Shimano SH-R171's which were a solid purchase to wear out before I deserved new shoes. I have had shoes from Sidi, Mavic, Garneau, Northwave, and Shimano. The Shimano shoes seem to be the best at combining comfort and power transition at the right price. More toe box space than the previously mentioned shoes and great overall feel. The Boa closures are really sweet and super easy to use, my Garneau' also has the Boa system but placed differently, the Rc7's placement is more comfortable and secure to me.

Reviewed 1/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great shoe.
rating
by Rides2Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson

This is the best road bicycling shoe I have owned.

Reviewed 5/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great shoe for the price.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA

I also own a pair of the S-Phyre RC9's as well. The RC7 is not quite

as stiff but still a great shoe considering the price compared to the RC9. Adding the 2nd Boa makes this a better shoe than the previous option. Super comfortable right out of the box.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfort and ease of use.
rating
by imdodgrfan
Cycling Enthusiast
Socal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes are very comfortable. During long rides I do not get any hot spots. They fit true to size. I wear 11.5 to 12 in shoes and these are 46.

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The shoes are worth every penny!
rating
by Vortex
Competitive Racer
Sacramento, CA

The shoes are stiff for power transfer, yet comfortable. They are thinner than other older models of cycling shoes, so be ready to wear shoe covers. I measure 225mm and got a size 42.5 since my feet are a little wide.

Reviewed 10/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice shoe for the price
rating
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, Utah
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are light, comfortable, stiff and really do the job. They might not be on the highest end of the shoe war but I doubt you'd notice much difference if any against the bigger dollar shoe. Super glad I pulled the trigger to buy them. You really cannot go wrong with them. I ended up with about 12 size larger for better fit.

Reviewed 1/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and easy
rating
by NW
Vancouver WA

These shoes are super comfy and quick and easy to get laced up

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
RC701 - Awesome shoes
rating
by cf55
Cycling Enthusiast
Kent, WA

I have a hard time finding shoes that fit. Shimano shoes are the best fitting shoes for me. These have a larger toe box, which is very important for me. The shoes are really stiff and still comfortable. I have noticed the positive difference in my pedal stroke. I love these shoes and will always buy shimanos with carbon soles going forward. I wish I would have bought these years ago.

Reviewed 8/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Florida
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent shoe for all seasons in Florida. The right amount of stiffness and very light. Becoming my go to shoe.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice riding shoe, Uppers scuff after few rides
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
5 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Very nice looking riding shoe, which look great out of the box. Perfect summer shoe. Fit my foot really well. Downside is that the graphics start rubbing of the synthetic upper when you clip as you flick the pedal over to clip in.

Reviewed 8/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic road shoe at a reasonable price.
rating
by Anonymous
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Immediate impact on my performance. This shoe has a design that seems to promote proper technique while maintaining comfort. My average speed has increased by 1 mph. Love the design, the uppers are a little hard at first, but after a few rides the shoe breaks in nicely.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and stylish, too much volume in toe for my foot.
rating
by Trevor
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the shoe style, comfort, stiffness and price. The toe has too much volume for my foot . I will have to try alternative foot beds to get it just right.

Reviewed 9/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable, stiff sole for max power transfer. Light weight for riding and racing. With Boa adjust while riding.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Use it for my daily commute. Climbing has become easy with lot of power transfer.

Reviewed 8/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes for the price
rating
by Ron Bridges
Cycling Enthusiast
Germantown TN
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These have quickly become my favorite pair of bike shoes

Reviewed 8/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.