FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Kenda K161 KrossCyclo Tire

KendaK161 KrossCyclo Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(11)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(50%)
(31%)
(6%)
(8%)
(6%)
OK for the price
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are useful if you are looking to travel on dirt rail trails but are not intended for cyclocross racing or serious trail riding. The only thing bad I can say is that the size (width) in not even close to the stated size of 1-38 or 37mm. The width measures closer to 1.1 or 28mm so if you are looking for floatation in sand or cinders then look for something else. Actually I have had better sand performance from a set of 1-14 Panaracer Pasela road tires for off raod use and the Pasela tires are much faster and comfortable when on pavement.

All in all this is still a good light duty dirt road or hard trail tire for the money. It looks mean too!

Reviewed 7/21/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome tire for putting my road bike on some dirt and gravel paths
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
metrowest Boston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought 2 sets on sale and they are a bargain. Fit great, comfortable and grips well. On pavement definitely not super fast but I'm not a fast rider or plan to be. My terrain is mostly pavement but not 100%. Sometimes will be on singletrack dirt or crushed gravel on the same ride and these work very well.

Reviewed 8/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good gravel tire
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Could be a little wider. Went on easily and provide a relitively quiet and comfortable ride.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is an inexpensive tire that is adequate for ordinary tooting around but inadequate for more serious riding..
rating
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have two cyclocross bikes, one for more serious riding and one for short excursions around town. Using my around town bike, I bike throughout the winter and sometimes encounter icy winter patches. The tires I use on both bikes are Kenda Kwick Cyclocross. The Kwick is a relatively inexpensive, low thread count, light weight, narrow, minimal tread tire. It is perfect for multi-use despite its austere construction since it is narrow and unaggressive enough to be comfortable and efficient on the road, but has enough cross characteristics to do well off road. Despite its minimalist tpi, it feels good and compliant.

I bike throughout the winter and sometimes encounter icy winter patches. The Kwick is too narrow and slick to be really safe in those conditions. So for my around town bike, I wanted an inexpensive wider more tread tire. I bought these tires on sale. They mounted well. It was the first time I have bought a wire bead tire in my memory. After mounting the tire, I could tell the feel wasn't the same as the tires which I normally ride on. Maybe the bead, maybe the tread and construction. Even though this is true, they work and aren't horrible for slower riding. At an inexpensive price, they are worth it if you aren't wedded to a quality ride.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good buy - not overly aggressive tread pattern for use on a hybrid
rating
by Aggie88
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use for pavement acceptable

Reviewed 12/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for light off reading with a road bike
rating
by Rail trail er
Casual Cyclist
N.J.
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted an off road tire last fall for a Rail Trail Cancer benefit ride and I wanted to use my Dad's old 3 speed Ross as a tribute to him as we lost him to Cancer in 09 . I was very happy with the tires performance and have actually been riding the bike quite a bit for quick hops around town and they are holding up well . They are slightly bigger than the old 1 14 tires that came off . They were a little tricky to get the bead uniformly seated around the rim but I think it's the old chrome wheels more than the tires . I'm going to get another set for my old Miyata back road tourer.

Reviewed 2/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for light off reading with a road bike
rating
by Rail trail er
Casual Cyclist
N.J.
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted an off road tire last fall for a Rail Trail Cancer benefit ride and I wanted to use my Dad's old 3 speed Ross as a tribute to him as we lost him to Cancer in 09 . I was very happy with the tires performance and have actually been riding the bike quite a bit for quick hops around town and they are holding up well . They are slightly bigger than the old 1 14 tires that came off . They were a little tricky to get the bead uniformly seated around the rim but I think it's the old chrome wheels more than the tires . I'm going to get another set for my old Miyata back road tourer.

Reviewed 2/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires for the price
rating
by Adam Ant
Casual Cyclist
coeur d alene idaho
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

had tires for 5 months now put over 100 miles on em rode thur snow and ice and held its grip will buy again

Reviewed 2/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Gravel Bike Tire
rating
by Trail Nut
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, Al
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a pair of these to convert my old 27 road bike to a gravel bike. These tires ride great and handle the dirt and gravel roads in my area with ease. They were easy to mount and I'm running approximately 45 psi in them which gives me a great ride, no pinch flats and plenty of traction. I highly recommend to anyone wanting to convert a cross or gravel bike and you can't beat the price.

Reviewed 2/10/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect training tire for Saltzman Road!
rating
by PDX Cross Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is cheap enough that I don't have to worry about road usage to get to the fire roads. Once on the trails the tread pattern is knobby enough that I rarely had my backend slide out on tougher sections. Great tire for the price.

Reviewed 10/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing Fancy, but
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
St. Paul, MN
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great budget tires for any vintage bike restoration. It's easy to install, and the 70psi max provides a soft ride. These stay on straight side rims at 70psi no problem. In light snow or dirt these tires bite while smoother tires skid.

Cons After 500 miles of mostly pavement riding, my rear has about 13 of tread left. The gum sidewalls also crack easily when exposed to the sun. Being a basic tire it doesn't have puncture protection, so I'd recommend a tire liner andor thorn resistant tube. Gum sidewalls can also be uneven around the tire.

Overall wonderful tire for the price. They're perfect for commutes that have a section of dirt, or for winter commuting. Tread life is not a major issue thanks to the tire's low price.

Reviewed 10/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great budget trail and cyclocross training tire
rating
by TerminalVelocity
Competitive Racer
Mountain View, CA
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I've used these on my cross bike during the off season for two years now. They're great for general trail riding and can handle a decent amount of pavement without wearing down. The pattern is a classic and the width is a happy medium all of which gives good purchase on most non paved surfaces. Even if you do wear them out riding to the trail head, the price is such that they can be replaced without too much pain. Most tires branded for cyclocross are race oriented with folding beads and soft compounds and are just too expensive to train on, or use for mixed terrain commutes. Now, the Kendas are kind of heavy, but spinning them all summer will just make you faster in the fall.

Bottom line is...

Pros inexpensive, durable, decent off-road

Cons heavy

Perfect for mixed terrain commuting, cyclocross training rides, gravel path bicycles

Reviewed 9/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire...if you're lucky.
rating
by chungwu
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Il
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires for winter riding in Chicago and they fit perfectly on old steel 27 wheels (1.25 width) Great tires for the price except that you may get a defective one. I bought 2 and one of them is NOT round. In other words, there is a low side on the wheel when properly inflated so every time your ride, there's an annoying and repetitive bump. Definitely a manufacturing error. The one that is round works great and the tread is very grippy. Rides very well in snow.

I was thinking of returning the wheel but at the price it wasn't worth going through all the trouble. Plus, I wasn't sure I'd get another good tire or bad. So, I live with the bump in my tire until I change them out in the spring.

Reviewed 1/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just great for snow and gravel.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Norman, OK
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

At close to 130 miles of daily commute the tires are showing normal ware. I have now ridden through the winter with them on and have been very happy with the grip. The trade off is that you gain a little rolling resistance from your true road tires. I have a lot more turning confidence riding on wet and snowy days. All and all a great deal and no complaints about the install either. Make sure you follow the instructions and take some time to get them setting on the rims right.

Reviewed 1/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
i will purchase other parts from you
rating
by dirtwoman1
Casual Cyclist
az
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

they r on the bike love them live in Arizona and sometimes run over thorns dont hurt tne tires although I have thorn proof tubes which helps

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Service was good. Product met my expectations.
rating
by Anonymous
Emerald Isle , NC
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced old tire

Reviewed 6/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They did not fit. Don't know what the problem is
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I don't know what the problem was - they did not fit but the rim size is the same as the tire?

Reviewed 2/3/2014
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review! We'd love to get in touch with you to see if we can resolve this problem, but unfortunately you didn't leave us your email. Tire sizing can be confusing, and we'd like to make sure that we sent you the correct tire. Please don't hesitate to email us ([email protected]) or give us a call.

Thanks!
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Plenty of grip and durable.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Allentown, PA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Put on an old road bike to ride the local bike bath, which is crushed stone. They work great. plenty of grip and they are durable enough to take the bumps of riding the trail.

Reviewed 8/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An unhearalded winner
rating
by  Broham
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Though this tire is ostensibly a commuter tire, i use it as a combo fireroad/offroad tire. It rolls passibly and gets impressive traction.If it has an achilles heel it might be where the steel bead is clinched beneath the chafer. In short,the Most utilitarian tire, for its size i've used.

Reviewed 8/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tread
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Washington coast

Like tread pattern, great for litter strewn bike lanes, large gravelstone road or approach to trail. Feels grippy and secure, looks cool, think I could do single track on these tires though this is primarily a road bike. Like height profile of tire raises the frame up about an almost inch changes the standover but still ok. Don't like sidewall is uneven, so that someone observing my new tires on just-trued rims said the wheels look wobbly as I'm riding down the road. Since I can't see it, I'll live with it. If the bike gets fenders on it this won't be noticeable by others either. Have only had the tires on for a few rides so can't comment on durability. Reasonable price overrides the esthetics. 4 out of 5 stars.

Reviewed 6/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page