1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(79 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(69)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(87%)
(8%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
I like my helmet
rating
by maxseven
Cycling Enthusiast
NM
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It will fit Aether Helmets. Bought 2 Aether helmets & 1 light. I would not fit on my wife's helmet but would fit on mine with a loud click. the defect is in the Rock Lok system. Hers is a few millimeters thinner than mine. So upon another reviewer's review he Velcro'd the light to the Rock Lok 5. I did the same. IF you buy the Rock Lok 5 light & it will not properly snap into place. Use the 7/8" square Velcro tabs then cut them in 1/2. Attach to light first then to Rock Lok where it is suppose to go.

Reviewed 3/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfortable helmet
rating
by PhxStar
Phoenix
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceptional Helmet
rating
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Reviewed 10/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great flitting helmet
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

I am an avid cyclist. My rides are long and often. I have not ridden with this helmet yet, but the size is perfect. I am between a medium and a large and chose the large for when I need extra warmth for my head. The retention system works great and is very easy to adjust. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone who is wanting a fantastic helmet.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great Giro helmet
rating
by Jsprague56
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR

Giro helmets fit my BIG head really well and the spherical technology feels better than the thin MIPS helmets (which are also nice)

Adjustability is good and great ventilation.

Reviewed 6/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An Excellent Helmet
rating
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
rating
by Anonymous
Texas

Fits well. Very light. Cooler than a lot of helmets.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet
rating
by Thomas Longen
Washington

Great helmet on my second helmet as a replacement from original purchase back in 2015. Try others brands but

l'm back to this particular helmet.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet!
rating
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking helmet and a custom fit
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is high quality and fits really well. If you havent used a MIPS helmet it's a tad larger on the sides than the older style Giro I had for years, but it looks great and is not noticeably different in size while riding. It sits lower around the brow area so it can apply slight pressure to your riding glasses, but not a big deal at all after adjusting for it. Now other riders helmets appear to sit too high on the head I have noticed. Great rubber grippy spot to put your riding glasses if out near dark. I would purchase this helmet again.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love it!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta

Easiest helmet I have adjusted to, yet. It's quiet, it fits right, everything it's supposed to be.

Reviewed 6/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet delivers.
rating
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

True to all the other Giro helmets I have owned this helmet checks all the boxes. Fit is similar to the older Synthe it is replacing but there does seem to be something to the Spherical tech business. Seems the higher up you go the helmet is also lighter. No neck issues on longer rides. Grey straps may show less fading, I hope, than standard black. Good sunglass holders and wide vents are good for head scratching.

Reviewed 1/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet - incremental improvement from last one
rating
by TimT
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This fits like the prior Synthes, overall. It allows great air flow and I love the neon yellow color. I had a 4 year old non-mips Synthe that is beyond it's useful life, thus bought this. The straps are secure and don't collect sweat. The padding is light but supportive. The two-part design is something I don't notice at all, hope that's a good thing. The only gripe is the front plastic part of the cage leaves some indents on my forehead when I use it, even allowing sun in to give me an odd forehead sunburn during summer. Fall riding so far has been good, not needing a beanie hat so far and still very breathable.

I would purchase again, although expensive, I'm trusting the safety tech is worth it.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
rating
by Nick
sf bay area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced an older mips giro with this one. The MIPS is totally integrated and out of the way. Fit perfectly right out of the box. Several months of use and seems great. Last Giro mips saved me from any head injury in a 55kph crash!

Reviewed 11/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cool and Comfortable
rating
by Luvs2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The fit of this helmet in size Small is the same fit for me as my Giro Synthe (non-mips). I feel it is true to size. I bought the helmet for the added safety and also hoping that it would be cooler than my Giro Aeon or Synthe in the Texas heat. I wore my new Aether tonight in 92-95 degree heat and I could feel the cool air flowing across my head. It was almost like an air conditioner! The helmet is noticeably cooler than my Giro Aeon. I will continue to reserve my Giro Synthe as my winter helmet. The Aether is very comfortable and I certainly did not notice the few extra grams (apx 35) between it any my other Giro helmets. Adjusting the helmet is super easy and I love the new Roc Loc and the sun glasses holder. Highly recommend!!!!

Reviewed 5/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice upgrade over the Synthe
rating
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My Giro Synthe helmet was ready to be replaced and I had been drooling over the Aether, so, at a big % off, it was great deal. The Aether has the MIPS technology built in to the helmet instead of being attached to the already made helmet, so the entire interior of the helmet rotates to absorb shock in case of a crash. This seems much better than the Synthe. Fit is very good. I've only had one ride in 85 heat and the ventilation was good.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a GREAT helmet
rating
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use the helmet on all my rides. It is light and comfortable, and fits my head without any undue pressure points. It works with all my Oakley sunglasses. I have used several winter caps under it, and with a twist of the knob it adjusts for a perfect fit.

I crashed once, but did not get to test the helmet as there was no head contact with the ground. I hope to not test the helmets crash worthiness.

Reviewed 3/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice!!
rating
by Mark
pdx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been wearing Lance era Giros since uh, Lance. They've always fit great compared to other brands so I've stuck with them. This is the first "different" model for me, and holy cow! It fits soooo much better than my last Giro. I've had broken retention systems in the past, called them, and replacement parts sent to me no hassle. Good company and great products!

Reviewed 9/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Helmet to date from Giro!
rating
by ForGreaterGood
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii and Iowa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been an avid cyclist for 35 years averaging 500 miles per weekalways with a helmet properly attached to my head! Over the years Ive had every top-end helmet produced by Giro. The Aether is by far the best helmet Ive had! While I cannot attest to its crash durability and protection, this helmet is very comfortable, easy to fit, and highly ventilated. In all previous models, I had to wear a headband to prevent sweat from getting into my eyes but not so with the Aether. Its air channeling is simply the best. For those who ride at night, a taillight and headlight can be attached to the helmet without interfering with the MIPS liner.

Reviewed 2/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I've every owned
rating
by BikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've worn Giro helmets for as long as I can remember, and the thing that is most outstanding is the fit. However, in recent years some of the retention materials of Giro helmets have become marginal and I find the useful life of these expensive helmets to become quite limited. Having said that, someone at Giro must have gotten the message because the Aether helmet is definitely built with much better quality and materials. The design of the helmet within a helmet is revolutionary and makes this not a superior safety device but more comfortable for long rides as well. I must say you pay dearly for these features, as this is more than I've ever paid (or hoped to pay) for a bicycle helmet. But considering all the safety and quality, I say it's pricey but definitely worth it.

Reviewed 2/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.