1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe

FizikTerra X5 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(64 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(20)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(58%)
(31%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by SLOLetsGo

Great fit and performance.
rating
by SLOLetsGo
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The fit on these MTB shoes mirrors Fizik road shoes (they run large), so a 44 fits as well as a 45 in Sidi. If you like Fizik road shoes, you'll love these for road riding. I'm wearing these on a gravel bike with Look X-Race pedals and they work really well as a road-like shoe on off-road terrain. The uppers are supple and the single Boa dial provides sufficient compression. I don't find that the front velco band alters fit very much. The Terra X5's are clearly more forgiving than a carbon soled road shoe, but they still transmit power well. They are somewhat walkable, but these are definitely not a commuter shoe. If you wear these for an office commute you're going to want to have street shoes to change into when you get to your destination. I did notice that there are a pair of stud mounts at the toe which means these would also work well as a cyclocross shoe in muddy conditions.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by oletabiker

AWESOMENESS!!
rating
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace an aged set of Sidi MTB shoes, and was looking for something that was sleek, functional, durable, affordable, and most of all with a BOA system. the Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe not only checked off every box, but also came in this amazing looking olive green color which I like very much. I chose size 42, which is typically a just right fit, these shoes do seem to fit slightly larger, so I should be wearing a 41, other than that, I am really impressed by their performance out on the trails! I Highly Recommend!

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by davidc

Fizik shoe with great value!
rating
by davidc
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC

I bought the shoe for gravel biking. With stiff bottom, I was able to transfer power to the pedal effortlessly. New Boa L6 dial is a huge improvement over earlier generation. It is easy to adjust, and kept my shoes tight and fit on my feet. Because it has stiffer sole, walking can be awkward but it is a good trade off. You don't want to have floppy bottom unless you expect to walk a lot. Overall, great shoe for the money. Five stars!

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tdel010

The most comfortable bike shoes I've owned.
rating
by tdel010
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As the title says, these are the most comfortable bike shoe I've owned. Be aware that they run a little big (long in my case). If you're often on the cusp of shoe sizes (for me it's 10.5 and 11 US), consider going for the lower number. The width seems pretty adjustable with the boa system, so I think these could work with a decent range of widths, but I'm average width, so what do I know?

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hockinator

A revelation for those with narrow feet
rating
by Hockinator
Competitive Racer
Kirkland, WA

I have really narrow feet and these are the best fitting shoes BOA shoes I have ever had. The first time I've not had to tighten the BOA all the way to keep my feet from sliding. The fit is very similar to my Giro Empire road shoes. They are also the lightest MTB shoes I've ever had, rivaling the weight of some road shoes. I'm getting away from using road shoes and pedals, so these are primarily used for road and gravel riding. The super light weight of these shoes has been achieved by fewer and lighter lugs on the sole. So, if your use would include significant amounts of hike-a-bike, you may not get the same durability I do.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid features in an affordable Shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Sierra Nevada''s

True to size. Good fitting. The single BOA makes for quick putting on and taking off shoe. Nice grippy feature on the back of the heal pocket to help keep foot in shoe. Really pleased so far. Time will tell whether the upper holds up to getting wet. Lot of bang for the buck.

Reviewed 2/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Monkeywalker13

Nice quality racer like shoe.
rating
by Monkeywalker13
Hudson Valley

Bought this to replace my Giro teraduro shoes after the the sole came loose again.... I figured I would try something different. These are great shoes along the line of Sidi dominator in fit and sizing. Unfortunately they are a bit slippery on roots and rocks just like Sidi. Not a good replacement if you are a fan of the Terraduro. Very light and stiff and comfortable. I am a 44.5 in Giro size 43 in these! They are not waterproof they breath well. The Boa works well I have no hot spots. I have high arches and the fit does accommodate nicely. Still trying to decide weather I will sell and get Terraduro mid to replace them. Not sure if these fit my wet muddy root rock hilly riding as well as the Giro.

Reviewed 4/25/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KTrider

Checks all the boxes for my MTB shoe requirements
rating
by KTrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Springs

I bought these for the value and I liked the look of them. After several rides I'm pleased with the fit and comfort. Had to do a few hike-a-bikes and they gripped will on the local granite and sandstone. Looking forward to wearing them out.

Reviewed 12/10/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great shoe, very comfortable.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Shoe fits great and is pretty comfortable. I've had them for about 300 miles or so and have only worn it on rides longer than 3 hours twice, but they've been real nice so far. The dials tend to need tightening a few times every ride, which is a little annoying but nothing that is a deal breaker. I have a narrow foot and these provide just a little bit of wiggle room. The sole of the shoe is very stiff and does an awesome job of transmitting the power to the pedals.

Reviewed 12/3/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

My new favorite shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Light, relatively inexpensive, and tough. Pick all 3. I own Shimano, Lake, Scott, Sidi, and others. These are the best. I usually wear out a pair each year but I will get at least 2 with these and they fit great for my normal foot.

Reviewed 11/29/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kim

Works better than most
rating
by Kim
Competitive Racer
Wheeling, WV
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Wanted shoe that is a bit more flexible for Cyclocross. The high end models all are very very stiff. This shoe has a bit more flex so better for running over barriers and up hills. Fit is narrow which is great for my narrow foot. Price was great too Very happy with purchase It also is not bad in weight.

Reviewed 9/26/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Habanero

Nice comfortable shoe.
rating
by Habanero
Cycling Enthusiast
Byrnes Mill, MO
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This shoe is smaller on the outside than my Shimano shoe, but has the same fit on the inside. When I took it out of the box, I thought for sure it wouldn't fit. But, to my surprise, it fit very well. I also like the dial that tightens to wire to snug the shoe to me foot.

Reviewed 9/15/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Worst fitting and most uncomfortable shoe I ever worr
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Sorry I wanted to like these shoes but there were awful. I don't like writing bad reviews but I wore these for 1.5 hours and could wait to take them off. They dug into my ankles and the soles really hurt, I could barely go down one of my favorite trails. I have owned dozens of Mtb shoes and unfortunately first I ever had to return. FYI I have been riding clipless for 25 years both dirt and road.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jacob Hines

Great Shoes!
rating
by Jacob Hines
Baltimore Maryland

Amazing shoes! Love the boa, great color ways and super comfortable hiking and cycling.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bikerdude11

Awesome shoe for narrow feet
rating
by Bikerdude11
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Washington

Very pleased with the quality and fit of this shoe. It's a MTB shoe that doubles as a road shoe I- multi use best of both worlds. Fit is screwy - I wear size 45 European typically and the size that fits correctly is size 43. Just odd but a great shoe for narrow feet.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Julian Munoz

Good shoe but.
rating
by Julian Munoz
Connecticut

This is a pretty decent and comfortable cycling shoe. I use it for road/gravel riding. I have a narrow foot and these fit well. Probably not for people with wide feet. However do not wet these shoes. The inside lining by the toes will warp and become hard like a rock. Therefore the shoe will be uncomfortable to wear. It happened to my first pair however I love the shoes and bought a second pair.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by docfuel

Great shoe, needed thicker insole
rating
by docfuel
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale, CA

Overall, I love these shoes, but the insole thickness in insufficient for my feet. The collar of the shoes bumped up against the bottom of my ankle bones (malleoli) until I added a small 3/4 insole to lift my ankles a few millimeters. Now they're great!

Reviewed 2/13/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NTX rider

Overall great gravel and off-rd shoe
rating
by NTX rider
north central texas

The first Fizik shoe for me and seems to have the quality needed to withstand the conditions at a lower cost than what I usually buy. The fit is good with the only issue has been the thin instep tongue causing some chafing. Wearing thicker socks solved the issue. I would recommend these for riding.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by soonerjon

These shoes are amazing
rating
by soonerjon
flyover country
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A big upgrade for me. Wanted a non-heavy MTB shoe, loved the BOA dials. Fit is great, no pinch spots. Put it through the paces in mud and gravel. Even slid out one time and really didn�t scuff. zero guilt about this buying this one.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KD Cagle

Excellent fit, ventilation and stiffness at a great price.
rating
by KD Cagle
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use these on a road bike with SPD pedals. The light-weight design and good ventilation make these a great road shoe for those who prefer shoes they can walk in. The boa provides and easy custom fit and the carbon reinforced sole offers excellent power transfer. A great shoe at a great price.

Reviewed 9/19/2020
Thank you for your feedback.