FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Schwalbe Winter Tire (HS 396)

SchwalbeWinter Tire (HS 396)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(9)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(56%)
(33%)
(4%)
(4%)
(4%)
On hard pack and light ice my commute was pleasant.
rating
by Circular
Daily Commuter
Springfield, MO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put the Schwable Winter tires on a spare and now it is my go to bike for snowy and icy roads.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for winter bike commuting!
rating
by jerry!
Daily Commuter
Burlington, VT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires have been great! I commute to work everyday in northern Vermont, where weather can vary from day to day. These tire have served me well during snowy rides and the nutty thaw freeze cycles of VT.

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Winter rider
rating
by bart
Cycling Enthusiast
Intercourse, PA

I threw one of these on the front of my bike and was able to ride this winter without falling down. Exactly as expected, no surprises.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install, great traction, reflective sidewall
rating
by RichardC
Casual Cyclist
Boston, MA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Doing 7 miles/day commute in Boston year round, on a Raleigh Misceo 2.0 hybrid. These studded tires allow you to ride safely on smooth ice. Previously, on plain rubber tires, any small patch of ice could cause a skid and loss of balance, with these studs it's no problem. They don't solve the problem of thick rutted ice or deep snow, but that occurs less frequently.

The reflective sidewall is a bonus, giving excellent side visibility on dark winter evenings.

There's a little extra noise, and noticeably more rolling resistance, but it's well worth it to feel safe in winter conditions.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire. Just right for an urban commute
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Minnesota

It has the basics to me upright on ice.

Reviewed 5/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
For Ice Only
rating
by Mark
Western Colorado
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I planned on leaving these tires on until spring, rolling through the snowy, icy days and the drier days in between.

I took them off after one day.

I expected them to be kinda sluggish, being studded snow tires, but wow. They are heavy, stiff, noisy, and slipperyyes, slipperyon anything short of blade ice. I didn't think a tire could be so harsh, even at low pressures. I didn't think a tire could be so skittery on asphalt. I didn't think studs could be so ineffective in snow.

My knobbly CX tires (also Schwalbes) outperform these on every surface but blade ice, even crispy iced snowpack.

Save these tires for your zamboni.

Reviewed 3/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
work really great
rating
by Damien
Daily Commuter
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Used it in Washington DC for few weeks. Tried on fresh snow and it works perfectly. When no snow, it's an extra work (and sound) to ride with, but it's usable (I have only one commuter bike so I let my studded tires on it for weeks). I haven't tried on black iced but friends told me it doesn't work.

I haven't lost any stud during that period, and I had no flat.

Reviewed 3/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still going after 5 winters
rating
by Bad weather bad bike
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these many years ago at LBS. I put approx 25 miles per week on them Dec-Mar. Treads and studs are still good after at least 5 Northeast winters. No punctures yet for me or my wife. They've saved my butt when I hit an unexpected black ice puddle in the dark. I'd buy another set, but I might not need them for another 5 years.

The tread is pretty mild, so they're not great when the snow gets deep. Not so many studs either, so don't lean too far over. They are slower than what you ride in the summer, but if you want just enough winter traction, these are good compromise. If you want more traction and more studs, get something knobbier, and be prepared to go even slower. These are around the same level as the Nokian A10, which is skinnier with a more square profile.

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tire with room for more studs.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires, Just like a marathon but with studs and some extra knobs, there are empty holes that you could put in another row of studs if you wanted, but it works well enough on ice without.

Reviewed 2/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Provide great traction
rating
by Hodaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester Mn
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Put the studded tires on my commuter bike. I try to ride a few times a week. I took a spill in December so bought these, they really give me confidence on the icy spots of the road.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Burly winter tire
rating
by MTRyno
Daily Commuter
Missoula, MT
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these tires for winter commuting in Montana for a couple months. They have generally done a very good job at keeping me upright through snow, ice and slush. The only complaint would be that if the snow has really been packed down and turned to ice chunks and you end up in a tire rut (e.g. on a non-plowed side street or something), and there is built up ice on both sides of the rut, the lack of studs or knobs on the edge of the tire make getting out of the rut a little dicey. But I'm not sure there is much that could be done to really solve that problem anyway. I would definitely buy these again.

Reviewed 1/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent ice tire!
rating
by Anonymous
Michigan
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a Michigan transplant so frigid winters are relatively new to me. Last winter I was taking my chances with rubber on ice, everything is fine but suddenly I'm on my back, still clipped in, headlight and water bottle skipping off the trail in opposite directions. Time for studded tires!

With these tires I'm confident on solid ice, like frozen lakes or just thin cracking patches of ice. You are only as secure as the ice you are riding on, so I have been on a sheet of ice that slides a bit, even though the tire maintains traction it is possible to slip out a few inches. Frozen earth and gravel are no problem. This is my cross bike, so I've been over every type of terrain with no issues except deep show where only maybe a fat bike can go. Even dry pavement is ok, the zing of the spikes is actually less than I had expected. I'll keep these tires on through winter, ice or not. Co-workers think I'm crazy to commute in conditions they can't even walk in!

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first set of studded tires
rating
by Anonymous
Chicago

I didn't know what to expect but I like them. Good grip on icy pavement. Too thin to provide a lot of benefit in measurable snow. The studs make. Nice humming noise which shouldn't have surprised me but did. I recommend the tires.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great value for winter road tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
northwest PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Affordable winter road tire that takes the scare out of riding in light snow or potentially icy road conditions. Increased rolling resistance as expected. Studs have stayed in place and grip road well. Certainly not a fast road tire but keeps you riding during winter months . Very satisfied with the purchase

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good on the ice
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

We had a pretty gruesome winter last year in Boston, and these saved my ass on a number of occasions. Important to note that if you corner too hard, the spikes can't save you. Rode about 2000km without a puncture, and lost only 4 spikes, so I guess these will survive a few more winters.

Reviewed 10/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for marginal to poor winter conditions
rating
by ColoDude
Cycling Enthusiast
Conifer, CO
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I put this on touring bike rims (Cannondale T2000), and headed out along my usual trail. There was glare ice, rough ice patches, and some crunchy snow along the way. The tire performed perfectly in all cases. Smooth, no slip on the rear while accelerating a bit on the glare ice, stable tracking through the rough patches, and like the snow wasn't there for the crunchy stuff.

It did take more effort to pedal at my usual pace, but not overly so. The rubber part of the tread is fairly aggressive, so I would suspect it to be decent in dirt, but not mud. The noise of the studs was noticeable, but not overly so. I was careful turning sharply, as the studs do make the front wheel a bit more skittish. I wouldn't take these tires down my CO mountain road at 35 MPH, but I would at 20 MPH, and slowing on the icy turns, just like one does in the car with studded tires.

I've run studded tire on my cars for 30 years, and these tires are as well built as I've seen. At almost 200 lbs, I put a lot of stress on these tires with no missing studs and no noticeable wear. If I were commuting, I would suspect I could easily get 1000-1500 miles of use riding bike trails.

Reviewed 2/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Noisy and slow, with limited traction upside
rating
by Parseeker
Cycling Enthusiast
Ontario, Canada
7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Ontario, Canada and ordered these for my winter riding needs which includes mostly gravel or chip-seal country roads that are snowice packed from Dec through March. In addition to traction issues we have quite a few steep hills here, putting a premium on traction for ascents and descents. I ride throughout the year and average about 100kmweek in winter. Before trying these tires I had successfully used Trigger Pro and Sammy Slick in winter. Both are file tread tires with side knobs. The file tread allows them to clear quickly while the side knobs, when they kick in, provide a chance at staying upright. Suffice it to say that it's a white knuckle ride! FYI, I have never flatted in winter (I use Conti butyl tubes with Stans's compound inside them).

Having read various reviews of spiked tires I thought I would trade up in traction and safety.

For my first ride with these tires I chose a 35km route that included pack snowice and some clear asphalt, basically anything I would encounter in a typical winter ride.

Given the weight of these tires compared with 300-325g for the aforementioned semi-slicks, I was expecting a slower ride. Even so I was surprised by the increase in rolling resistance. At 50psi, these tires were hard to keep rolling on every surface I encountered. Plus, they hey were noisy to the point of being annoying, and after 35km I felt like I had ridden 75km. But even more surprisingly they offered little, if any, upgrade in traction over my usual rubber.

Perhaps tires these aren't meant to go fast and the resistance curve bends sharply up past a certain speed (likely) or perhaps I could lose several watts of resistance by tweaking tire pressure. And perhaps they get better after a break-in period.

I'm wiling to give them another try, but boy, given how noisy they are, this might not happen for a while!

Conclusion some upgrade on snow and ice, although surprisingly little in my experience, vastly increased resistance and noise.

Reviewed 12/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the tire failed after one day
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Champaign, IL
4 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I bought 2 tires, installed them on the bike, inflated them to about 80 psi (sidewall recommends 50-95), and made sure they were both seated properly. I rode a short distance, and everything seemed fine. The next day I was surprised to find the rear tire had blown out and the bead was separated from the rest of the tire in 2 places. The front tire seems fine, but I don't trust it anymore, so I replaced both with a pair of Nokian Hakkapelittas.

Reviewed 10/30/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires for ice and 3 snow
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Spokane WA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Have used these all winter and rode blacktop and gravel with packed snow and ice with no issues. They rail and give you great confidence on ice for traction in both power and braking

Reviewed 10/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are robust and should give years of service
rating
by Trailrunner918
Cycling Enthusiast
Eureka, MT

I have read the reviews about these tires and expected that maybe these tires may not perform but I figured I'd give them a try. I won't be returning them. On glare ice and packed snow they perform better than I expected. Without saying I got stupid and tried them out in slushy snow... don't even try it bicycle riding in those conditions could be determined to be suicidal as the laws of physics quickly conspire to work against you, gravity being the most pronounced. I live in NW Montana where we have snow for at least 5 months of the year and I was determined to get out on my bike. I have a hybrid that came with 700X32 tires I measured and ordered a set of 700X35. Yes they are a tad slower than a road bike high performance tire but c'mon if your riding in the conditions I do speed is not exactly a high priority. Ask anyone who knows me, they'll tell you I am no slouch when it comes to going fast but conditions have to be reasonable. so getting back to these studded tires, I've never had a set prior to getting these babies and I love em.

Reviewed 4/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page