FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Schwalbe Big Apple 29 Inch Performance Line Tire

SchwalbeBig Apple 29 Inch Performance Line Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(91%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Ultimate Steamroller Tire
rating
by Chris (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

For what this tire is -- an invincible beast of a smooth tire -- this is as good as it gets.

While it definitely doesn't have enough clearance for all but dedicated 29er frames, the Big Apple 29 might be the most comfy and reliable tire made. It's giant. That really can't be overstated. You really don't realize how big 2.35 is until you see a 2.35 tire with no knobbies -- that's all air volume. The result is a tire that doesn't roll super-fast (in fact it rolls like three 23mm road tires side-by-side). Once up to speed, though, this thing just keeps rolling, and the sheer volume makes for enough traction for even some light duty off road use -- even singletrack. Gravel roads are no problem.

If steady and indestructible is your preferred commute method and you can't help but goofing around on some curbs, or even park benches, along the way, this is your tire.

Reviewed 2/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tires.
rating
by Kevan
Cycling Enthusiast
Shreveport
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these tires. They change the look and feel of my 29er considerably and for the better. I ride urban streets for the most part, and they deliver a great smooth ride. They roll over everything, so much so, that I now call my bike Honey Badger, because, well, Honey Badger just don't give a %$! I took them off road for a tame ride, and they performed decently there, too. They have also proven quite puncture resistant, although you do still have to watch out for goatheads and metal. My ride is now an urban beast!

Reviewed 8/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
big wheels keep on turnin
rating
by deadbirdsaint
sacramento

i threw these on my big new 29er bmx bike. i am a big dude (200 lbs) that does big jumps/drops in the streets, and these big apples are super cushy. i run without brakes and the back tire is holding up well to my shoe skids on 95 degree days. great traction in the street, not the best on dirt (as to be expected). great for cruising and abusing!

Reviewed 7/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
RVA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I turned my 29r into a commuter. And man does this tire make it all worth the while....great product.

Reviewed 6/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This tire fits the bill perfect
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
mtn home idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for a durable, comfortable tire to put on my bike and i found it works great on my fargo

Reviewed 5/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Floats over potholes and rough roads for a comfy commute
rating
by Erik D
Daily Commuter
Ann Arbor, MI
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The biggest slick I could find with a reputation for puncture protection. This is on my commuter rig (a rigid 29) and is much faster than knobbies on the asphalt and is able to go over the roughest roads here with ease. I've even taken these off-roading, on a local singletrack loop, and these handled better than worn out knobbies do. Slipped on some wet leaves, but they handle dry dirt very well. I'd consider getting these same tires on a single speed roadie, if I can find a frame that can accommodate them.

Reviewed 4/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I ride a Trek Marlin.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I found this set of tires to be everything this bike needed. I'm not much of an off road rider, but I know these tires can handle an occasional trail with ease. I love the smooth ride, and rather surprised how tough they are when riding on less than perfect surfaces.

Reviewed 6/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Urban Cruiser Tire
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is the best urban or beach cruiser tire there is, period.

Super fast, super comfortable, reflective sidewall, and great puncture protection. Dont hestistate on this tire, and if you can find it on sale, even better!

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are everything that I had heard they were- Great performance all around!
rating
by Super-Clyde!
Cycling Enthusiast
Dongducheon, ROK

Excellent traction- supple, cushioning ride- bright reflective stripes that let others see me better at night. I had heard for years how good the Big Apple was, so after having very positive experiences with Schwalbe in the past I put them on the top of my list. No regrets, these are extremely hard to beat and they deliver on the promises.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big and Beautiful
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Pete, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second pair of Big Apples. I don't think I can add anything to the already glowing reviews. They roll beautifully and I don't get flats with them. Perfect tire for my Surly Ogre.

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire ever!
rating
by BikeFlorida
Cycling Enthusiast
Hernando, Florida

I like the Big Apple so much I bought another set for my second Breezer Thunder mountain bike. Most of my riding is pavement, but these babies are great if I have to bail. Rolling resistance is not bad at all. Reflective stripe very visible. Go fat is what I say!

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth
rating
by Jjames
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Mountains
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put these on my stock rim for my 2018 IBIS Riply. My mountain bike tires are on a set of carbon wheels. I change wheels when I'm riding pavement. Kind of like having a super nice hybrid.

These tires are very smooth riding and roll efficiently. I'm pleasantly surprised.

However, they were a lot of work to mount. I needed three hands. Hope I don't ever have a flat.

Reviewed 12/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!!!
rating
by eldanothemano
Competitive Racer
Folsom Prison, VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are of a generally round shape, with a pleaseant choclatey scent, and should not be used as hoola hoops, nose rings, car tires, a flotation device in case of plane crash, or as a clever disguise to rob various banks in your community.

I've got them on my e-bike, which is used to commute to work and back, and they are super cool. Very smooth ride, awesome grip, and chicks totes dig a nice set of tires on an e-bike right!?!?

Would buy again. Yep.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
fantastic
rating
by Anonymous
Carlsbad, CA

Exactly what I was looking for

... Fast and durable.... Highly recommended

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Urban Assault Tire!
rating
by JMCGILLZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Fair Lawn, NJ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Best tire on the market for road and some light trail riding. I immediately put them on my DB 29er and they are all everyone says they are. I'm 6'3' 260 and they take all the punishment I can give them. New Jersey roads (Or lack there of...) aren't the best and a lesser tire couldn't handle the punishment. I run them with a tube at 55psi and I'm getting good performance numbers out of them. I do about 80 miles a week and I plan on running them through the winter if possible. The reflective side walls are an added bonus as well. NJ isn't the most bike friendly state - Be seen or be taken out! Will definitely purchase these again.

Reviewed 9/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good grip and a smooth ride.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
northern indiana

I use these tires on a motorized bike.

Reviewed 9/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding E-Bike tire !!
rating
by Chewy0311
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these for my new Felt Nine-E 20 E-Bike and have had ZERO issues. I commute about 30 miles a day

and and have zero flats at 3000 miles and counting. After 6 months I expect, I will need a new set around the

4-5000 mile marker. 95% of my riding is on pavement, these tires are quick and agile. Since I bought these tires,

I have changed brake pads 3 times and have replaced the front chain ring, rear cassette, and chain. I don't think there is a better 29er city tire on the market today. Please note they are largewide, just make sure they will fit your bike. I have had trouble with some older bike racks on public transit where the tires don't quite fit, I carry

a tie down strap to ensure it will stay in the rack.

Reviewed 5/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires, Great Price
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Boston
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got these tires at a fraction of the price of most other retailers

Reviewed 4/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe big apple 29 ers
rating
by Dave
Harvey,la

The tires work great on a 29 inch schwinn revel . Great buy...

Reviewed 4/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looking for potholes to hit dead center
rating
by Like2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
omaha, nebraska
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Potholes are a part of riding in Omaha. I ride on the residential streets to avoid high traffic and in so doing, ride some of the worst streets in Omaha. These tires are so huge on my mt bike that i barely feel the potholes and road hazards are not as hazardous. On my way to work today, I heard something shoot out from under my back wheel. I was certain i would flat out and kept checking on the way to work but never did flat out. they were expensive but compared to the cost of new rims, i think this was a good purchase.

Reviewed 9/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page