1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Maxxis Re-Fuse 700c MaxShield/TR Gravel Tire

MaxxisRe-Fuse 700c MaxShield/TR Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(25 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(88%)
(8%)
(0%)
(4%)
(0%)
Easy Install and Excellent Ride Quality
rating
by l.o.gravelist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon

Out of the package and onto the wheels was a cinch, and they sealed immediately on my DT Swiss wheelset with just a Lezyne Steel Drive floor pump. From there, it was just sealant and ride. The ride quality is amazing on both pavement and off road. Based on ease of set up and versatility, I'll buy these again and definitely recommend them to others.

Reviewed 10/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hugger upgrade
rating
by Eddie
Portland

These tires have turned my commuter into a Cadillac smooth ride. No traction issues on gravel and buttery smooth on the road

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First time going tubeless.
rating
by Let''s Ride!
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on DT Swiss R460 rims with Dura Ace hubs on a decked out Peugeot PX 10 frame. Used as a rain bike and 20 mile ride into town. Love the soft, fast, and smooth ride. Still learning how to handle tubeless. Flatted from a roofing nail in pouring rain and didn't get sealed up. Finally did at home. I see them more as road tires than gravel, but do ride well on the packed light dry stuff. I do like the tires.

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just like beach bike tires
rating
by Katy trail tim
Cycling Enthusiast
kansas city Mo

Plush ride is the best trait of these tubeless tires. The ride is so smooth.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
2nd set of these
rating
by mmccormickdev
Cycling Enthusiast
Hershey, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use the 40 mm version tubeless on my gravel bike and they're not too shabby for speed down the paved roads either. I'd describe it as a fat road tire with a very shallow (nearly slick) diamond pattern across the entire tread. The center tread section does wear to slick eventually after about 700 miles. If it were real chunky gravel riding then this is may not be my first choice. For a mix of smooth-ish dirt, gravel and broken pavement these are great. Also the tires seem to have pretty good flat resistance. They're good for about 2,000 miles for the back tire and the front is still clicking along. I'm running tubeless, so I just mounted a fresh rear tire. There might be slightly cheaper tires out there, but based on durability and function I'd say they're a pretty good value.

Reviewed 7/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A year later, no flats, great ride
rating
by S Philly
Daily Commuter
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Extremely reliable tough tubeless road tire. I've taken staples and glass shards out that never broke the protection layer. Despite all the abuse they've had on my commuteradventure bike I've only noticed them need to seal one tiny pinhole, which they did fast with orange seal. I have the 32s, which measure 33 on a 21mm internal rim. I expected the ride to be fairly wooden and it is if you inflate to 55-60 psi. Another reviewer here said pressure in the 40's works better and I agree very much. Mid 40s is really the sweet spot for these as a plush road ride, that takes the sting out of train tracks and all the worst stuff.

The quality is great and setup was easy (for tubeless anyway). For value to be honest I'd do 5 stars if they were a little cheaper. These start getting into GP5000TL range which are also available in a 32 and have better feel, rolling resistance and in my experience heal just fine. Sort of feels like premium price for commuter tires but at the same time these have really treated me great. Previously ran gravelking 32s set up the same but they were abysmally fragile for me. I began referring to them as fragilekings. IMHO if you're considering the Re-Fuse, go for it. I like them enough to buy them again.

Reviewed 6/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great urban road tires for iffy roads
rating
by feidbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Twin Cities, MN

These tires are great! Easy to install, very comfortable on bad pothole-filled roads, and relatively speedy. I'm even comfortable on light gravel or packed dirt for short durations.

Reviewed 8/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great mixed surface and touring tubeless tire
rating
by Utah gravel rider
Competitive Racer
Salt LakeOrem, Utah
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to mount on my other Wheelset. ( On my first Wheelset I ride WTB Nanos on off road gravel adventures.) I ride these Re-fuse 32c on good pavement, rough paved roads, gravel, hard pack, and a variety of surfaces. I've taken them on two 300 plus mile loaded bike packing trips. They have been great. Several thousand miles-not much sign of wear. I've NEVER had a flat tire-Not once in over 18 months of riding. They seem to be pretty comfy on pavement at 45 to 55 psi (I'm 6 foot and 170-175). On training rides I run these tires at 55-60 psi. Off road, on 2-3 hour gravel rides I run them at close to 40 psi and find them pretty comfy.

(My poor road bike misses me-I'm always out on a mixed surface adventure.)

I'm happy with this purchase and I will buy them again.

Reviewed 11/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and plush tubeless setup.
rating
by LFPPat
Daily Commuter
Lake Forest Park, WA
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased a pair of 32c Maxxis Refuse tires that I run on 700c rims. Setup is tubeless, using Orange Seal tubeless sealant. The ride is plush, and no flats in the first 400 miles or so of commuting in Seattle. Max pressure is listed as 75psi, and I typically pump them to about 65psi. One thing I have noticed about tubeless is that they do lose pressure over time, so it's a good idea to check them daily if you are picky. This is my 3rd set of Maxxis. I previously had 28c on this same bike, but ran them with tubes, and the ride was nowhere near as plush. I have 40c version on my 29er that is set up as a winter commuter. Had no flats last winter on that setup, and will see how long they last this winter. Overall, these tires are fantastic when setup as tubeless.

Reviewed 10/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic for hard pack
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to go with these tires on my CX bike for an upcoming event - the Grapes of Wrath ride, which is multi-surface. Lot's of tarmac, dirt farm roads and a 30 mile dirt climb. Last weekend I tested them out on some rough roads around San Luis Obispo, including some steep loose rocky terrain. The tires were utterly fantastic, smooth and comfy on the road and they handled almost all of the dirt except for some very rocky sections. No punctures or pinch flats!

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great road/gravel tire for most of us
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used the Maxxis Re-Fuse 700x40c for several years now. It's a very durable tire that rolls and definitely wears much better than most any road/gravel tire, including the Maxxis Rambler. This is not a weight weenie tire but those should be reserved for race days only. The Re-Fuse also works very well as rear tire for on-wheel trainers like the Kickr Snap. The convenience of being able to use the same tire for riding and training is tough to beat!

I've had some challenges airing it up tubeless with just a floor pump. You want to use plenty of soapy water with this one. It's not a great tire for low traction conditions.

This is one of those Maxxis tires that doesn't run smaller than marked - it's true to width (700x40c). Overall this is a great choice for anyone not needing to podium.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire provides wonderful smooth ride
rating
by Jersey Bike Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride my gravel bike on both gravel trails and asphalt and this tire provide a nice ride with little resistance on both surfaces. The tire replaced a slightly thinner tire with thicker more aggressive tread, so it was kind of an experiment, but I'm glad I made the change. Sounds silly but this tire gives me extra joy when I'm riding my gravel bike.

Not great in mud or loose gravel but I have a different bike for those conditions.

PS. I rated these tires a steal because I got them when they were on sale.

Reviewed 12/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I run these tires tubeless and have yet to have a flat on them. I guess if you look at sites that test rolling resistance, etc. they do NOT score well on that front. However, for me the puncture resistance and longevity is well worth it. I can ride chunky, rocky stuff, glass-strewn urban streets, freeway shoulders, etc. all with confidence that I'm not gonna flat. Prior to using these tires, I used Continental Gran Prix 4Seasons, which are "puncture resistant", but I would still get a flat at least once every 1000 miles or so. These tires wear out completely before I get a flat, I've gotten over 5000 miles without flatting. They're also fairly affordable, especially compared to other tubeless options, and the tan sidewall option looks great too!

Reviewed 11/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like riding on marbles
rating
by jarofclay
Cycling Enthusiast
South Carolina
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The roads that I ride have a variety of surfaces. There is new gravel, old gravel, smooth roads, sandy areas but very little mud. The only surface that I feel safe when using these tires is totally smooth surfaces. The tires are unstable on any other off road surface. When there is any gravel present, it feels like riding on marbles. They lose grip very easily. I weigh 125 lbs and I run the tires at 22-25 lbs of pressure and they still feel unstable and they do not maintain contact, especially when out of the saddle. I have switched back to the best tire for me and that is the Maxxis Rambler. The SilkShield is heavier and slightly less compliant than the Exo/Tr version which is also lighter and probably does provide quite as much puncture protection. I prefer the Exo/ Tr version because it seems to give better feel and it is very stable.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubeless set was smooth and the tire is sturdy
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Wisconsin
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Mostly riding paved but have no reservations rolling over gravel.

Reviewed 5/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for tubeless setup
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used these to convert my commuting/trail bike to tubeless setup. I used the 700x32 version. Grip well on wet and mixed surfaces. Tubeless conversion went very easy as well. They felt somewhat more sluggish from what I had before initially, but now I don't notice. I typically pump to about 60psi. These work great so far.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Absolute favorite tires to date!
rating
by Manthe
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I have roughly 400-500 miles on these tires now and I just could not be more pleased with them! I've also put them on my wife's bike and she feels the same. They are fast rolling and fast launching, yet very comfortable and stable. They provide outstanding traction on roads, paved trails, tight and loose gravel, hard-pack and grass. They are even adequate on wet surfaces. I feel confident on tight turns and have never had a slip or stutter. I've also received more compliments and inquiries about these tires than any others I've ever had. I'll definitely be using this model for a long time!

Reviewed 8/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
For my Commuter
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to convert my commuter to tubeless. Very easy to set up on mavic opens. Grippy on the pavement. Soft and responsive. Floats over the bjmps that used to rattle my bones.

Im happy so far after 2 weeks of commuting on them.

Reviewed 9/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great do anything tire!
rating
by Dennis S.
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have a few hundred miles on these( 700x40's) now and they have been holding up great. They mounted tubeless with no issues and run them at 40psi (I weigh 180). I have them on my 'do anything bike, they are nice and fast on the road and have the volume for gravel, dirt, and rough roads. The traction in the dry is fantastic! My teammate even made a comment about how much traction I have after he saw me rail a downhill turn. Traction in the rain is adequate, but not the tire's strong point. On hard packed gravel they are good, loose gravel is also not a strength of this tire but they will do the job.

Overall I love them and would recommend for a very versatile tire, for long road rides or mixed terrain rides these will do a great job, I also really like how smooth the ride is with 40mm width and the ability to drop the pressure low.

Finally, on top of the performance, they simply look rad!

Reviewed 4/12/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid
rating
by Scott
Madison, WI
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire for all different surfaces. I use them on crushed limestone for a perfect ride.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.