FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Keen Mens Commuter 4 Cycling Sandal

KeenMen's Commuter 4 Cycling Sandal(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(54%)
(21%)
(13%)
(8%)
(4%)
Well made, solid quality from Keen
rating
by Gotdemwheels
Daily Commuter

Really like these for commuting in summer heat.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product, style, fit and function.
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased shoes because I live in Arizona and summer riding can be hot and sometimes uncomfortable. These sandals provide cool venting, can be used with or without clips and very comfortable to walk in. Size works for narrow or wide feet.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for summer cycling - and cyclotouring!
rating
by kdavid
Seattle, WA

Went cross country last year with these and a pair of mtn bike shoes - also we did not dress in spandex - wanted to not look like a cycling fanatics. One week into the tour, we shipped our mtn bike shoes back, and did the entire rest of the coast to coast trip wearing only these! Over 4,700 miles in total. Very comfortable, forgiving, and durable. No blisters or hotspots. As a result of this trip, I now take them whenever we go bike camping or touring. No regrets!

Reviewed 6/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Looking Cycling Sandal
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Florida Keys
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Honestly I haven't had a chance to use these as I am not sure what kind of pedal to buy to use them I have tried themon and they fit great and look great. I'll keep you posted once I find the pedal I need to buy to use them with.

Reviewed 1/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit well - not too narrow
rating
by scleme
Cycling Enthusiast
Warsaw, IN
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have normal width feet and do not find these sandals too narrow. They are more narrow than a Newport, but a cycling sandal has to be. I still have (and use) the original commuters - the reason I bought these is that I was afraid Keen would quit making cycling sandals and I really like them so I didn't want to be without.

Reviewed 7/17/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great hybrid, cycle to minor hiking shoe
rating
by DWspinGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like that it goes on easy and it breaths well

Reviewed 10/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Value for summer rides
rating
by Ace
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The Keens are awesome, well designed for warm rides. Yes they are a bit narrow but so are your regular cycling shoes. I like them a bit tight while riding and then I loosen them up and walk around in them for hours. Perfect for warm weather and fun to wear. Give em a chance and you'll love 'em too!

Reviewed 6/2/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Take heed the Keen Commuter 4 is very narrow.
rating
by RJ Garrison
Cycling Enthusiast
Camano Island, Wa.
6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased my first pair of regular Keen sandals about 6 months ago (my wife has worn them for years) and find them so comfortable. I have been wearing the Keen hiking boot for years and love them. So when I saw the Keen Bicycling Sandal I thought I would love them to I talked to everyone that had them on. They all said either they loved them or found them to narrow. I started looking at the reviews on line and almost all of the reviews said that the last few models of the bike sandal were to narrow. I still wanted to try them. I wear a 8.5 Keen normally so I took the advice and went with the 9.0. It fit but was a bit long and narrow in the ball and toe area. I called the Western Bikeworks support line and talked at length with Liam, who buy the way was super friendly and very helpful. We decided on going with a 8.5 to see how they fit. On arrival I found the 8.5's to be so narrow they hurt my feet. They were returned. Liam suggested I use the 9.0's and see how they worked. I have ridden with them (without cleats) and have decided to keep them. I will be putting some shoe stretchers on them to widen the toe area. If you take a regular Keen and a Commuter 4 and put them foot to foot you will see that the bike shoe is at least inch narrower on each side.

Bottom line is I really like the idea of the Keen Commuter but fully believe that Keen needs to address this issue of being to narrow. Until that change, Im not sure I would purchase another pair.

Reviewed 2/11/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect casual footwear
rating
by Larry
San Diego
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased to match up with a new hard tail Mtn bike that is kept in the motorhome. Matched up with Crank Bros half crank pedals you have maximum usability. Jump on for a quick ride to the store or go for a day long ride.

Reviewed 8/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too Narrow!! 3 pairs tried-3 pairs returned.
rating
by Not so wide footed cyclist.
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
10 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I was so excited to see that Keen was making a new Commuter model, as I have dearly loved my older Commuter IIIshands down, they are the best shoe to cycle in when the weather is hot and humid. I wear an 8.5 in the Newport sandal, an 8.5 in the Commuter III (slightly too large, but OK with socks), and an 8.5 in one of the Keen hiking shoe models. Knowing the issues that Keen had with the early models of this shoe - that being they were too narrow for most people - I called customer support at Keen to discuss the width of the IV. I was assured that they were not narrow like the Commuter II, and made on a similar footbed as the Commuter III. GREAT, or so I thought. Because my Commuter IIIs are a bit too big to wear without socks, I ordered a pair of Commuter IV in size 8, but when they arrived, they were entirely too small. Next came a pair of 8.5the length inside was fine, but they were very narrow and tight across the foot. A third pair arrivedthis time a pair of size 9, and the width would work for me, but they are entirely too long for my foot. So here I sit with 3 new pairs of the Keen Commuter IV, and none of them work for me. Good thing Westernbikes has a good return policy! I love the shoes that Keen makes, but the Commuter series is most frustrating in trying to find a good fit, and there are virtually no other options for a cycling sandal. I do like the new sole and the lacing of the Commuter IV (no velcro srtap), and I think that the webbing that was added under the lace will make it more comfortable to wear-if you have narrow feet.

Reviewed 6/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love 'em!
rating
by Tandemcouple2
Cycling Enthusiast
Winnipeg, MB

I have looked at these cycling sandals for years. Decided to buy a pair this year. Followed the on-line advice and bought a pair 12 size bigger than the regular Keen Sandals I wear and they fit perfectly. I work renting bikes two days a week and wear these sandals to cycle to and all day at work. They are great. Just wish Keen hadn't stopped making them as I will need a new pair in 5 years or so.

Reviewed 8/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loving them
rating
by Anonymous
Bullhead city AZ

I love these bike shoes got wide feet poor circulation last bike shoes I got feet kept going numb love the keens I will buy them again as soon as I need another pair plus I live in AZ cool comfy bike shoes perfect

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as good as the commuter 2 that I had to replace.
rating
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Blacksburg, VA

Fit was more like a shoe than a sandal. Blisters formed on both of my heels from rubbing of the back strap.

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cool clip-in pedaling...just what I need in the summer heat!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO

The shoes are fine, but a tad narrow...

Reviewed 7/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product used for long bike tours
rating
by Tom Lais
on my bike in Europe

This is my second pair. I use them on long bike tours that last several months. They are versatile enough to bike and hike in the forest. My feet feel comfortable at 45c and Oc. Ive ridden across Africa Australia New Zealand and now Scandinavia with them. Great shoe.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Narrow
rating
by Double D
Solon

Good sandal but I'd look elsewhere if you have wide feet. Full size larger then my last keen bike sandal, keen needs to get their stuff together.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One month of use- like the sandals- a couple of issues
rating
by CFRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I recently switched my road bike from Look to SPD's. Love having SPD's because they are so much easier to click in. I used Shimano sandals for years and thought I'd try out the Keen's,

They are fairly comfortable- a bit on the heavy side. With the mesh and closed toe they don't breathe as well and are a bit on the warm side. My biggest problem with fit is at the joint behind my little toe- there is a pressure point and it can be irritating. I wear sock with them about half the time which helps a bit. I do like that I can use them for mountain or road.

One observation- I went for a ride the other day and was caught in a thunderstorm and got soaked through. On my next ride 3 days later I was very surprised that they were still damp on the inside. The liner much not drain so well. So from now on I'll store them vertical with the toe side down so they should air dry better.

Overall I'd say try them but make sure you like the fit.

Oh, one other thing- when I installed the SPD's I used a Park torque wrench at the setting Shimano recommends. I actually stripped one of the nutplates in the Keen shoe. Luckily they have two positions per nut per nutplate so I was able to install them. I'd recommend to only use about half the recommended torque.

With the issues above I'll give it 3 stars.

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding service and product.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Mechanicsburg pa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bicycle tour with these and they are so good. Get off the bike and go any where in them. Back on the bike and pedal another 50 miles. Repeat repeat repeat. Great value and well built. KEEN told me they weren't making them anymore so I got a backup pair. Buy two pairs.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around bike shoe.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Corvallis, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second pair of Keen cycling sandals. I like the style of these shoes because they are great in the summer when you don't want to completely wrap your foot. Having a cycling sandal is perfect. In the winter when it is cold and wet these shoes still work great because I wear sealskin socks...my feet stay dry and the shoe dies faster than a conventional shoe. These sandals do seem tighter than my original ones from 6 years ago but I suspect they will stretch out. Also the size was tricky. There was a big difference between the size 10 and 9.5. I usually wear a 10 but they were way too big yet the 9.5 was perfect.

Reviewed 3/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike sandals
rating
by smdtp2
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

MUCH better than earlier versions. Recommend going up half a size. Can use all year round with thick socks and bike shoe covers. Very comfortable and breathable. Best with clipons with some platform. Note that sand and small stones can get in slots in sandal.

Reviewed 6/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page