1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(8)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(15%)
(5%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Great shoes for the price
rating
by Ron Bridges
Cycling Enthusiast
Germantown TN
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These have quickly become my favorite pair of bike shoes

Reviewed 8/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have a very average foot and Shimano soes fit me real well, I've been happy with the shoe.
rating
by Jeff
Competitive Racer
Bend, OR
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I use this shoe for my triathlons that I do. I like the quick tightening and loosening feature of the Boa. I prefer this shoe over triathlon specific shoes because it is stiffer. The only very slight drawback that I have encountered is putting on rain, cold weather and aero booties. My booties fit quite tight and tend to pull up and release the Boa system when I'm putting the booties on and off.

Reviewed 5/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good road shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great fit. Light weight. I would recommend

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
rating
by Anonymous

I started with the cheap shoes because I wasn't sure how much I'd ride. Bumped up to what I thought were mid grade Shimano and really wasn't that impressed over my "cheap" shoes. They were better, but not that much better. Finally decided to upgrade to carbon and decided on these bc of the price point. Great decision for me. They are a huge improvement in feeling and being able to tighten them down. Someday I'll probably get risky and try the high end stuff but for now these are great over the cheap stuff and still reasonably priced.

Reviewed 11/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes!
rating
by David
South of Denver, CO

I purchased these Shimano RC701's to replace an earlier model Shimano R171's with Velcro and ratchet strap. I went with these Shimano 701's because I assumed the fit would be similar because I tried in several different brands and models years ago and selected the 171's. Luckily the fit is virtually the same. The BOA adjusters allow infinite amount of adjustment. The sole is very stiff to allow power to the pedals. Very satisfied with my purchase.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoes but weak Boas
rating
by bjedg
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, Michigan

The only disappointing thing about these is that the Boas loosen after about 15-20 minutes--sooner on rougher roads or gravel. At first I thought maybe I just under-tightened the Boas when I started out but this happens consistently on every ride. They don't loosen to the point of falling off, but the point of a cycling shoe is to hold tight and transfer force through the whole pedal cycle and these Boas loosen to the point where that is compromised.

Reviewed 7/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They're awesome
rating
by B
Maryland

The fit is right on. Clean style and solid boa dials. I'm very happy. Might have gone top of the line, but these are great and were almost half the price- I'm not a racer, but a solid a rider.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new RC701s
rating
by Mkey
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My previous shoes (Shimano R171s) which I loved, were damaged in a cycling accident and needed replacement. Doing some research, it seemed like the RC701 was the logical replacement. I love these shoes. Comfortable, stylish, and Boas instead of Velcro, and a great price point. While the Boas cannot be turned the other direction to loosen them, I find that is not an issue for me. I usually keep them a little loose to start my ride and give them a little twist if I need to later. The soles are quite stiff and I really haven't noticed any difference riding from my old beloved R171s. It you don't want to spent S-Phyre money for a great shoe, the RC701is a great choice.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic for my feet on long rides.
rating
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

ive struggled to find cycling shoes that are comfortable on longer rides. every other shoe ive tried started giving me hot spots around mile 20 and ive just had to deal with the discomfort. i decided to try these out and boy am i glad i did. the toe box is generous and comfortable. i did a 50+ mile ride the day after i got these and at mile 50 my feet felt great. no hot spots at all. easy to adjust on the fly if need be as well which is nice. overall im very happy with these so far.

also the shimano size chart is different from your standard EU to US sizing. i got a 48 based on shimanos chart (usually i wear a 46-47EU, 12US) and they fit perfectly for my size 12US feet.

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value, light and stiff
rating
by Back roads fan
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Vermont

I upgraded to these shoes when they were on sale, from almost 20-year-old lace-up Lake shoes. The boa system makes it so much quicker and easier to put on and remove the shoes. I am still getting used to how to fine tune the tightness of the two boas. The action is so smooth that it is easy to over tighten the lower adjuster. I find that I need to leave the tightness less than what I thought was needed and make small changes to optimize the fit.

The ventilation is good as advertised. I can feel the air move through the shoe when it is hot out.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome and stiff
rating
by Aaron
Savannah,Ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The shoe is really stiff and responsive, power transfer felt spot on. The aeration is so good specially this hot and humid weather. I had some long rides a couple of times and never felt any pressure spots. The boa dials are great in spreading the tension and provides good fitting. The best thing on this is that I got it on a discounted price.

Reviewed 5/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable shoes
rating
by Carbonfiberkid
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I I haven't done any long rides yet but so far on the shorter rides, 30 minutes, on the trainer these are really comfortable. With the short tongue and BOA system they are a little harder to put on

Reviewed 4/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome and stiff
rating
by Aaron
Savannah,Ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The shoe is really stiff and responsive, power transfer felt spot on. The aeration is so good specially this hot and humid weather. I had some long rides a couple of times and never felt any pressure spots. The boa dials are great in spreading the tension and provides good fitting. The best thing on this is that I got it on a discounted price.

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these shoes, true to size compared to Bontrager shoes,
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Braunfels, Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I do not compete anymore but love a light weight, stiff sole shoe and these fit the bill. Haven't ridden in them enough to find anything bad with them. I love the little extra room I feel I have in the toe box area. Would buy them again from what I can tell so far. I wear an 11 in almost all my casual shoes and the 46 was a perfect fit.

Reviewed 12/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoe, well vented and stiff sole
rating
by Mike H
New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been wearing Fizik for years and was ready to try something new. I bought the white and they are a beautiful shoe. Well ventilated, and very stiff sole. As far as sizing, I am a 9 1/2 and I bought these in a 45. I like my cycling shoes slightly large to accommodate swelling in hot temps. These fit perfect, and have a very roomy toe box.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Roomy and well ventilated
rating
by East Bay Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've always worn Shimano cycling shoes because they offer a nice size toe box for me, not that I have big toes but they have always been roomier than say SIDI for example. The RC7's are spot on, plus they seem well ventilated for those hot summer rides coming up. Not the stiffest sole I've experienced, but great for me. Lightweight carbon sole and of very comfortable. I love the twin BOA dials for getting a snug fit. The shoe last seems to be the same as previous models so I bought my usual size (46) without any worry.

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoes!
rating
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Colorado
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are my first try of a shoe with the BOA dial system. My other shoes are entry level with velcro closures- not bad but was wondering what the improvement in a nicer shoe would bring to the riding experience.

There are definite differences. The new shoes feel a bit lighter than the old, I like the BOA and the snugness of the fit, the soles are very stiff and it feels like an actual improvement in power transfer, especially out of the saddle.

The cons it's difficult to get them on, and they chafe a bit above the heel the back of the shoe. I'm thinking this will improve as they break in with use.

Reviewed 4/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable yet rigid and good for high insteps
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine

Pros: I use these shoes for road and gravel riding. They are responsive on climbs, especially the rigidity provides stability and power. I have a high instep and wide feet. These are great for accommodating both. I would buy them again.

Cons"For some reason the tongue can get pushed into the shoe when I am putting them on. Very small detail given the quality and performance of the shoe.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable shoe
rating
by BillS
Cycling Enthusiast
Andover, Minnesota, United States

I really appreciate the dual adjuster on each shoe. It helps me get the perfect fit. It also offers the ability to adjust the toe separately from the top strap. It is exactly what I wanted.

Reviewed 5/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfy, stiff, and good fit for a wide toe box
rating
by Solomona8
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area

My foot is a challenge to fit because I have a wide toe box and a narrow heel. The Shimano RC 701, fit my foot really well throughout the entire ride. I am > 200lbs, and they remain stiff even when I stand on the pedals. I really enjoy riding with them.

Reviewed 10/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.