1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Shimano PD-RS500 SPD-SL Pedals

ShimanoPD-RS500 SPD-SL Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(65%)
(29%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great pedals for the price
rating
by Verelle
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I just switched to these pedals from my old hand-me-down pair because I wanted a pair with 'float'. These are great! They were easy to transition to, and the pedals are large enough that I can use them with my street shoes.

Reviewed 9/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first road bike pedals and they work great!
rating
by Momentum
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My first road bike pedals. I have SPDs on my other bike but these work well and are easy to clip in and out of. I'm just getting back into riding again, not sure if I'd appreciate the lighter versions. Maybe I'll get the lighter versions for my next road bike.

Reviewed 9/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Back-up Bike pedals
rating
by Old Man Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted to have the same pedals on my back-up bike as I have on my main bike, which has Shimano SPD Ultegras. I bought these because they're less expensive than the Ultegras. They seem to be of the same quality, and work well with the shoes I use on both bikes. If they're heavier, it's of no concern to me. The important thing is their quality, which seems to be what I'd expect from Shimano and WBW.

Reviewed 5/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for Second Bike
rating
by 55+
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Ohio
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Nice to be able to upgrade back up bike, while my main ride is in the shop !

Reviewed 10/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great clips
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Exactly as marked. Easy to install on road bike.

Reviewed 4/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top notch pedal at entry level price
rating
by oldrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

These are great pedals for the price. Bearings run nice and smooth, easy clip in and out, far range of adjustment for cleat tension, cleats last a long time. I have two bikes and have Look pedals on one of them. I wanted to change over to Shimano for both so I could use my newer shoes for both bikes. I have Shimano 105 5700's on the other bike. Can't tell a difference. The R540's have a rubber cleat plate vs a stainless steel for the 5700. Both are wide with a low platform. To top if off I got it at a low price with a price match. I really can't say anything negative about these pedals. Great product for the price.

Reviewed 1/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what i needed
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

my old shimano cleats kept popping out on climbs. So far these are doing the job, plus i feel the power distribution is better and more effective

Reviewed 10/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A quality component from Shimano at a budget price
rating
by cg
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheville NC
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The pedal is marketed towards 'amateur cyclist'. This is a bit misleading. The design, construction and weight (315gpair) are almost identical an older model Ultegra, which these were bought to replace. Recommended. Put the money saved towards a good pair of cycling shoes.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall, a good value
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use it on my daily ride. They work fine.

Reviewed 5/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First time with these type of pedals
rating
by mpirog
Cycling Enthusiast
Devine, TX
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

As with the shoes this is the first time I have used this type of pedal. At times I have issues trying to clip in but I think I'm just overthinking the process and I know after a few more rides clipping in will become more natural.

Once clipped in the pedals keep me locked in with just enough float to keep up a steady cadence. I will keep this setup for a year or so and then look into upgrading.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Pedals
rating
by Don Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Got these to take to France to use on another bike. I use another set of the same pedals on the bike I own. They are tough, light, and easily installed. Good product!

Reviewed 8/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work as expected
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Frontrange Foothills
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

They do the job. I want all my (and my family's) bikes to use the same system so the pedals are a low cost way for converting old and cheaper bikes.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Truly a bargain in clipless pedals
rating
by DR Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Bayfield, CO
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I often recommended this pedal to new riders, it has an easy to enter platform. It is a great value, even better on sale with typical Shimano quality.

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
st pedal for the price
rating
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

For the money you can't find a better road pedal. I have a couple of pairs of Look Keo pedals, (uncluding the new Keo 2 blade). I prefer the Shimano pedals as they have a wider cleat platform , easier to clip in, and the cleats last forever (compared to the Keo's). I think Shimano uses the same bearings for all their road pedals, only difference is the pedal body, these are alluminum. The only problem I have encountered with the Shimano pedals is if you are constantly messing with the tension release, afer a period of time, you stop getting that positive clicking sound letting you know that you have advanced to the next higher or lower setting. I set mine in the middle range and don't fiddle with it. Why spend close to or over a hundred dollars when these will do the job for a fantastic price?

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Beginner Pedals
rating
by SG
Competitive Racer
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Really good pedals.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for the money
rating
by Anonymous
cape fear
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

All around the required function

Reviewed 1/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
White Shimano pedals
rating
by Anonymous
Ogden Ut
Review for Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SL Pedals
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I got thes pedals because of price. They are just as awesom as the Dura Ace pedals i used daily for almosr eight years i may get another pair for my other Road bike.

Reviewed 11/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.