1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Schwalbe Aerothan 700c Tube

SchwalbeAerothan 700c Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(7)
(6)
(2)
(3)
(59%)
(16%)
(14%)
(5%)
(7%)
46g, not 41g
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT
4 of 22 customers found this review helpful.

After a lot of indecision, splurged and bought two of the Race 700 x 23/28 version. Disappointed to find that both weighed nearly 46g (45.7 and 45.9g to be precise). Substantially more than the 41g listed both in the specs and prominently on the box. Hoped that the scale was off. Fresh batteries, re-calibrated. Nope, not the scale.

Schwalbe tech rep says that lower weight is less important than reduced rolling resistance and greater puncture resistance. CyclingTips' posted data shows that Aerothans have slightly more rolling resistance than latex and slightly less than Conti Supersonic. As for puncture resistance, it's always seemed like that should be in the tires rather than the tubes (though resistance to tearing while mounting is always welcome).

Still, one expects that a product which is (a) made in Germany and (b) so expensive would be closer to spec. If that's impossible, a weight range should be given.

They're still in the box, so my one star rating doesn't mean much. Haven't decided whether to use them or return for credit.

Reviewed 3/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific tubes until you get a puncture
rating
by Pat
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Pros: lightweight, packs small, holds air very well, perfect for seat-pack spares

Cons: Cannot be permanently patched with any patch material currently on the market. I've tried Tubolito, slime, and Park patches. Nothing works. Schwalbe says you must use their patch kit, but I've never tried it because these are not available anywhere. Until Schwalbe makes their patch kits as widely available as the tubes, these can only used as a seat-pack spare (unless you want to throw away a $30 tube with each puncture). Note: Tubolito patches work great for a while, but after a few months they eventually fail.

Reviewed 3/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Game Changer
rating
by Knight
Missouri

I will never use a "normal" tube again! It is a phenomenal improvement. It frees up so much space in your Jersey or bag, and they really are puncture resistant. The also prefer them to their orange competition. Cannot recommend enough!

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific ultralight durable tube
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Lighter than latex, and it holds air better than butyl, with virtually no pressure loss between rides. Some reviewers have said they're hard to repair, but in my experience punctures are easily repaired using either the Schwalbe or Tubilito patch kits that are specifically made for thermoplastic tubes. They are great to carry in the flat kit since they are light weight and take up much less space than butyl or latex.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not sealant compatible
rating
by Jay Anderson
Cycling Enthusiast
Tahoe & Santa Cruz Mountains
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this to use as a spare on my tubeless gravel bike. However, the paperwork that comes with it says not to get it in contact with sealant. So, it is useless for my purposes. I bought lightweight tubes from another company that do not have this issue.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lesson Learned...
rating
by SHBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Bought 3 of them at the beginning of May. All 3, yes all 3, are toast now.

Tube 1 developed an air bubble in one spot during installation, stretching the material irreparably before the tire was even on (apparently there's a warning against overinflation prior to mounting,written in tiny print in the install guide??).Tube 2, mounted on the rear under a Conti GP5000 in 28mm, punctured after 150 miles.Tube 3, mounted on the rear under a Conti GP 4 seasons in 32mm, punctured after 200 miles (300 miles total on this tube, if you count the 100 miles when it was on the front before I switched it to the rear). As other reviewers have noted, the Schwalbe Glueless Patches can't be found anywhere! So I'm stuck with two broken tubes that I'll probably never bother to fix, given my lack of trust in these tubes now, and what I've heard about the Glueless Patches not always working well.

This was no scientific experiment, so my results are by no means objective, and I may have just had a run of bad luck (I think I was tempting the Flat Gods when I bought these tubes because I was on a 3000-mile no-flat streak with basic butyl tubes (Bontragers and Michelin Airstop A2s with different set-ups)). That being said, I will never purchase Schwalbe Aerothan tubes again. Schwalbe, if you're listening, lower the price by at least half and I will MAYBE consider buying them again, because, as much as I hate to admit it, I did like riding them and I feel like the lower weight and slightly lower rolling resistance was noticeable.

My next tire/wheel upgrade will probably be going tubeless (in which case my Aerothans, if I ever am able to patch them, will be even more useless, because, as Schwalbe notes in the fine print of their Aerothan packaging, the tubes can't come into contact with Tubeless sealant - so much for a light spare tube lol).

Reviewed 6/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love these tubes
rating
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN

I have purchased several of these tubes in the past. I and my wife each had gotten a flat using these and I am waiting to purchase the repair kit. They are light and seem to roll better that butyl tubes.

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light and durable!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Obviously a little pricy, but they do seem to last longer than standard tubes. A great way to save on rolling resistance and weight!

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better stem than other thermoplastic competition
rating
by kook43
Competitive Racer
St. Louis, MO

Been running Latex for racing/training since I can remember, great feel, fast, light, etc. Switched to the competition, to shed a few grams and have a more compact spare, let's call them "Orange" and was happy until I realized their fatal flaw, the stem.

Touch it with anything, add extenders for deep carbon rims, change the valve for any reason, and bammm instant failure, leak, crack, non-seal. These Aerothan's are waaaaaay different. The stem is actually the focus, and works 100% so far in my usage. Just as light, just as good, with far better engineering.

I'm a fan of the Schwalbe Aerothan.

Reviewed 7/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These tubes are lighter than latex and much lighter than butyl.

Installation was no problem and each size covers a useful range of tire sizes.

They retain air better than latex but not as well as standard butyl. Mine lose about 10% per week.

I've had 2 flats, both were slow leaks from tiny holes. I couldn't find Schwalbe patches but was able to repair the tubes with Park glueless patches. I cleaned the hole area thoroughly then pressed the patch on by rolling a socket wrench over it with lots of force. They hold air as well as unpatched tubes.

I like these better than Tubolito. Mostly I've had problems getting patches to hold on Tubolito. Also the Aerothan seem lighter and more flexible (and I don't have to look at orange valve stems).

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost perfect. Almost amazing. But ...
rating
by Psycholist
Competitive Racer
Calhoun Falls, SC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I wish I could LOVE these, and I do. I wish I could say they're perfect, but no. The valve stems are strange and, I believe, leaky. I've purchased a number of these tubes and have replaced Schwalbe's valve cores with standard ones I've saved over the years and that has cured some air leakage issues.

I'd love for these to be a great spare carry tube for my various tubeless setups, but they warn not to use these tubes in tires where tubeless sealant has been used. I think I get why because I've tried it despite their warnings. Tubeless sealants have glitter-type junk that helps clog a puncture and aid sealing, but that glitter-type junk is large enough and has sharp-enough edges to put tiny punctures in these extremely thin tubes.

When I've used these tubes in brand new tires they've been amazing! Minimal air loss over time. Extremely light and they seem to be durable. You just can't use them as backup for a tubeless setup where sealant has been involved (which they quite clearly warn you about up front). And the valve stems/cores seem a bit sketchy. These are my knocks on them. Otherwise, they're fantastic. They're extremely light and seem to roll every bit as well as latex or tubeless.

Reviewed 5/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice product!
rating
by Jenk
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on my gravel bike and road bike. Certainly different and rather pricey, but so far so good. Hold air better than latex so no need to air everyday. Ride very supple, closer to latex than butyl. Nice rotational mass saving on gravel bike (700x35 tires), didn't notice much on road bike (700x25) but was running latex already. No punctures, so that's good, but didn't expect any since the backroads here are decent and most of the flats I get and see during club rides are from tube failures or worn out tires and maybe the occasional pinch flat at RRXing, so cannot comment on repair. Overall nice product and happy with purchase.

Reviewed 5/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I think I can feel the difference
rating
by PSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Springs, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 125 to 150 miles a week of mostly dry and hilly roads, mostly on a 2021 Roubaix Expert with alloy wheels. I'm one of those people that is highly skeptical when reviewers use subjective words like "supple" when rating tires or tubes. I bought these in the hopes of reducing flats and having more consistent air pressure, so I was surprised when I felt like they actually make a difference in ride quality. Supple may be the right word -- it does feel like a smoother ride.

This may seem like a steep price to pay, but if they really do provide better flat protection then that means I'll buy fewer tubes. Also, at least for now I feel like I can put off my planned upgrade to carbon wheels. If you're on the fence, I think they're worth a try. You've probably spent more money on dumber products.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small packing size, light, and so far no flats. Expensive.
rating
by JohnK
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm using Aerothan tubes in both 25mm tires on my roadbike (90/80PSI) and 38mm tires on my gravel bike (50/40PSI) for about a month now. Easy to install. No flats yet so haven't tested their patchability. Love their small size and weight.

The gravel bike tubes have Continental 20mm valve extenders attached. No problems.

The road bike tubes need to be aired up before every ride. Their pressure drops significantly (~10PSI) between rides. The gravel bike tubes, with their much lower pressure, hold air much better.

I have tried Tubolito tubes and so far I like the Aerothans' more. The two Tubolito road bike tubes I used were leaky. Tubolito was good about replacing the tubes, but I asked for gravel bike tubes as replacements and am using them now as spares. Haven't tried these replacement tubes yet. Maybe they'll work better with lower pressure.

The real test is later this year when I ride my gravel bike across USA (3600 miles). Tubes' size and weight count a lot, but reliability is even more important for me. Aerothan tubes are expensive, but if they remain reliable I will use them for the trip.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty Awesome!
rating
by Wheelsucker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Atlantic
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I started using Aerothan tubes a few months ago. While I am not doing roll down tests or otherwise testing to accurately measure rolling resistance, I feel very fast with these tubes and a high performance, low rolling resistance tire. The tubes are easy to install and very strong. I finally managed to develop a slow leak in one, by hitting a pothole so hard it would have pinch flatted any other tube. I just ordered two more...

I am now using these in my light weight climbing road bike wheels, my fast carbon aero wheels, and my winter training wheels... the tubes are very light, very low rolling resistance and very durable, so an optimum choice for each of those uses. I am an ex amateur racer and still doing group rides with younger, fitter, faster racers, so need all the help I can get.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not patchable, so don't bother
rating
by East Bay Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the 700c version on my regular training bike for a few months. The ride quality is nice; perhaps a tad better than latex. Not scientific, but I went about twice as long without a puncture, which could be luck. However, patches aren't available ANYWHERE and those that have tried the Schwalbe patches seem to find they fail. Not worth it compared to good latex or butyl which you get much more life out of for a small weight difference.

Reviewed 3/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far this has worked fabulous.
rating
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN

I put these on my wife's Ruby, because she hates to get flats. So far so good.

Reviewed 7/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not worth the extra money
rating
by Kangaroo62
Mid-Atlantic

I bought 3 of these expensive inner tubes due to their claimed puncture resistance. One still suffered a puncture. One had an air leak at the valve not fixable by tightening. The third has lasted a few weeks ok. No way are they worth it.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
less expensive than tubolito, schwalbe quality
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Tucson AZ
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

If you like super low-maintenance like me, you probably like the idea of fewer flats, and tubeless sounds like a hassle (having to replace slime every once in a while). So to reduce punctures on my daily commute I went with Schwalbe Marathon tires and these more puncture-resistant tubes (and lighter tube weight helps offset the heavier tires a bit...although I was actually impressed that the tires aren't crazy heavy considering their much thicker construction)

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cool tubes
rating
by Jenk
Cycling Enthusiast
G''ville, NC
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered a pair of these for road bike, 700x25 tires. They are lighter than latex and seem to not lose air as fast as latex do overnight or a day or so. Don't have too many miles with them yet, but they seem comparable to latex in ride quality, maybe not quite as supple. They make mounting tires easy with their small profile when just enough air is added to keep them from twisting when you are putting them in between the tire and rim. Can't speak on puncture resistance since I don't have many hours on them, but sos far so good. They are a bit pricey for tubes.

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.