FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Thomson Masterpiece Seatpost

ThomsonMasterpiece Seatpost(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
Lightweight Strength
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

I needed a no setback post to get my fit just right and this one is the best. It's Thomson what more can I say?

Reviewed 5/18/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great post
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Pros very light, super high quality, and the machined in ridges keep the post from slipping

Cons more shock transmission than a carbon post and in cyclocross my seat rails slip a bit in the post.

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great looking, well made and easy to adjust
rating
by Chuck
north West Washinton

very nice post, not carbon,Yah!!!

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Must Have for your Bike...
rating
by G Kobat
Southern California Mountain and Pacific Coast Rid
1 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

Transforming your riding results means transforming your ride.

Transforming your ride means transforming your power to weight ratio -

more power, less weight.

After twenty years of doing so, many technology changes, many bike makeovers,

and many Team USA's - I find one of the easiest and least expensive ways is a few

basic, classic, and fundamental shiftsw in adding more power and less weight

1 - buy a can of protein powder and replace a carb loaded breakfast with a protein shake

it builds more muscle mass for powwer, eats non needed fat weight, and helps you become

a fat burning machine.

2 - replace your seat post with a thompson master piece seat post it adds power and reduces weight

assisting you in achieving your more power, less weight goal.

3 - while you are at it take a look at your handlebar, crankset, wheels, and saddle and replace them with

2-3 lbs of less weight at a nonminal cost through my favorite bike vendor Western Bike Works.

4 - Western has been there for me for years and years with each bike and body transformation, for each

Team USA qualifier.

Start with protein powder, a Thompson seat post like I do, and oh, yeah you can't do enough hill repeat training

light weight gauranteed, Team USA Optional.

Peace.

Gary Kobat

Beverly Hills, Ca,

Reviewed 7/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, aluminum seat post precision machined and beautiful.
rating
by John Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Elkhart, IN

This aluminum seat post is precision machined and beautifully made. The set back feature allows better seat placement.

Reviewed 3/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top-notch seat post
rating
by S Jeffery
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Arkansas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This seat post has it all. Super light weight, solid as a rock, easy on the eyes, and American made.

The only draw back I can see it is a little more difficult to attach the saddle than most one bolt systems.

If you're looking for a professional level post, this is the one for you.

Reviewed 2/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the best seat post i have them on all my bikes worth buying
rating
by wil
Cycling Enthusiast
glendale, ca

easy to install light weight compatible with any saddle

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only one I'll go with
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Germany

I'm a bike enthusiast and put in 100-120 miles a week and will only go with Thomson, strong and dependable

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Form through function
rating
by Yelpspoon
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Masterpiece is an appropriately named thing of beauty that rivals any of my 27.2mm carbon seat posts ESPECIALLY given its size (31.6mm).

Works as needed and looks fantastic.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Class act! Nobody does it better. Thanks Thomson!
rating
by TelemarkTumalo
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, Oregon

I purchased this seatpost as I was revamping my 2006 Ibis Silk Road bike. The previous post was an Easton EC-70 with a 1.5 cm set back. I wanted a more forward position on the bike than the previous post allowed. I purchased this post and it does exactly what you would expect of a seatpost. The finish is beautiful and resists nicks and scars as only Thomson seems to know how to do. The best is the seat rail clamp and adjustment. I can't understand why some posts struggle with this, but Thomson's system is simple and secure. Very easy to adjust and torque to spec. And, the black looks great on my nude carbon frameset. I looked at several all carbon posts and really couldn't justify the extra cost with no reduction of weight. I know that some carbon posts indicate an improvement in ride quality, but I'm not buying that claim. No squeaks or creaks, no unintentional loosening. The Masterpiece I bought is the 31.6 mm diameter, 350 mm length, 158 g. Made of 7000 series aluminum.

Reviewed 4/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't go wrong
rating
by Jay (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

You just can't go wrong with a Thomson stem. These are just incredibly well made with a design that is a snap to adjust. The bolts in the front and back are easy to get to any allow unlimited flexibility in adjusting angle. The clamp holds the rails well with no slipping and no creaking.

It might be possible to save a few grams by using a crazy light carbon post, but at under 160 grams, the Thomson is pretty hard to beat.

Reviewed 9/4/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
#1 Best bike part ever made
rating
by Mark (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or, USA
27 of 28 customers found this review helpful.

This is one of the few products with which you can truly have it all. The clamp holds your saddle rails incomparably securely without any need for torquing the bolts heavily. And moreover, the Masterpiece is as light and as strong as anything else out there-- all the while costing a fraction of what you can spend for a carbon post. For whatever bike you're building for whatever purpose, this is the best seatpost you can buy. I have 5 bikes that use a seatpost, and therefore I have 5 Thomsons.

Reviewed 4/29/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best post made
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland

I run Thomsons on all my bikes-road, MTB, and CX-because they're light, durable, and reliable. I bought the Masterpiece version to get a little more setback on one bike, and now the fit feels perfect.

One caveat the setback on my post is 10 degrees, other brands make posts with a lot more setback (e.g., 20) , so if you need lots of setback, the Thomson may not be your best option. Otherwise, these are great posts. Relatively easy to set up, and once you set up your saddle, it stays where it belongs. That sort of reliability is priceless.

Reviewed 3/29/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lighter than carbon with more structural integrity. It just makes sense. I ride Road, mainly in the hills.

Reviewed 1/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
beautiful. a little heavier than advertised
rating
by bbcross
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA

I needed some setback and this posted met my needs. I was worried the ride would be too harsh but its actually just fine. Since it was heavier than advertised, around 200 grams, Im not sure its worth getting the Masterpiece version.

Reviewed 10/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the 'Go To' post
rating
by RickD
Competitive Racer
Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried numerous brands and styles of seatposts. The Thomson Masterpiece is clearly the best clamps work with all common seat rails, aluminum and carbon, tilt adjustment is simple and accurate and holds position, bomb-proof sturdiness of construction....and it is as light or lighter than the most expensive carbon posts!

My 31.6mm setback post ended up being 160 grams when I had trimmed a couple unnecessary inches off the end.

The only downsides are the rather odd looking angle for the setback version (which is what I use. You get used to its look) and the colors are only aluminum or black.

Reviewed 6/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice post , but both the Masterpiece and the Elite were too small a diameter for my 27.2 Moots Ti bike.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Northern Michigan
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The post would be a 5 star , but it is too small diameter in a 27.2 size.I had heard of Thomson posts creaking in the past, now I wonder if they are slightly undersized?

Given Thomson's reputation , I assumed it was my frame, but an Easton and a Bontrager post fit perfectly with no creaking.

Reviewed 10/17/2013
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review. We're sorry you're having trouble with this seatpost and we hope you'll get be sure to get in touch with our customer service department by email [email protected] or calling 1-800-682-0570, so we can help you out. Thomson components are known for being very precisely manufactured, so we'd love to figure out what's going on here!

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice
rating
by mcjudy
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA

This is a very nice post and it is easy to adjust. It replaces a carbon fiber seat post from my 2009 colnago (that had been cut to approx same length) and it is surprisingly lighter. Also the Colnago-labeled post was very awkward to adjust, but this is very easy.

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Total masterpiece, indeed!
rating
by smbkitesrfing
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii&vietnam
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Improved top tube length, and seat hight . Best seat post ever.

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best product in class
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
North VIrginia

This is the best product in class and at best price I could find.

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page