FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Shimano PD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals

ShimanoPD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(30%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
The Best Pedal
rating
by DeeBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I love these pedals. I currently own three sets and they're the only pedal I recommend to people in search of a mountain-style, two-bolt, pedal. Durable, reasonable light, and functional.

This is about as much pedal as anyone needs.

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This clip sytem works well with my comuter bike,it is easy to get in and out of the clips.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane ,Washington
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It was very easy to install the pedals. I really think a clipless pedal is a major improvement over traditional toe clips. It took just a little bit of practice to learn how to engage and release out of the pedals.

Reviewed 5/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Upgrade
rating
by Mister Magoo
San Francisco

Ive used the 520s for years now and finally upgraded my bikes to the 540s. For me, the decision came down to higher quality materials used on the spindle of the 540 vs the 520, and the better support feeling of the cleat interface. The 520s are great if you are unsure of clipless and want to try it. The 540s are perfect for an upgrade and a rider who wants to get more adventurous with their rides.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works!
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

No other description needed. Just works and a great price to boot!

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SWEET
rating
by Double E
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah

Been using egg beaters thinking they were easier to clip in and out until i tried a pair of 540. so far they have been very reliable and easy to get clipped inout. would buy again

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals for my GravelCyclocross Bike
rating
by NordMN
Competitive Racer
Northern Minnesota

Purchased these pedals for my new GravelCyclocross bike. These pedals have the performance I was looking for in an all-round performer for a variety of riding conditions.

Reviewed 3/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano pedals - reliable and as tough as they come.
rating
by Rides in the rain
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA

Smooth-turning, tough, general purpose clip-in pedal. Works well for road or mountain biking I have the same style of pedals on both types of bikes and like the fact that I can switch bikes without worrying about different shoes. I'm still using other SPD pedals dating back eight years and they keep spinning without any problems. I put this pair on a new road bike. One quibble is that because they are double-sided, there is a slight weight penalty over single-sided clip-in pedals. Over than that, a great pair of pedals and, of course, delivered with Bike Tire Direct's speedy delivery service.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Girdy
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Crank brothers blew up in the middle of a long ride. Very frustrating. Now I'm back to these pedals on my commuter, mountain bike, and cross bike. Reliable and inexpensive.

Reviewed 8/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Crank Bros to SPD
rating
by ScottP
Competitive Racer
Eugene, Or
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

So I have been using Crank Brothers Egg beater pedal for years. I broke one once during a race, and have blown out bearings. So at the advise of many fellow racers I made the switch to SPD. These 540, XT & XTR pedals. Immediately with all three levels I noticed a larger, better platform under my foot. ( I use carbon soled MTB shoes) These pedal just feel solid. I did a race last week which was very muddy. These didn't seem to shed the mud like I remember egg beaters doing, but I could be wrong. I made this switch this within 6 months, so I feel to be more fair to crank bros I need to allow more evaluation time, but so far, IM liking the change.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rock solid and easy
rating
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use these pedals to commute, mtn bike and ride 100 milers on the weekend. I like their versatility and ease of use.

Reviewed 10/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.