1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 26" Tire HS420

SchwalbeMarathon 26" Tire HS420(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(76%)
(13%)
(8%)
(0%)
(3%)
I am very happy with the product
rating
by Anonymous
India, Kerala

Though it took some time to get due to the covid restrictions it was worth the wait. I had to pay import duty that was the only downside to it. The tyre is very good.

Reviewed 7/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are difficult tires to find and I was pleased that you carry them. They are excellent tires that fit well and I hope they last.
rating
by Excellent fit on difficult rims. Nice looking tire
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

Excellent fit on difficult rims. Nice looking tires also.

Reviewed 6/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are the tires you want!
rating
by Bike2day
Hudson Valley, New York

I have these tires on my Surly Long Haul Trucker. I have 3000 miles on them, which includes 900 miles in Iceland. I ride both pavement and dirt with no worries.

No flats, no leaks, no worries.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well satisfied
rating
by Captain B
Monterey Bay area Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for reliable touring tire that is puncture proof, These marathone tires BY Schwalbe fit the bill -and Im well satisfied with them.

Reviewed 9/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchase two sets of these (one for a mountain bike and the other for a touring bike). Have about 100 miles on one set and 150 on another. I ride mainly on sidewalks, street, and paved paths. Where I live there are ruts, limbs, sand, and debris everywhere and a thin tire will not suffice. I like the tire because it can handle various terrain, and are suppose to be puncture resistant (so far so good). They can handle high pressure, bumps, rolling resistence is negligable, and I feel stable when cycling. They are also compliant as the ride is smooth.

I have a set of 717 Mavic Rims and XT Shimano Hubs on both bikes (both hand built) and neither have a hint of wobble, yet when riding or spinning the tire, I notice the tire is not perfectly even as it rotates. In other words, I can see how the pattern on the tire does not remain the same as the rim spins, and it appears the wheel is not true. When riding there is no hopping or bumping felt but would like a tire that looks straigt or even when spinning. Would have given five stars if this weren't the case.

I will see about durability and puncture resistance as time passes, no comment on that.

Reviewed 8/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent commuting tire
rating
by Anonymous

Great puncture protection for commuting, as well as feeling a bit cushioned compared to non reinforced tires. A bit of a pain to get on initially, but it�s worth the struggle. I cannot recommend this tire enough

Reviewed 7/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Tire
rating
by Skippy
Central Oregon Coast

Good rolling sturdy tire

Reviewed 7/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very strong and durable tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson

Worth the price. These tires are very durable and puncture resistant. The reflective sidewall is an added plus. The only major con is that they are difficult to mount. They reliably last for twice as many miles as cheap tires.

Reviewed 3/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Testing the Marathon after a successful 2 years with the Marathon Plus
rating
by Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Californtia
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Testing these tires for the first time after riding Schwalbe Marathon PLUS tires for two years. These tires are a little less expensive than the PLUS tires, so I though I would test a pair for a year for commuting in town. For my rides 50 miles from home in the mountains I will continue to use the Schwalbe Marathon Plus, which are the best tire I have used in my life of 50 years cycling, pro racing, commuting and touring. I don't like weak tires that explode when they get punctured, and wear out in a few 1000 miles, and grip the corners complaining and slipping. The Schwalbe PLUS tires have slow wear, good grip, and have never blown out. One slow leak in 2 years of riding.

Reviewed 3/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the best touring tire
rating
by SLOvic
Central CA
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

My original set of these finally wore down their tread. The back tire had about 9000 miles, the front about 7000. I think I would still be on them, but I left them at 35 psi for way too long after a tour with a couple hundred miles of hard-pack gravel roads. Never had a flat. Ride was grippy even on fast corners and mountain descents. Easy to mount. Just no problems at all.

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Skinny, like my girlfriend
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
PNW
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I had 1.5" wide tires on my bike, so I bought these. Old Specialized Armadillo. These are half the width of the others. They are super skinny. Buy wider if you have wide needs. I could hit the trails with my old tires, not with these skinny bitches.

Reviewed 11/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Road Tires for MTB
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Northern New England
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

I use these for fair-weather commuting on mostly roads and paved bike paths. My only basis for comparison is the Continental Travel Contacts I've been using for the same purpose for the past 6 years, so take this with a grain of salt if you're comparing to other high-pressure city tires. The Schwalbes are quite thick where the tire meets the road (enough to make the bike feel taller). The Schwalbes also take a higher pressure (100 psi, I run them at 80), and they have very low rolling resistance. The lack of treads on the outside edges means they're more stable when cornering on pavement, but less stable in gravel. The reflective sidewalls are a nice touch, they're really noticeable at night. I don't have enough miles on them to evaluate durability, but there's a lot of rubber between the bottom of the tread and the top of your inner tube, so I can't imagine them being prone to punctures. I wouldn't use them for loose gravel or off-road, but for on-road use, this is a great high-pressure, low rolling-resistance tire.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire.
rating
by Opjim
arizona
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a road tire I could put on my mountain bike for road riding. My main criteria was one that wouldn't require superhuman hand strength to actually get the tire on rim. This one met this criteria and has performed well.

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not too impressed..
rating
by ogrex
Competitive Racer
PA
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Made it 101 miles after installing on my ebike before the first flat. Picked up a staple(with flat ends..) it went straight through the thickest part of the tire and a thorn-proof tube.. rear tire of course. Bad luck? maybe.. can't say I'm impressed so far though :|

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuter tires
rating
by Jonathan
San Francisco
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

No flats yet and i ride on roads paved in glass. These were a welcome change for city riding over my off road tires on my adventure bike- now commuter bike. Look cool too and has sidewall reflectors.

Reviewed 7/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very disappointed
rating
by Cyclistfor40years
Cycling Enthusiast
5 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

The tires I received and mounted on true wheels caused obvious hops in riding at anywhere from 60 to 95 psi. suspect this was due to manufacturing imperfections. I am returning them.

Reviewed 10/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Two years. Several thousand miles of city riding. No flats.
rating
by EricB
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Simply the best flat-resistant tire I've ever own. Smooth ride, too, and excellent traction.

Reviewed 6/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Over 5000 miles, no flats
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco, CA
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I got these tires to outfit my mountain bike for a trip down the west coast of the US last spring. They lasted through about a thousand miles of training, plus the trip itself which was another thousand miles, followed by on-and-off training for the rest of the year, and finally I've been using them to prep for another trip this summer - total of over 5,000 miles across 15 months with no problems at all. One of them has finally worn down and I'm back to get another pair. Fantastic tires.

Reviewed 5/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heavy Tires, so they should wear well
rating
by Ironmikey72
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Michigan
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I am installing these to replace the Schwalbe Marathon Racers that came on my Catrike. I have 3200 miles on the Racers and the 20 tires are worn, while the 26 tire shows little wear. These are considerably heavier and thicker on the tread, so they should wear well. My only complaint with Schwalbe are the inner tubes that came installed on the 20 tires. Both failed within the first 1500 miles. They split internally at a seam. No punctures thru the tires were found. I would not recommend Schwalbe Tubes for this reason.

Reviewed 11/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire firm, grips pavement, smooth comfortable rider.
rating
by TD
Casual Cyclist
Chicago,Il
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Use this tire on my mountain bike for paved roads and city streets, short rides, 40 miles or less. Overall very happy with the tire no negatives. Good on wet pavement. Feel secure on the tire.

Reviewed 6/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.