Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe

FizikTerra X5 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(16)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(53%)
(36%)
(9%)
(2%)
(0%)
Excellent Commuter/Gravel/Mtb Shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great fit but definitely a bit on the narrow side. Comfortable on and off the bike, stiff enough while pedaling with just enough flex off the bike so walking isn't too awkward. As others have mentioned, the velcro toe strap is pretty useless as far as adjusting fit but the Boa lacing system works great so it's not too big of a deal. Overall, a great shoe for the money.

Reviewed 6/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great looking high value gravel shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I ride 2 or three times a week, about 60% on paved roads and about 40% on gravel roads and single track. This is a great value for the money. I was willing to spend more, but just didn't feel the need. The fit and finish is high quality. The sole is stiffer and gives me more power transfer to the pedals than my previous Mavic All Road shoes. I wore these for most of the summer and early fall so weather conditions were mostly hot and dry. They were breathable enough that I never thought once about overheating. I can't speak to their abilities in wet conditions yet.

In terms of sizing, I usually wear a size 10.5 or 11 shoe and the size 44 Terra fits me quite well. Snug enough in the heel and midfoot with enough room in the toe. The heel cup is a bit padded for comfort but also locks your heel into place. My foot is a bit narrow and I think these work well.

The single Boa dial effectively locks the heel in place and it's easy to use. Compared to traditional lace systems, I like that I can reach down and adjust the tightness if I feel it is needed. The tongue is a nice slick material that allows it to slide freely as you tighten the Boa so one-handed adjustments are easy enough. One small complaint is that I do sometimes feel a slight pressure point at the top of the tongue. That might be due to my personal anatomy. The strap on the forefoot is essentially useless because even if you ream on it, it doesn't tighten the forefoot. That's fine since I don't need any additional snugness there.

The cleats gave me all the traction I needed for climbing steep trails off the bike. They aren�t as easy or comfortable to walk in as my Mavic shoes, but that�s partly due to the stiffer sole which is better for actually pedaling. A fair trade-off in my opinion.

The stock insole is quite thin and I would recommend after market soles. I do feel a pressure point under my big toe which may be from one of the cleats. A proper sole should mask such pressure points. I can�t judge the Terra�s too harshly in this regard because pretty much all cycling shoes come with poor insoles.

Reviewed 10/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If the shoe fits, they say
rating
by GT Grade Gravel Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

It is a very good fit for my feet. I love having BOA adjustment though having 2 would be even better. I got a good price here at $135. Two complaints - the insole is extremely thin so count on retrofitting something. If you unclip by accident, the foot can slip on the pedal when trying to click back in due to the slick bottom surface of the shoe. I had read about this going in. It's not a deal breaker as you can get used to it and become more skilled at avoiding it. I do love the look of these Fizik and even wish I had gone for the edgier look of Green/Orange. My green ones are still nice.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, accommodating shoe with awesome performance
rating
by Lengis
Portland, OR

Really pleased with this offering from fizik. Even though the brand is known for a narrower fit, I found that these shoes were great for my wide feet. No hot spots or numbness on century-length rides, and the boa system provides a consistent tightness. The cleats do not come in contact with the ground for the most part, and the traction on these soles is excellent. While the boa system is in the side of the shoe, I haven�t experienced any contact with the ground to damage them at all, and I�ve slid out one or two times since having them. Cannot recommend enough at this great price point!

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Fit. Light and comfortable but very supportive!!
rating
by Jim
Denver, Colorado

These shoes performed beautifully! Sharp look. Great Boa system. Quality of Fizik is unmistakable!

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Decent shoe if you have narrow feet.
rating
by ch3wi3
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco Bay Area

I did not do enough research before purchasing this shoe as it is way too narrow for my wide feet causing pain during rides. The shoe itself is decent as the Boa system works as advertised and the overall construction of the shoe is great. Cleats have a tendency to become loose over time so make sure to pay attention to them to avoid having issues when clipping out.

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well Built, But Will Require Adjusting...
rating
by GravAl
Cycling Enthusiast

For the price, these shoes deliver a lot. The Boa system and velcro strap make fit and adjusting easy, and the deep tread is great for muddy situations. My only criticism is that the shoe comes noticeably loose on longer rides and does require a bit of adjusting on the bike. Still, a great value gravel option.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoe, snug fit
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Light weight, great price for a boa shoe

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
rating
by Hermann
Competitive Racer
Pennsylvania
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This Fizik shoe provides real comfort, stiffness, and serious value for the cost. Fit is fantastic, closure system is excellent, and very light. Im very satisfied!

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mountain bike shoe
rating
by Guthrie

Great shoe for the price.Comfortable and light.

Reviewed 5/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Comfortable, light, and stylish. Plenty of power, given what I can supply, and capable walkers.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Them
rating
by daleash
Cycling Enthusiast
Hampton, VA

I use these shoes as road bike shoe! I did not want cleats I could not walk on, and these have fit the bill. Well made and comfortable. Can't wait for thousands of mile in these babies!

Reviewed 5/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A wonderful upgrade from
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA

Super stiff soles and really comfortable fit overall. If you are currently using some entry-level mtb shoes, you will see a night-and-day difference with these.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and performance.
rating
by SLOLetsGo
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The fit on these MTB shoes mirrors Fizik road shoes (they run large), so a 44 fits as well as a 45 in Sidi. If you like Fizik road shoes, you'll love these for road riding. I'm wearing these on a gravel bike with Look X-Race pedals and they work really well as a road-like shoe on off-road terrain. The uppers are supple and the single Boa dial provides sufficient compression. I don't find that the front velco band alters fit very much. The Terra X5's are clearly more forgiving than a carbon soled road shoe, but they still transmit power well. They are somewhat walkable, but these are definitely not a commuter shoe. If you wear these for an office commute you're going to want to have street shoes to change into when you get to your destination. I did notice that there are a pair of stud mounts at the toe which means these would also work well as a cyclocross shoe in muddy conditions.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
AWESOMENESS!!
rating
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Fl

I bought these to replace an aged set of Sidi MTB shoes, and was looking for something that was sleek, functional, durable, affordable, and most of all with a BOA system. the Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe not only checked off every box, but also came in this amazing looking olive green color which I like very much. I chose size 42, which is typically a just right fit, these shoes do seem to fit slightly larger, so I should be wearing a 41, other than that, I am really impressed by their performance out on the trails! I Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fizik shoe with great value!
rating
by davidc
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC

I bought the shoe for gravel biking. With stiff bottom, I was able to transfer power to the pedal effortlessly. New Boa L6 dial is a huge improvement over earlier generation. It is easy to adjust, and kept my shoes tight and fit on my feet. Because it has stiffer sole, walking can be awkward but it is a good trade off. You don't want to have floppy bottom unless you expect to walk a lot. Overall, great shoe for the money. Five stars!

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe, needed thicker insole
rating
by docfuel
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale, CA

Overall, I love these shoes, but the insole thickness in insufficient for my feet. The collar of the shoes bumped up against the bottom of my ankle bones (malleoli) until I added a small 3/4 insole to lift my ankles a few millimeters. Now they're great!

Reviewed 2/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most comfortable bike shoes I've owned.
rating
by tdel010
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As the title says, these are the most comfortable bike shoe I've owned. Be aware that they run a little big (long in my case). If you're often on the cusp of shoe sizes (for me it's 10.5 and 11 US), consider going for the lower number. The width seems pretty adjustable with the boa system, so I think these could work with a decent range of widths, but I'm average width, so what do I know?

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall great gravel and off-rd shoe
rating
by NTX rider
north central texas

The first Fizik shoe for me and seems to have the quality needed to withstand the conditions at a lower cost than what I usually buy. The fit is good with the only issue has been the thin instep tongue causing some chafing. Wearing thicker socks solved the issue. I would recommend these for riding.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These shoes are amazing
rating
by soonerjon
flyover country
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A big upgrade for me. Wanted a non-heavy MTB shoe, loved the BOA dials. Fit is great, no pinch spots. Put it through the paces in mud and gravel. Even slid out one time and really didn�t scuff. zero guilt about this buying this one.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page