1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Schwalbe HS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire

SchwalbeHS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(10)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(73%)
(25%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Classic looks and tough
rating
by Anonymous
Eastern Washington

Classic design and dimensions with modern durability and quality. I needed 27x1 1/4 tires for my vintage Raleigh that has Campy hubs and Mavic wheels that I had built up in the late 1980s from what was then already NOS. There are few options anymore, but these fit the bill and they look like the original tires. It is not an actual gumwall, but it looks the same, and it is tougher and longer lasting than the Panaracers that I had before. Good tread design makes these useful for shoulder-season riding on my Raleigh Grand Prix--reminds me of when that bike was new and faster than most other bikes that I encountered out on the roads.

Reviewed 3/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Faultless Performance During 6 Years of Extended Loaded Touring
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these tires for annual fully-loaded bike tours of from 2 to 5 months duration for the last 6 years. They wear like steel. I have had no more than 2 puncture flats the whole time and months of flat-free cycling. Last summer, I toured Europe for 5 months with a new set of these tires. They are still on my bike and working well for the daily rides I take around town.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires for commuting
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm riding on these for the 2nd season on my 80s Norco road bike. I ride in various parts of Toronto, including industrial areas with some rough patches of road, which also often has tiny bits of glass and other debris from auto shops and factories. Have not had any problems whatsoever so far, and have ridden them in rain with zero problems. The puncture protection is very very helpful for commuting through the city and especially into suburban or industrial areas. I would buy them again for their functionality and trustworthiness.

Reviewed 6/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits Schwinn rims
rating
by Frank F.
Casual Cyclist
Laramie, WY
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Ride a 1969 Schwinn Varsity and have had a hard time finding tires to fit the 27 rim. Every one that I tried, except for the HS159, would not seat properly and caused a thump as the wheel rotated, which got worse at higher speeds. Was about to the point of trying to stretch the tire with a jack, but knew that the results may not be so good!

Reviewed 8/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceeded my expecatations
rating
by Anonymous
chicagoland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great product! Purchased for an old 1976 full Dura Ace Panasonic professional. Used extensively during a stay on Prince Edward Island. On the road or along the confederation trail (gravel) these tires performed exceptionally well. I rode these at max pressure of 85 psi on the asphalt and 65 psi on the gravel. These tires now have over 600 miles logged. I dont really care about the whitewalls but some reading this review might like it especially for an old cromemoly bike.

Reviewed 10/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Working just Fine for me
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Fort Wayne Indiana.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires seems to work just fine for me I ride to and from work about 5-6 miles and it seems like a very smooth ride I have not had a flat yet and with these tires i hope i won't, I'm about to put it up for winter I live in Indiana so it get's a little to cold to ride this time of year. But over all I really enjoy the ride I get from these Tires.

Reviewed 10/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking tire for a vintage Raleigh
rating
by dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicagoland
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

As a favor, I recently refurbished a vintage Raleigh for a friend. He had last rode the bike during the mid-70s while in college. It had been hanging in his garage since then. I wanted gum wall thorn resistant 27 tires to complement vintage look of the bike, but I could not find locally. This made me all the more pleased to find Western Bike Works had in stock the HS159 and at a very good price. This tire's side wall is off white which sets it apart from the typical gum wall and looks great on the vintage Raleigh!

Reviewed 10/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I bought these for restoring an old steel bike for riding around town, and they work great. Love the white sidewalls.
rating
by EasyRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

Just using these for riding around town, but they could work decent on hardpack gravel as well. They look sweet on my old drop bar steel road bike with the white sidewalls.

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and roll well, one of the best ISO 630 tires available.
rating
by Jerome D
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Durable and roll well, one of the best ISO 630 tires available.

Reviewed 4/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product, Good price, Fast delivery
rating
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Mishawaka, Indiana

Installed these on a 1970s Schwinn Traveler. They look and ride great! Thanks

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous

Tires came on time and I was kept up to date on shipping via email. I will continue to order tires and tubes from here

Reviewed 3/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
favorite 27
rating
by bluesjr
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay

I've bought 3 pair now for vintage bikes. My favorite 27" tire for size (fairly narrow for 1 1/4), weight and looks (really like the white). All for a great price. This tire is noticeably lighter than the Marathon in the same size, which I also own.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy rolling - great traction
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Selecting tyres in sizes from the way past can be very challenging. Although there are other great tyres in other sizes most of the look like modern tyres. I chose the Schwalbe HS159 for performance in a retro look. not dissapointed. These tyres ride great and rolling resistance is surprising low considering how much tread is on these tyres. I strongly recommend them if you want great performance with an older look.

Reviewed 5/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good grip
rating
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

liked them so much, i bought 2 pairs.

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good replacement tire for an old bike.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Jose
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on a 45 year old bike that I have inherited. While I had a little trouble putting them on

they have held up well f or the rides I do.

Reviewed 1/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe tires solid - like the refelctive side wall
rating
by Illinois Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to go on a recumbent for some distance touring. Have put about 1000 miles on them, mainly on paved roads with no issues. They have quite a bit of tread compared to the Gatorskins I've used on my normal road bikes. Looks like they will last a long time. Since I ride at night during the summer to stay out of the heat, (on country roads) I particularly like the reflective side wall. That was the main reason I switched. Very happy with them.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cost and quality
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Awesome value and great quality

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Incredibly durable, quality tire
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, Illinois
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I put these Schwalbe tires on several bikes in our household that are used as utility bicycles, driven to the market, over trails, on rough country roads, and under generally adverse circumstances. I'm amazed at how durable and puncture resistant they are. I would have expected a harsh ride from puncture resistant tires due to harder compounds, but the Schwalbes ride as good as any of the more sophisticated tires I've used on other bikes. They're also very good in loose gravel and sand situations and conditions, exhibiting minimal slippage and quite amazing tracking. I'm sold on these, and will continue to use these as my go-to tires for any general purpose bikes I build in the future.

Reviewed 3/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome for vintage bikes
rating
by Matt
Portland

An excellent looking and performing tire. Rides great and the price is fantastic.

Reviewed 10/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable Bike Tire
rating
by Anonymous

I am very satisfied with this tire. Provides much better traction & grip on any surface, paved or gravel road.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.