1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Portland Design Works Full Metal 700c Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal 700c Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(16)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(27%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great fenders for my commuter/rain bike
rating
by CycleGeek
Daily Commuter
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've had a couple sets of PDW metal fenders. My last set of 45mm fenders were a little too wide for the crown of my C3 so I went with the 37mm, which fits perfectly. Despite the specs, I'm running 32mm tires and the coverage is just fine. They've replaced the rubber flaps with plastic, which feels a little bit like a downgrade, but the plastic flaps are slightly longer and seem to provide better trailing coverage. I'm not sure how durable they will be, but so far they've been fine. Worst case I will replace with more sturdy flaps - easy enough to do with this design. Another thing that seems to have changed is the finish seems to be somehow more permeable than my previous fenders. Best way to describe it is the previous fenders would wash off really easy and these fenders seem to collect road grime a bit more. Not sure if that due to the paint - these fenders are black versus silver. Other than that, the fenders are super rigid, fairly light, and quiet. All that I'm looking for in a fender.

Reviewed 3/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are great.
rating
by Rick
Portland
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have a Kona Rove ST and have been looking for a nice set of fenders that will accommodate the 700x42mm tires I'm running. Have been regularly impressed with the quality and style of PDW products - no exception here. I did need to get some longer screws and rubber washers as the shape of the stay mounts and my frame eyelets weren't perfectly compatible - not a big deal though. Took my time and got them mounted. Great, rattle free coverage. Bonus to support a two Portland businesses.

Reviewed 2/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PDW Full Metal Fenders are some of the best fenders available
rating
by CycleGeek
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

These fenders are solidly built and look really good. The flaps that come with the fenders are adequate for riding solo but I'd recommend upgrading with a set of their leather flaps if you are regularly doing group rides in the rain. Your mates will appreciate it.

Reviewed 12/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny
rating
by RTPDX
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I rode through a few Portland winters with cheaper fenders (SKS, Planet bike, etc) before I admitted defeat and finally bought a set of these. They RULE. Amazing coverage, solid mounting hardware, no more rattles and, not for nothing, they look good (and clean up nicely). As some other reviewers have mentioned, you might have to get creative with installation on some bikes, but once they are on they are a wet weather game changer. I can't recommend these highly enough.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Design - But They Do Not Include The Mounting Brackets
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellevue, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Unfortunately I have to return them since they no longer include the mounting brackets which were listed on the web site as included. Apparently they made a packaging change. Good news is WBW confirmed the issue and provided a full refund

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality full protection fender
rating
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders, period.
rating
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't live without them.
rating
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Full coverage all-metal fenders from PDW
rating
by Colorado_Commuter
Daily Commuter
Boulder, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new Milwaukee Beltline bike intended for winter and rainy-season commuting. Having a set of full coverage fenders is key to staying clean. Getting wet isn't an issue when riding (or you can use rain gear) but keeping the dirty street water from splashing up on you is essential. The PDW metal fenders look really nice and were somewhat easy to install. The instructions are good, but having never installed fenders before I had to fiddle with them a bit to get them set up right. So far so good in wet weather riding! I have the City fenders (45mm) and am using them with 700c x 35 Schwalbe tires. Perfect coverage. I have no issues with rattling or vibration.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good if they fit
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Reviewed 7/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First a fall then the rain
rating
by justaguy
West of Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I had theses fenders mounted on my GT Grade and my first time out I wore my new cleated shoes but I stopped and couldn't unfasten them as I fell over with the bike on top of me. The rear fender caught me and popped loose from its mount but was undamaged and easily refit into place so that a bruised leg and ego were the only damage I sustained. Last night I took my bike out for a ride in the rain and was pleased that the fenders kept the water off of me and was channelling the spray forward and behind me. Adding the fenders to my bike was a very good move for me as they have already proven themselves to be a quality product, sturdily made, and very effective with wet road surfaces.

Reviewed 1/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sent as a gift, returned/exchanged/store credit for recipient: No Problem!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Donor: VA, donee: WA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Recipient lives in western Washington State, plenty of rain, thought it might contribute to cycling enjoyment. No worries, as easily returned and recipient will use credit as desired.

Reviewed 3/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Nice Product!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I was using a set of Planet Bike fenders which are a decent fender and fairly inexpensive. I purchased the PDW fenders because I thought they would match the look of my custom bike better. The PDW fenders are hands down the nicest fenders I have used and the setup was similar to SKS or Planet Bike fenders. Coverage is just right using the 45mm fenders with my rain bikes 32mm tires. One unexpected side benefit is I have less toe overlap with these fenders, probably due to the flat top profile.

Reviewed 11/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking, good coverage, poor hardware availability.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
pdx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had to buy 3 extra bags of hardware to fit the fenders on my bike. The 60mm crown bolt doesn't go through my carbon fork all the way. The L bracket was too short, I had to buy one made 650b tyres, even-though I'm running 700s and one set of cilindar spacers for the chainstay bridge. You'd think a set of fenders this expensive will have the option to pick up the necessary hardware for free, but nope.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders A+ product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to install, look good and do a great job protecting me from the road grime.

Reviewed 8/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders, excellent quality
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hebo OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good use on the wet Oregon coast.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders. Don't skip, switch to these.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are the best fender I have ever used and they look fantastic as well. I was tired of dealing with rattling and plastic crap. Installation may require shortening the stays, but cutting them is easy.

Reviewed 1/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I can't imagine a better set of fenders.
rating
by martinb
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent and flexible mounting options, solid and quiet, maximum coverage, look great. Be aware though that front coverage is such that wheel off fork founts won't work with these fenders. Not a criticism so much as a compromise required for dry feet.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As good as fenders get
rating
by blfxldr
MN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A bit of creativity is required for the mounting of any fenders. These were about as straight forward as fender mounting gets. Mounted 2 pairs on two different models of the Salsa Vaya, both with disk brakes. Good ridgid feel to these fenders.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great fenders but take over 3 hours to be installed by a professional at a bike shop.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.