1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Kenda K161 KrossCyclo Tire

KendaK161 KrossCyclo Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(10)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(53%)
(28%)
(6%)
(8%)
(6%)
Previous Page
great tread
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Washington coast

Like tread pattern, great for litter strewn bike lanes, large gravelstone road or approach to trail. Feels grippy and secure, looks cool, think I could do single track on these tires though this is primarily a road bike. Like height profile of tire raises the frame up about an almost inch changes the standover but still ok. Don't like sidewall is uneven, so that someone observing my new tires on just-trued rims said the wheels look wobbly as I'm riding down the road. Since I can't see it, I'll live with it. If the bike gets fenders on it this won't be noticeable by others either. Have only had the tires on for a few rides so can't comment on durability. Reasonable price overrides the esthetics. 4 out of 5 stars.

Reviewed 6/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Value for Off-road
rating
by treeskier
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire

The K161 is a very good tire and is an exceptional value for the price. I use the 27" version on my converted cro-moly touring machine. These tires are great for fire roads and easy to moderate MTB single track. The only negative is that the actual width is narrower than marked and advertised.

If you own an old touring bike and want to try cyclocross or trail riding on a road bike these would be your first step to hitting the trail.

Reviewed 4/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect tire for my rainy weather bicycle.
rating
by Jeff L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Gig Harbor, Washington
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I live in the rural part of Washington state where, this time of year, it is wet and there are leaves and fir needles on the road. I picked up an old Schwinn Continental and made it into my bad weather rider. These tires are perfect. Just enough tread to grip the treacherous road but not to big to require a lot of effort to roll along at a decent speed.

Reviewed 1/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for my cross bike.
rating
by 73SS
Cycling Enthusiast
Brighton MI
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

For the dollar these are great for my cross bike. Spend most of my time on these on light trails and dirt roads. Reasonable rolling resistance on pave roads as well.

Reviewed 10/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for the bike
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Goshen, IN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My sister was wanting treaded tires for her Fuji road bike in order to feel more safe on the road and bike paths in the area. So I found these and they are great. For treaded tires on a road bike, they ride smooth and comfortable. The fit for the bike is awesome.

Reviewed 8/31/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for cheap.
rating
by John W.
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For the money, this tire is absolutely great!

Reviewed 7/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
rating
by jrdo410
Casual Cyclist
Boise, ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are a nice quick upgrade. I ride on the green belt in Boise, and the path is a lot bumpier than a street. So these worked out great - much smoother comfier ride for bumpy streets.

Reviewed 6/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, good value, but really measures 27 X 1 18 - 29mm&41, not 27 X 1 38 - 35mm&41
rating
by Tripintiger
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN, USA
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I have an old 27 wheel touring bike I am re-purposing as a gravel grinder bike, and wanted to fit a wider than 1 14 knobby tire. The Kenda appears to be a well made tire and good value, but when mounted to an 18mm inside width rim, it barely measured 1 18 (29mm)across the sidewalls. It was actually narrower than the 27 X 1 14 Continental touring tire I am using now. Good tire, good value, but really measures 27 X 1 18 (29mm), not 27 X 1 38 (35mm)

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Narrower than the spec says
rating
by Tripintiger
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN, USA
6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I am looking to turn an old 27 wheel tourer into a gravel grinder. This tire is labeled 27 X 1 38 (35-630). When mounted to a 19mm (inside width) rim, the tire measures only 29mm wide. So it is really a 27 X 1 18 tire. I bought a Club Roost Cross Terra, and it measures 34mm, nearly a true 27 X 1 38.

Reviewed 3/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great inexpensive cross tire. Not neccessarily for racing, but for riding local trails . Sidewalls stay clean!
rating
by richdeand
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on a vintage road bike that has lots of clearance for wide tires. I live in an area where there are a lot of dirt paths and non-technical trails. These tires are perfect! And the best part is the nylon sidewalls are really easy to clean, so they look new all the time!

Reviewed 1/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
if it came in a 26' i buy a set
rating
by bikeguy1958
Casual Cyclist
denvercolo its snow here
1 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

a 26' set would be nice help i need snow tires soon

Reviewed 8/16/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best winter city commute tires
rating
by LB
Cycling Enthusiast
Philly
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire for dealing with city streets in winter. Just enough grip for wetsnowy days, not too clunky for dry days. Not quick enough for year round city commuting, but won't hold you back if you wait till April to switch 'em.

Reviewed 5/20/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires for winter commuting
rating
by EerieRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie, PA
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

When I moved to Erie, PA from Florida, I had no car and was a little worried about commuting through the winter. Erie is known for it's lake effect snow, and last winter we got over 100 inches. I bought these tires, put them on an old ten-speed converted to a single speed, and rode everyday through the winter without any problem. Never fell once. These tires are skinny enough to cut through small snow piles, and were great for riding on the road. Off road, or on unplowed roads, they did okay, as long as there was less than 4 inches of snow, any more than that, and it got pretty hard to ride. Basically, wherever a car with snow tires could drive, I could ride.

Reviewed 12/1/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
bike rider
rating
by bikeguy
in denver colo in the snow
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

now this is a nice tire if only it came in size 26inc

Reviewed 2/25/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires
rating
by Davdlow
Cycling Enthusiast
Elko, NV
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

I've been through three sets of these tires and highly recommend them. I stored my biked outside for two years with a set of these tires. Right as I embarked on a 70 mile rail-trail ride I noticed that the UV damage to the side walls was so severe that they were flaking off. I feared the whole ride that I was going to blow both tires but never did. Great product, great price.

Reviewed 10/21/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great economical tire, carried me through winter 08 in Cleveland Ohio
rating
by Dumpybikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, Ohio
30 of 30 customers found this review helpful.

I commuted every day with these tires through a pretty good winter in Cleveland. They provide good traction and are worth the price.

Reviewed 9/22/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.