FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Vredestein Gran Fondo TriComp

VredesteinGran Fondo TriComp(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(106 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(27)
(6)
(3)
(0)
(66%)
(25%)
(6%)
(3%)
(0%)
Great
rating
by Fran Rudy
Florida

Easy to put on, and very tough tire

Reviewed 7/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like these tires
rating
by Monte
Daily Commuter
NW Corner &40WA&41

I only have a few hundred miles on them so far, but no problems yet. I like how easy they were put on my rims also.

Reviewed 7/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as fast as some, but good traction, flat protection, and durability
rating
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA

I put these on to replace comp tires on a Cannondale Synapse that I thought was way too slow, and the bike immediately felt better on climbs. Combined with the improved traction and flat protection, for the price, for me they can't be beat.

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all Round tire I've ran and I have ran a lot of them.
rating
by NCCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Mooresville, NC

Started using these as winter training tires for their durability but discovered they grip well and last a long time with hardly ever any flatting problems. Light and grippy enough to race on or take down dirt and gravel with confidence. I've logged 60-70 thousand miles on these tires and I buy them in bulk when on sale. Most of my team mates have started using them as well.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grand Fondo Tricomps are my number one go to tires
rating
by NCBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Norman, NC
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Michelin Pro Service course for many years but switched to these Grand Fondo Tri Comps a couple years ago. They deliver the protection and handling on both good and bad surfaces. I ride more miles than most riders and have put them to the test. It also helps that they do it with a nice low weight for the hills here in North Carolina. Until somebody shows me something better I will continue to use them. 43,000 miles over the last two years and only a couple flats that would have taken out about any tire. Hope Western keeps putting these on sale. I load up every time I see them.

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, Michigan

Purchased a set of the 25c Grand Fondos on a WesternBikeworks deal of day sale last spring for my road bike. They have kept me flat free through a year's worth of active riding including some extended rides on gravel and limestone without issue and even an occasional pothole. Note that these tires have a recommended psi of 140 which gives a bit more flexibility in experimenting with different psi levels and feel. I definitely plan to replace them with a new set when the time comes.

Reviewed 1/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, Michigan

Purchased a set of the 25c Grand Fondos on a WesternBikeworks deal of day sale last spring for my road bike. They have kept me flat free through a year's worth of active riding including some extended rides on gravel and limestone without issue and even an occasional pothole. Note that these tires have a recommended psi of 140 which gives a bit more flexibility in experimenting with different psi levels and feel. I definitely plan to replace them with a new set when the time comes.

Reviewed 1/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire for 34 of season
rating
by VonChuck
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Nice tire, loved the ride quality but only lasted about 34's of ride season. I weight about 185. Did have punctures with goat-heads.

My wife has a full season of riding on hers (100lbs) but it's time to change them.

Reviewed 11/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
3 flats in first week, rides and handles well.
rating
by Karl
Missouri
2 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I moved from 23mm to these in a 25mm. Like the ride and handling in dry, wet, and loose debris.

Had a puncture flat from small rock on paved roadway. The other 2 flats are likely related to the high pressure (150 lbs) these tires need to ride well. One was on the rim side and a valve seperated from a tube.

Reviewed 10/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love these tires. No flats after 1000 miles over tough, gritty and even gravel roads. Also faster than my previous tires.
rating
by JB
Cycling Enthusiast
South Orange, NJ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I find they are quick, durable and worked great last March in a tough 82 mile ride over rough roads that include several gravel sections. No flats and still going strong!

Reviewed 10/7/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Tire for the Money
rating
by NCCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Mooresville, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been running these tires for several years and at over 20k miles a year I go through tires. These are the best for flat resistance and great handling of any I use. Fairly light with long wearing tread but even better flat resistance!

Reviewed 11/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, rides smooth!
rating
by gm
Cycling Enthusiast
Mount Pleasant ,SC

to ride on!

Reviewed 11/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not bad but ...
rating
by JC
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is a smooth rolling tire with supple ride characteristics. Wet traction is great as well. The problem I've had with this tire is its durability and ability to fend off punctures. I've never had a set of tires flat on me as much as these tires. These are also the first set of tires that I've had a sidewall puncture on me. I guess I'm going back to my old Vittorias.

Reviewed 1/12/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like these tires.
rating
by mtboulder
Cycling Enthusiast
CO
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires earlier this year and just replaced them after 2000 miles of mostly rough, chip seal roads. I run these at 100 psi and weigh 165lbs. No flats for first 2000 miles and then got 3 flats in about two weeks which is why I replaced them with another new set.

Reviewed 8/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go-to Tires
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg, VA
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've used several makes/models of tires over time, previously, my go-to tire was the Vredestein Tricomp race tire... though I never had flats and they handled well, they were a bit pricey. Then, I found these Gran Fondo's they are a little beefier- which is great for the long rides I do- and they are a good bit cheaper, especially if you wait for a sale and then stock up. 'Hard to go wrong, here.

Reviewed 6/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire for the price
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg, VA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried a few different brands of tires (Conti, Hutchinson, Michellin) and differing price points and such, and I've settled on the Gran Fondo's as my go-to tire. While I'm not a racer, I do like to go fast... and I do occasionally hit some gravel roads, too. For the money- especially when it's on sale- this is my go-to, all-arounder tire for my bike. I've had very few flats and it descends very well. Not a lot to dislike here...

Reviewed 5/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
boulder, co
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have put on 300 miles so far on these tires. They mounted on my Dura Ace C24 rims with no issues (much easier than previous Vredestein tires I have mounted). The grip is very good and so far there is no sign of wear and no flats.

Reviewed 5/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not the Perfect Replacement for the old Tri-Comps
rating
by BOB
Cycling Enthusiast
Central New Jersey
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Prior to the Grand Fondo clinchers, I was riding the old Vredestein Tri-Comps. When I'm not skiing in the winter, I ride everyday, rain or shine and all types of roads. Although very close in design to the Tri-Comps, the Grans Fondo Tricomps have a fairly low rolling resistance, but they are stiffer and less supple than the Tri-Comps. They do handle all weather conditions well, but installation on my Campagnolo Neutrons are nearly impossible, without proper stretching and use of tire irons. Once on the wheel, they do provide some of the speed, traction and durability associated with the Tri-Comps. The one attribute of the Grand Fondos lack is their suppleness or lack of, compared to the old Tri-Comps.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, fast, good cornering grip, bigger than expected
rating
by KendallsqCommute
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was surprised at how good these are for the price. Very classy, roll well, good road feel and good cornering grip, good wear so far. Overall a big improvement on the tires that came with my bike current bike.

They're on the large size for 25mm tires, noticeably bigger than the Specialized Roubaix Pro tires I replaced with them, though they're the same nominal size. When fully inflated, I need to loosen the brake adjustment to get the wheels on and off with these. With the Specialized tires, the brake release was enough.

Reviewed 12/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great so far!
rating
by valleycyclist
Competitive Racer
Los Angeles
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I as able to roll these tires on rims that are usually difficult installing new tires. I only used them for one ride so far (95 miles on a very windy day). There was debris on the road from the wind, and I had no issues. I checked the tires when I finished the ride, and I didn't find any cuts.

Reviewed 12/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page