1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(81 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(6)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(86%)
(7%)
(2%)
(4%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Best helmet I've every owned
rating
by BikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've worn Giro helmets for as long as I can remember, and the thing that is most outstanding is the fit. However, in recent years some of the retention materials of Giro helmets have become marginal and I find the useful life of these expensive helmets to become quite limited. Having said that, someone at Giro must have gotten the message because the Aether helmet is definitely built with much better quality and materials. The design of the helmet within a helmet is revolutionary and makes this not a superior safety device but more comfortable for long rides as well. I must say you pay dearly for these features, as this is more than I've ever paid (or hoped to pay) for a bicycle helmet. But considering all the safety and quality, I say it's pricey but definitely worth it.

Reviewed 2/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice!!
rating
by Mark
pdx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been wearing Lance era Giros since uh, Lance. They've always fit great compared to other brands so I've stuck with them. This is the first "different" model for me, and holy cow! It fits soooo much better than my last Giro. I've had broken retention systems in the past, called them, and replacement parts sent to me no hassle. Good company and great products!

Reviewed 9/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fitting and comfortable helmet ever
rating
by Mike Fisher
New Orleans, LA

I am training for a hot weather IM and have worn the helmet on several 100 mile rides. It is extremely lightweight with a very good airflow. I highly recommend this helmet for long distance rides

Reviewed 9/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro always fit my small but this model squeezes above my ears too doggone tight.
rating
by Retiredandlovingit
northcentraltexas

It's like my heads too round for it or the size small helmet design has changed. The thin sweat rag I have to wear in summer seems to soften the discomfort experienced. Maybe with cooler temps my head won't expand as much and the Giro comfort will return.

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aether MIPS - Pretty slick helmet
rating
by CB
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this for road riding and am pleased with the helmet's performance (although I haven't tested it for it's intended purpose of crash protection). I like the ventilation at the front of the helmet, the air coming through the vents is very noticeable although it seems like the airflow over the back of my head is not quite as plentiful as on other helmets I own (Bell Zephyr, Giro Aeon). The fit is great for me (I wear a medium) and the roc loc system works well. This helmet seems to sit further down on my head than others and I like the additional coverage but it sits low enough that it interferes with one pair of sunglasses with larger frames. While I read they claimed it is less bulbous than it's predecessor, from a style perspective it still hews to the mushroom head look.

Reviewed 7/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The mips helmet advanced design to have, and hopefully never to utilize.
rating
by Colorado mountain cyclist
Silverthorne, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have enjoyed the comfort of the Giro Foray mips helmet for sometime. However, when I recognized the technological advancement of the Giro Aether mips model, from a safety standpoint, the only logical conclusion was to purchase the Aether model.

Since purchasing the Aether model, I have worn this helmet dozens of times over hundreds of Colorado roads this summer. The Aether helmet is noticeably lighter and more comfortable than my Giro Foray helmet, yet fits snuggly with the adjustable wheel at the back of the helmet. As advertised, the flow through ventilation of the helmet has kept me cool, even on some hot afternoon rides.

When you read the advanced safety features of the Aether model mips design, you realize this is the design to wear, but hopefully never to depend upon. One problem with this helmet now I have to purchase the Aether helmet for the rest of my family cyclists.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Aether helmet, extra safety we hope we never need.
rating
by Colorado mountain cyclist
Silverthorne, CO

I have enjoyed the comfort of the Giro Foray mips helmet for sometime. However, when I recognized the technological advancement of the Giro Aether mips model, from a safety standpoint, the only logical conclusion was to purchase the Aether model.

Since purchasing the Aether model, I have worn this helmet dozens of times over hundreds of Colorado roads this summer. The Aether helmet is noticeably lighter and more comfortable than my Giro Foray helmet, yet fits snuggly with the adjustable wheel at the back of the helmet. As advertised, the flow through ventilation of the helmet has kept me cool, even on some hot afternoon rides.

When you read the advanced safety features of the Aether model mips design, you realize this is the design to wear, but hopefully never to depend upon. One problem with this helmet now I have to purchase the Aether helmet for the rest of my family cyclists.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top notch!
rating
by Rich
Uxbridge
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My previous helmet was in dire need of replacing so I started doing research for the best helmets of 2019. I was happy to find that Giro was on that list. The MIPS technology was a little new to me so I was a little confused about how it would fit and or work. Don't be afraid of it! I need to say this is the best fitting, most comfortable helmet I have ever used. The MIPS isn't even noticed. I'm also quite happy with the amount of airflow through it on to my head. I would highly recommend Giro helmets, but especially this Aether line.

Reviewed 7/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, great fit, nice updates!!!
rating
by KeithD
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A bit expensive........? Yes! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. This is going to protect you to the max and THAT is the best investment you can make in a a helmet. This one is top of the game: lightweight, max protection, easy adjustability, pony tail clearance, mine is the flat black with light reflection so cars can see you better............good looking. This is the helmet for me.........

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this to replace a Synthe that took a fall when bike was knocked over. While it was a bummer, I was always secretly wanting an Aether, especially given the improvement to the MIPS system and the fit. Was not disappointed. This thing rocks and I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Ventilation is stellar too, especially on hot Florida days.

Reviewed 1/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I've had, light, comfortable and stylish, little pricy..
rating
by Gooner
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Road and Mountain Bike, cold and hot weather.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Probably saved my life
rating
by Anonymous

On a group gravel ride and was going over a cattleguard when the front tire went into the vertical slits and sent me over the handlebars and onto my head and shoulder. The helmet took quite a shot and I ended up with a blackeye but that was the worst thing that happened to my head. To top it off Giro gave me xx% off a new helmet.

Reviewed 5/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet.
rating
by griley
Cycling Enthusiast
Crescent City, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It is difficult to review the most essential function of a helmet, protection in a crash. So, I will need to defer to the testing completed by Giro, and talk about the feel. This helmet fit beautifully out of the box. It is light and snug and very comfortable. I also look for a helmet with a lot of air flow and this helmet meets my needs. I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone with a little extra cash to splurge.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
can you put a price on preventing head injuries?
rating
by menace
Cycling Enthusiast
virginia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I look for the best value, but I won't skimp on my helmets. MIPS is a must. if you have ever had a concussion, you will do what is necessary to avoid it ever again. giros typically fit the best, so with their next gen mips protection, i opted to make the jump. pricey, but i'm worth it. not a liner, but a shell within a helmet. that's right, a helmet within a helmet. the aether is less clunky than my Poc MIPS, and I had to monkey with the straps for a better fit, but hey, that's the case with most helmets. the aether mips is not for everybody, but for the cautious ones out there, it's a no brainer (no pun intended).

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
rating
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet, fantastic fit. I wore a Synthe MIPS, and the Aether fits about the same, I was a little worried when I read the review concerning the bad fit. I think maybe the person who had the fit problem, may have had a size issue - like too large. I really think this new MIPS technology is a large improvement over the first MIPS. Have worn Giro helmets for years and they continue to improve their helmets. Hopefully I will not have to test the Aether helmet, but a Giro helmet saved my life 13 years ago, would not have survived my head injury without it.

Reviewed 9/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A wonderful helmet
rating
by JohnB
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I spend a fair amount of time on my bike and find this helmet to be very comfortable. So much so, I don't even think about it being on my head. It is well made and easy to adjust. I like the technology behind it and will hopefully never have to rely on it! I would not hesitate to buy another one.

Reviewed 12/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best, most comfortable helmet I have owned!
rating
by The professor
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, OR

This helmet is expensive, but worth it. The added protection is there, but with greater comfort - for me. Stylish, comfort, protection; all in one!

Reviewed 11/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Must to have it!
rating
by Kargado Cycling
Los Angeles

Very Comfy and A lot of vent.

Reviewed 9/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
rating
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have not crashed so cannot comment on that aspect. But.. It is light and very cool. Trust the ratings for this helmet, and they are very good. Also like the white to help stay cool in the summer.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My wifes helmet and she loves it.
rating
by R michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The giro helmet was expensive, but what is it worth to keep you brain together. It is light weight and adjusts easily. Glad you had it in stock.

Thank you.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.