FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

OrtliebBack Roller Classic Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(16%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great pannier set at a great price!
rating
by Karl
Missoiri

Westernbikeworks featured the Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Pannier Set as a deal of the day. Price was great for such a well reviewed product. Ortlieb has a great rank compatibility roll and it indicates that they worked with our Racktime FoldIt rear rack. So I bought the set. Easy to setup. Easy to mount and remove. Great capacity. Very pleased with purchase.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use with plenty of room for daily winter commute
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

A smidge smaller for daily commuting would be perfect. But the extra room is handy for winter morning clothing that's not needed for afternoon ride home.

Reviewed 2/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for wet weather commuting.
rating
by tlynsmith
Daily Commuter
Vashon Island

These panniers are sturdy and solid. I do not worry about any of the contents getting wet on my commute, and I often have my laptop inside. They are well-made and I especially love the blue color. I would give them a 5-star, but I wish the side buckles would be longer so that I could attach them to each other on top, but they are just a bit too short, requiring using the add'l 'shoulder' strap which is a bit less convenient for me.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough as nails Easy to use
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Port Townsend

Great for taking almost anything, anywhere, in any weather

Reviewed 10/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great quality bags that stay put on the rack and keep your stuff clean and dry.
rating
by Anonymous

Build quality and ease of mounting

Reviewed 9/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best panniers
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Fayetteville, AR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these for my commuting bike and the only thing I can say about them is that they are amazing. The design is VERY good. Everything about them screams functional. I never worry about these coming off my bike. Completely waterproof as well so I don't have to worry about my laptop getting wet. There is a built in pocket in each pannier. It is too small for me to fit my laptop, but it is the perfect size for a tablet. There is also a mesh pocket that would be perfect to carry other smaller items. These panniers are also cavernous. I can fit my work clothes (button up, pants, belt, socks, shoes, etc.) in one pannier so I can put other clothing for weather in the other pannier, along with spare tubes, hand pump, and other bike tools needed for everyday commuting. I love these panniers!

Reviewed 7/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pannier set - solid construction and well engineered. Yellow color is vivid and enhances visibility.
rating
by Martin
Casual Cyclist
Evanston, IL

We load of the panniers with beach stuff and groceries - very versatile.

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Panniers
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

These panniers are able to hold everything I need for commuting to work. Change of clothes, shoes, socks, rain jacket, etc. I am also able to carry a couple spare tubes, a multitool, tire levers in case I get a flat. They are completely waterproof and look great on my bike. I would certainly buy these again.

Reviewed 6/18/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great waterproof bag, lots of room.
rating
by Digita6
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are simple, cavernous, waterproof panniers that get the job done. There is a small divider inside with a shallow zipper pocket. More organizational options would be nice, but these are the classics, designed with simplicity in mind. They adjust easily and mount to my rack quickly and securely. Mission accomplished.

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so dry, easy to attach to racks, plenty of room.
rating
by rbsweetor
Cycling Enthusiast
portland or
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

I have some Ortlieb duffels that have held up beautifully for over 10 years. These panniers appear to keep that tradition alive. The installation can be very complex is you're looking for perfect fit, but the bags went straight onto to two of our bikes with no adjustment necessary. Nice and secure while you're riding. And the bright yellow is just another bonus for visibility. I got these for my teenage kids to use and they manage very well with them.

Reviewed 11/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality is worth the higher price
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

Having used Ortlieb products for motorcycle trips many times in the past, I know that they're well made and designed, rugged, actually waterproof, and worth the extra $$ that they cost. These are no exception. Really nice. Heavy duty, extremely easy to slide onoff the rack, and plenty of space. Glad I didn't try to save a few bucks and get a cheaper model. In the long run, most of the time we basically pay for what we get, and these should last a long, long time.

Reviewed 12/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rugged,phenomenal 5-year guarantee, easy to use, holds a lot, totally waterproof, and classy!!
rating
by Laura
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

I love my panniers. I was going to get a pair from another maker that was [$] cheaper, but the rugged quality of the Ortlieb material, including the hardware, their ease of use, classy good looks, and the fact that they are totally waterproof made my decision a no-brainer. I'm a serious commuter cyclist (I no longer own a car) and do everything by bike. My Ortlieb panniers make this possible and fun!

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love my Ortlieb panniers!
rating
by Laura loves cycling in Seattle
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

These panniers have made my life easier because prior to purchasing them I was using an old, small pannier that belonged to my son and I was constantly having to think hard about how to cram stuff into it. In contrast, my Ortliebs are roomy, totally waterproof (trust me on this, I live in Seattle) and very easy to place on and remove from my rack. I have to say that they look classy too (I ordered black because the black happened to be on sale) on my grey and blue cruiser. If I could change anything, I'd want the inside a vivid color because that would make it easy to identify what I need from the deep well of the bag. I'm a diehard cyclist (no more car!!!) and I even like the process of packing and loading the panniers up - it's kind of a Zen thing. I would recommend these to anybody who is committed to biking to the grocery store and to work. Plus, when you ride around with these, you're in a cycling club-I see riders with these great panniers all over the fab bike paths in Seattle!

Reviewed 11/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
solid product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

I'm using this Ortlieb pannier set for commuting to work. The two bags give me plenty of room for my work clothes, shoes, and laptop. I'm very happy with the ease they are attached and removed from the rack. I live in Southern California, so I have yet to test the apparent water repellant capability. I was hesitant about the roll top closure, but after using it for a couple of weeks with different amounts of gear in the bag I think its a good design.

Only think missing for me would be a small pocket on the side for keys/phone.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic- Yellow
rating
by Anonymous
Boston, MA
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

Great commuter pannier! I use only one one most of time because it holds everything I carry day to day! I've gotten multiple compliments about it and it's extremely easy to handle. I have not tested it in heavy rain yet because I don't have water resistant biking clothes but definitely not a problem in light rain.

Reviewed 6/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functional cargo space
rating
by Anonymous
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Nice bags that attach securely, have functional shoulder straps, keep the water out, and have a decent amount of capacity - enough for a short bike camping trip. A couple of negatives - one bag had a defective seam along the bottom of the inner pocket. I also wish there was some easily accessible small exterior pocket for items that you might want to access without unrolling the top. Finally, I have the blue bag, the material doesn't allow light through and looking into the bag against a dark background it can be really hard to see the contents. Lighter colors might have an advantage for interior visibility.

Reviewed 5/26/2013
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

In our experience, even the lighter colors do not let much light in; the material is quite opaque.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well built, but lack sides pockets
rating
by karmarider79
Cycling Enthusiast
Germantown md
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Cross-country touring.

Reviewed 2/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Flashgitcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC suburbs
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second set of Ortlieb panniers I have bought. The first set was about 12 or more years ago. They are still going strong, but I needed a set for a second bike and wanted a matching color. I wouldn't have bought any other panniers. These are excellent - totally waterproof, no extra pockets all over, you just dump your stuff and go. I have front and back panniers and at the supermarket I can fill a cart and still have room in the panniers, they are that big. A new thing since I bought the original ones is the slim pocket inside in case you have a magazine or papers you don't want crushed. They are easy to put on and take off. Love, love, love these panniers and how totally waterproof they are.

Reviewed 11/17/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These panniers are a great value, what ortlieb advertises is true.
rating
by Dean
Cycling Enthusiast
michigan
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

We cycled 2 weeks thru Austria and Germany. The bags had enough room for all our gear and a few beers and food for lunch.The quality is excellent .There are straps for over the shoulder and handles for easy transportation off the bike.

Buy these if you want a worry free ride.

Reviewed 11/10/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect solution for Pacific Northwest commuting.
rating
by Old.Road.Runner
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

We use these pannier for shopping commuting and exploring the Pacific NW on our bikes. This summer they were used in Washington, Oregon and BC on a bike trip by rod and ferries across the Puget Sound.

We are completely satisfied with the way they help out rain and dust. Great product!

Reviewed 9/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page