1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe

FizikTerra X5 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(64 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(20)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(58%)
(31%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
Great looking high value gravel shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I ride 2 or three times a week, about 60% on paved roads and about 40% on gravel roads and single track. This is a great value for the money. I was willing to spend more, but just didn't feel the need. The fit and finish is high quality. The sole is stiffer and gives me more power transfer to the pedals than my previous Mavic All Road shoes. I wore these for most of the summer and early fall so weather conditions were mostly hot and dry. They were breathable enough that I never thought once about overheating. I can't speak to their abilities in wet conditions yet.

In terms of sizing, I usually wear a size 10.5 or 11 shoe and the size 44 Terra fits me quite well. Snug enough in the heel and midfoot with enough room in the toe. The heel cup is a bit padded for comfort but also locks your heel into place. My foot is a bit narrow and I think these work well.

The single Boa dial effectively locks the heel in place and it's easy to use. Compared to traditional lace systems, I like that I can reach down and adjust the tightness if I feel it is needed. The tongue is a nice slick material that allows it to slide freely as you tighten the Boa so one-handed adjustments are easy enough. One small complaint is that I do sometimes feel a slight pressure point at the top of the tongue. That might be due to my personal anatomy. The strap on the forefoot is essentially useless because even if you ream on it, it doesn't tighten the forefoot. That's fine since I don't need any additional snugness there.

The cleats gave me all the traction I needed for climbing steep trails off the bike. They aren�t as easy or comfortable to walk in as my Mavic shoes, but that�s partly due to the stiffer sole which is better for actually pedaling. A fair trade-off in my opinion.

The stock insole is quite thin and I would recommend after market soles. I do feel a pressure point under my big toe which may be from one of the cleats. A proper sole should mask such pressure points. I can�t judge the Terra�s too harshly in this regard because pretty much all cycling shoes come with poor insoles.

Reviewed 10/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value! Great service!
rating
by PDXracer
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered these shoes in a size 42 / same as my Magic shoes and Shimano shoes. The Fizik shows turned to be substantially larger but WBW was very helpful in exchanging for a smaller size.

The shoes seem well constructed, and I like the fit. My only criticism is that the footbed is thin (I have my own anyway) and the sole is not as stiff as my other shoes (admittedly carbon fiber). My first Boa shoes; love how they distribute tightness - two Boa closures must be amazing!

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe!
rating
by Anonymous

Overall: Great, comfy. Love them.

One down side: Water doesn't drain well when riding thru stream crossings.

Fit: Runs a little longer/narrower from Bontrager shoes

Reviewed 5/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Shoes for the Price
rating
by Dave
Portland

Was a little skeptical about a $xxx pair of MTB/gravel shoes, but so far these things have been awesome. Sizing runs a little big (I'm a US 12 and went with the 45.5). Super comfortable and plenty stiff.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If the shoe fits, they say
rating
by GT Grade Gravel Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

It is a very good fit for my feet. I love having BOA adjustment though having 2 would be even better. I got a good price here at $135. Two complaints - the insole is extremely thin so count on retrofitting something. If you unclip by accident, the foot can slip on the pedal when trying to click back in due to the slick bottom surface of the shoe. I had read about this going in. It's not a deal breaker as you can get used to it and become more skilled at avoiding it. I do love the look of these Fizik and even wish I had gone for the edgier look of Green/Orange. My green ones are still nice.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe for the price
rating
by stupech
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, Florida

Used for road and gravel. I like the stiffness of the sole for pedaling efficency. Boa closure adjustment unusual in a shoe at this price. Recessed SPD cleat makes for easy walkability. Bought for a female friend. Her first cleated bike shoes. She has a wide forefoot, and generally wears a women's size 9. With this shoe, a euro 41 fit best.

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, accommodating shoe with awesome performance
rating
by Lengis
Portland, OR

Really pleased with this offering from fizik. Even though the brand is known for a narrower fit, I found that these shoes were great for my wide feet. No hot spots or numbness on century-length rides, and the boa system provides a consistent tightness. The cleats do not come in contact with the ground for the most part, and the traction on these soles is excellent. While the boa system is in the side of the shoe, I haven�t experienced any contact with the ground to damage them at all, and I�ve slid out one or two times since having them. Cannot recommend enough at this great price point!

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value! Great Shoe!
rating
by The King
Portland, OR

Very happy with how these feel - my first shoes with Boa laces! Stiff soles and comfortable upper. Shoes seem to run a size larger than expected so had to exchange for a smaller size - super easy! Thanks for the great service!

Reviewed 6/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Commuter/Gravel/Mtb Shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fit but definitely a bit on the narrow side. Comfortable on and off the bike, stiff enough while pedaling with just enough flex off the bike so walking isn't too awkward. As others have mentioned, the velcro toe strap is pretty useless as far as adjusting fit but the Boa lacing system works great so it's not too big of a deal. Overall, a great shoe for the money.

Reviewed 6/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decent shoe if you have narrow feet.
rating
by ch3wi3
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I did not do enough research before purchasing this shoe as it is way too narrow for my wide feet causing pain during rides. The shoe itself is decent as the Boa system works as advertised and the overall construction of the shoe is great. Cleats have a tendency to become loose over time so make sure to pay attention to them to avoid having issues when clipping out.

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well Built, But Will Require Adjusting...
rating
by GravAl
Cycling Enthusiast

For the price, these shoes deliver a lot. The Boa system and velcro strap make fit and adjusting easy, and the deep tread is great for muddy situations. My only criticism is that the shoe comes noticeably loose on longer rides and does require a bit of adjusting on the bike. Still, a great value gravel option.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoe for me. Should work for you.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake oswego or

Good for road or Mtn bike.

Reviewed 8/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Fit. Light and comfortable but very supportive!!
rating
by Jim
Denver, Colorado

These shoes performed beautifully! Sharp look. Great Boa system. Quality of Fizik is unmistakable!

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoe, snug fit
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Light weight, great price for a boa shoe

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
rating
by Hermann
Competitive Racer
Pennsylvania
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This Fizik shoe provides real comfort, stiffness, and serious value for the cost. Fit is fantastic, closure system is excellent, and very light. Im very satisfied!

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mountain bike shoe
rating
by Guthrie

Great shoe for the price.Comfortable and light.

Reviewed 5/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Comfortable, light, and stylish. Plenty of power, given what I can supply, and capable walkers.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for road and gravel, not so much for mountain
rating
by matthor
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I purchased these 1 year ago for gravel and mountain biking. As a gravel biking shoe they are excellent. Plenty of support and stiffness for transferring power. Fit great right out of the box. As a mountain biking shoe on anything but the easiest trail they are terrible. My feet go into spasms the minute I stand up on a down hill run. They are probably fine for light XC use but forget it on more technical trails. 5 stars for gravel. 2 stars for mountain.

Reviewed 6/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice shoe
rating
by RockinghamRambler
Cycling Enthusiast
Eden, NC

I just decided to try "mountain bike pedals" on my road bike. These shoes replaced a pair of the Fizik Power Strap shoes which I recently got and which have worked really well. My last shoes, before the Power Straps, were also of the velcro closure type. I am really liking the Boa closure, it just works great and the shoes feel great, better than the Power Strap. I was a little hesitant to go with the Boa type because my old velcro shoes lasted forever and the Boa wire breaks over time. I guess I'll just have to get a replacement wire and change it before it breaks. The shoe is very walkable. With the Power Strap shoe I was using the Speedplay Zero pedals. The cleat includes a rubber cover and is pretty walkable but this shoe is even better. The fit of this shoe is the same as the Power Strap. The size and fit is also the same as my older Specialized brand shoes were. Unfortunately, at this time I am stuck indoors on a trainer and haven't been able to do any long rides with the shoes. However, since they are so similar to the Power Strap shoes which I was able to use on some good rides this summer I expect them to work well also. I was able to place the cleat in the same position as the Speedplay, which for me is all the way back and the cleat all the way to the inside to push the shoe out, away from the bike, to give me a little more "Stance Width" or "Q factor". Even with the SPD cleat against the inner lugs of the shoe it engages into and disengages from the pedal just fine. So far the fit feels the same as I had with the Speedplay pedals.

Reviewed 11/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice trail shoes
rating
by Anonymous
kansas city

Nice and affordable price for this shoes, first time using this brand Fizik, I'm impressed with the quality and conform of this shoes, I'll recommend it.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.