1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
WTB Byway TCS 700c Gravel Tire

WTBByway TCS 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(3)
(0)
(3)
(3)
(68%)
(11%)
(0%)
(11%)
(11%)
Good choice for all-around riding!
rating
by Vanbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
PNW

Works great for pavement because of the center ridge, works great for gravel and dirt due to the traction pattern. Have had a couple punctures but self-sealed afte4 a few blocks of riding.

Reviewed 7/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Will buy again
rating
by Anonymous
Longview wa.

Tough tire riding winter time roads puts the test to tires. So far these pass with flying colors!

Mounted tubeless with no problems.

Reviewed 3/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really nice commuter tire
rating
by TurdFerguson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

I run these on my single speed. It rolls really nicely on the paved surfaces that make up 95% of my commute. There are a few gravel sections that make the versatility of this tire stand out.

Reviewed 3/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires
rating
by Homero
BROWNSVILLE

700x34 for my cervelo aspero gravel bike it is awesome, super fast on the tarmac, where mostly i ride my bikes

Reviewed 2/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great!
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fast rolling center and mounted with out any issue tubeless

Reviewed 6/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty fast but the flats!
rating
by Miguel Angel
Tampa

The tire has a great feel, rolls fast but I never git as many flats as with this tore. Did I get a badly built tire? I been riding for 22 years + and have never seen a tire getting soany flat, even in tarmac! I wanted to like them but I cant take anymore flats!

Reviewed 12/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect gravel fondo tire
rating
by Jeffrey B
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area

Did the Big Bovine on these and loved them. Fast rolling and grippy when needed. Larger size provided nice cush in the washboard and more technical bits. I now keep them on a set up on a dedicated rims for frequent use.

Reviewed 11/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth rolling tire with just enough edge grip for hard pack
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

700c x 44m, used on my winter bike, a Kona Sutra LTD, for dry gravel and paved trails. My rides are typically 60% paved, and 40% gravel. These roll smoothly on pavement and feel pretty supple. On gravel they are plenty grippy, and have just enough side knobs for when riding on a side hill to not slip.

Setting these up tubeless was a mild pain. They weren't too hard to get on my rims, a set of Velocity Ailerons, by hand, but they did resist inflating a bit. Eventually, after a few tries, I got them to pop on and hold air. Once inflated, with 3oz of Orange Seal, they've done an excellent job holding air. I ride in goat-head country and have had no issues with flats.

The previous tires on this bike were a set of Rene Herse Snoqualmie Pass (44m) tires. They were super supple, very fast on pavement, and plenty grippy on gravel. The only place they fell short for my needs was on the side of a hill. They have no side knobs so were prone to slipping. I had a couple offs because of the lack of side grip with them. They were also prone to punctures.

The WTB Byways are close to the Snoqualmie's in speed and suppleness, equal in straight-line grip, and are superior in side grip and puncture resistance.

Reviewed 2/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice rolling on pavement, but still hooks up well on gravel
rating
by turnerxce
Cycling Enthusiast
Centennial, CO

Only a handful of rides on these, but so far I'm really liking them a lot over the Nano 40s they replaced. The center tread rolls nice and smooth on pavement and hardpack, but the shoulders provide just enough for confidence on gravel.

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling on tarmac and confident on bad roads
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the 700x 34 with tan sidewalls, which look AMAZING. They were a pain to install on the rim. I had to use soap and water to seat them properly and had to inflate past 60 PSI to pop them into place. Once installed, man are these tires awesome!! I bought these tires to ride on bad roads and light gravel & dirt. The smooth interior allows for speed and outer knobs offer extra confidence - exactly what WTB intended. I do not feel any slower on tarmac than I did on the 30mm Schwalbe tires that I replaced. Only criticism is the price, a little pricey. Will shall see how they wear over time.

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love How They Roll
rating
by biker_bryce817
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

On my third set of the 700x34 and haven't thought of changing to a different tire. I love the versatility of them. Whether the path is paved, gravel or dirt, they are fast and dependable. I run tubeless and only had to throw a tube in once, but was super easy to get off the rim and back on. I have a feeling these will also be my 4th set of tires when needed.

Reviewed 6/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ... until you need to take them off!
rating
by BustedKnuckles
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
16 of 26 customers found this review helpful.

Everything is great about these tires except one all-important issue too many manufacturers seem to ignore -- the ability to easily install AND remove when necessary. When I decided to swap these for a smaller, lighter set of tires I have, they refused to come off my rims. it was only after a major, hour-long struggle and the use of tools you're *never* supposed to use on tires and rims that I finally got them off. I shutter to think of being forced to change a flat while out in the boondocks.

Yes, denoting only one start may seem a bit harsh for otherwise good tires. But good tires are utterly worthless if you can't easily get them on and off.

By the way, the set of tires I replaced them with were Bontrager R2 Hard-Case Lite's, which unfailingly, easily pop on and off.

Reviewed 3/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Poor Durability, Quality
rating
by JWies
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is the last WTB tire I will purchase. I've given this tire, of different sizes, numerous chances to become my go-to tire, but it continues to come up with defective construction, poor casings and poor wear. In comparison to competitors tires of this type, the WTB Byway rates low in my book. I ride about 125 miles per week, mostly pavement with 10% of that on fine gravel and single track. I tried. I'm done.

Reviewed 4/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires for 60/40 road/gravel! Even sidewall survived a shard of small glass!
rating
by  J Stew
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I don't have much to compare against because this is my first foray into any tires over 28mm and also the first time I've gone tubeless however the first couple hundred of miles on these have been great.

Installation: I have them mounted on Bontrager Aeolus Pro 3V. This was my first time mounting tubeless on a rim and at first I had some trouble but using a bit of soapy water I was able to get the wheel to pop in to place. There was a little beading of sealant the first day or two but certainly nothing excessive. Since it's been fine.

Sealant: I'm running them with Stan's Sealant and so far I've also seen the power of sealant go to work when I had a tiny shard of glass get stuck in the sidewall. I thought I was out of luck when I removed the glass and the tire was still losing air but once I popped the wheel off and rotated it around a bunch the sealant quickly plugged. Beautiful!

Use: I'm using these on prob about 60/40 road/gravel. I feel like the smooth centerline is great for the road and comfortable on gravel, towpaths, crushed rock, etc. I did find the wheel slipping at times when I was putting down some power on steep climbs but I also had the PSI at around 50-55 and so this could have contributed to that. Dropping the PSI may combat the slipping a bit.

Overall, these tires combined with my titanium frame make for a great pairing. I look forward to exploring other similar tires but hopefully not too soon! I'm looking to have these last for a while.

Also, I did have a quality issue with one of the first two tires I received but, as always, BikesTiresDirect, was lightning fast in helping to resolve. I was seriously bummed for not having it for the first weekend of my build (I thought the tire would show up the following Wed or Thur) and I had it delivered Friday - I couldn't be happier with the customer service here!

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent All-rounder for Mixed-Surface.
rating
by Saug
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this tire to replace the wider tires on my Fargo. I became tired of working too hard on hardpack and tarmac surfaces, in-between gravel. These tires are supple and absorb a lot of unwanted vibrations from the ground. I have found that correct tire pressure is very important with these tires (tubeless setup here). Started with ~40 psi and found they were a little squirrely on looser gravel. I reduced the pressure down around 30 psi and they ate the gravel for lunch. Instant stability. I've become a very large fan of these tires. I now find myself riding these tires on tarmac and bike paths more than my road bike. I would purchase the Byway again but would consider the new SG2 technology that just came out. I've had zero issues with the Byways but a little extra puncture protection wouldn't hurt.

Reviewed 10/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite all surface tire
rating
by DrGDoyle
Competitive Racer
North Eastern maryland
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I have been super impressed with the look and the durability of WTB tires for years now - I first rode a set of 40mm Resolutes and loved them, but felt like I was leaving a lot of rubber on the asphalt between gravel roads here in the Mid-Atlantic so my next set was some 38 mm (I think) Riddlers which I also loved and when they started to look close to retirement age I started browsing for replacements and came across the ByWay 40mm and decided to give them a try. The tubeless set-up was super easy on my Chinese (Velobuild.com) 25 mm carbon "cyclocross" wheels and I have a good 500 miles on them so far on asphalt, gravel, grass, single track, mud and tar & chip - they perform great just like the other WTB models - a little spin-out now and again on steep gravel, grass or mud, but not horrible. For the few feet or so I needed slightly more aggressive tread I have miles and miles of carefree riding. No flats yet, Orange Seal works really well with these babies. I almost wanted to say I will not ride these at DK200, but am now having second thoughts after my experience AND reading and seeing so many of the top folks going more towards "slicks" ... I doubt anyone will be disappointed with these tires!

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire so far
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

A little on the pricey side but it's exactly what i was looking for on my cross bike. Solid center tread does well on pavement and I have no issues on gravel trails.

However, these 700x34 tires were the hardest set I have ever tried to seat. I knew it was going to be rough when getting just the first bead over the rim presented difficulty. I had no issues with 700x25 trainer tires, but it took me multiple rounds of soapy water and massaging the tire to get the bead to seat on the rim. So be careful and check the sidewall to make sure its actually seated! Other than that, no issues so far!

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Massive tear within first 100 miles
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
State College, PA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Set up tubeless on new rims without issue.

Did a 50 mile ride. Pressure slowly dropped over the first 30 miles, used a CO2 cartridge and made it home.

Swapped out my valve stem trying to isolate the problem and added more sealant.

Second ride: 10 miles over asphalt, followed by relatively tame hard-pack dirt trails. Went over a small rock, got a massive tear where the knobs meet sidewall. Used both plugs I had on me, a blast of CO2, and prayed that it would hold. Had to use my second and final CO2 cartridge about two miles later. But I did make it home.

12 hours later, and I can tell that the plugs won't be sufficient to squeeze even a little more life from this tire.

Maybe I just got unlucky, but I've done much more challenging terrain on bargain-bin tires without issue. I'd really hesitate to buy the Byways again. Destroyed in less than 2 weeks.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pair of gravel treads
rating
by CarbonRyda
Cycling Enthusiast

These tires are awesome on hard packed gravel trails and crappy paved city streets. The only small issue that I had was the bead seating correctly. I had to take the tire pressure up to 50 PSI and it popped into place. They have sealed correctly, but took a few days to seal the tire imperfections. Overall great experience!

Reviewed 1/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Happy with these tires
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA

The description they provide is spot on. These tires are perfect for hardpack, decent gravel roads and crummy pavement. Overall, the ride is supremely comfortable and so far, no flats. I found them easy to mount on my ENVE G23s. But decided to add the Vittoria tire inserts. You will not get them on with bare hands or regular tire levers

Reviewed 11/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.