1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Giro Vanquish MIPS Helmet

GiroVanquish MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(17%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
Comfortable, sleek, and stylish
rating
by Anonymous

I upgraded my helmet after one of my cycling buddies was hit by a car when biking. I�m glad I did. This helmet is surprisingly cool and comfortable. The goggles are a bit too snug to wear glasses under, but otherwise they helmet is excellent.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet, saved my head
rating
by Dana R
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Clarita, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I used this helmet for a couple of months before it met its' demise this week when another cyclist turned 90 degrees in front of me (at half my speed), causing me to crash into them and then headshoulder first into a 6 diameter steel fence pole cemented into the ground at 20 mph. Fortunately for my headneck, it was a glancing blow, but the helmet did its job. In fact, the outside of the helmet looked untouched, save for a couple minor scratches. It wasn't until trying to figure out why the MIPS stuff on the inside was out of alignment, that I noticed some cracks in the foam. Oh yeah, and the helmet works well in the aero dept too compared to my Poc Octal - a noticeable difference in average speeds over a ride (although you don't really notice it while you're riding), especially when wearing a speed suit or skin suit. And, unlike many aero helmets, I can fit my sunglasses in the holes in the front (and it seems to vent well enough too, but it hasn't been over 73 degrees here to test it out in any real heat). Can't go wrong with this helmet.

Reviewed 2/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Two Important First Impressions
rating
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NoPlaceLikeNebraska
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The two are construction & sizing. (Confession I have ridden in it yet, but I felt you should know the following when considering this purchase.) First, the overall quality of construction is impeccable, the engineering is impressive, & the design is gorgeous. If you haven't looked at their site yet, httpwww.giro.comusenvanquish, you should. Second, even with MIPS this helmet seems sized larger than their charts. My mellon is right at 56cm at it's widest with my tailor's tape. Following Giro's size chart, I ordered a medium (55-59cm) and I've got way too much room. Even with my thickest winter cycling cap, still too much space. As it is, I'm awaiting the exchange process from the great folks at WBW to get a small. I'll amend the review with riding comments as able later.

Reviewed 2/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet so good that my partner and her Dad got the same one
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA

I was looking for an Aero helmet for my first full Ironman and this was on my shortlist. I tried it and the size small fit me like a glove. It was not as heavy as I feared and the peripheral vision was good. One thing I also liked that it didn't cover my ears and hence I had good surrounding awareness. No pressure points on head either. The Visor is very clear and good quality, the magnet is good enough (It sticks and comes off easy enough but I wish the magnet was stronger). Overall it feels fast and is well ventilated. I didnt notice much difference in ventilation to my Oakley ARO5 aero road helmet. My partner and her dad liked it and he is very happy with Medium size.

Reviewed 9/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet, Would buy again
rating
by TyG
Competitive Racer

This is my first nice and what i consider expensive helmet. Only problem is I didn't get one sooner. I can very much feel the aerodynamic gain. Great fit, very comfortable. I am a Triathlete and this shines in aero. No question this will be an advantage over an Iron distance race. The comfort gain alone makes it worth it. This does feel like it fits a little big and bulky but the appearance is good.

Reviewed 7/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved my noggin
rating
by Sarah C.
Greenville, SC

Recently had a fairly high speed crash while out on a training ride. My Giro Vanquish helmet did exactly what it was intended to do- it cracked upon impact and saved me from what would have been a catastrophic injury had I not been wearing a helmet. I walked away with a mild concussion and an appreciation for MIPS technology! Just ordered another Vanquish helmet.

Also, the helmet is comfy and well ventilated!

Reviewed 7/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved my butt (my face actually)
rating
by Speedy G
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had it for 18 months. Great aero (I've not windtunnel-tested it personally... :) Super comfy/adjustable. Visor is awesome - its position is great, doesn't touch my nose ever, full eye coverage obviously even when my head is down and eyes are all the way up. Hit a big tree branch and flew off my bike - chin needed stitches, but the rest of my head AND face were totally protected by the helmet and visor. When I ride with slower friends, I put my usual helmet & oakley sunglasses on 'cuz I don't want to show off my aero and speed obsession, but come on...just doesn't compare.

Reviewed 9/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and great visibiltiy
rating
by Scott
Competitive Racer
Arlington, TX
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been impressed with how comfortable this helmet is. For once the chin strap was adjusted perfectly. The vents flow a sufficient amount of air to keep my head cool. The visor works great and is very convenient to flip upside down to stow out of the way, if wanted. The only negative for me has been the air flow that comes in between the upper visor edge and hemet. it tends blow into my eyes and dry them. I'm guessing it was designed that way to help keep the visor from fogging over.

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great lightweight quality helmet
rating
by Tho
Cycling Enthusiast
Me.
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent quality helmet. I was very impressed with the comfort, weight and airflow. The lens gives a clear view of the road ahead and clicks into place with ease in both the viewing position and storage position. One con would be that the peripheral view is slightly restricted with the blackened edge of the lens when turning your head to look back, but certainly not to the point where I would consider it a problem.

I would recommend this helmet.

Reviewed 5/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stylish, aero helmet with good air flow.
rating
by jb
Competitive Racer
usa east coast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

It is fast and very well constructed.

It has one main flaw, it is slightly heavy compared to the Bontrager and Specialized helmet. The aero lens is cool, but I wish you could get clear and yellow or a tint changing version for weather management.

I have the Bontrager too and over ll I like that helmets looks better. This feel far better made....and MIPS is safer.

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
VAnquish for the win
rating
by rickgomez707
Cycling Enthusiast
Yay Area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet. Super comfy... well ventilated, looks swaggy... and the visor, the visor, is the bomb. I hate wearing glasses, as I lose them or break them ALL THE TIME. The magnetic visor sold me on this helmet... and I love it. I also bought a clear visor for night riding. I'm well pleased with this helmet.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
rating
by Joe
Henderson, NV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a Giro Air Attack with the Vanquish. The Vanquish definitely has better cooling and has great visibility too.

Reviewed 8/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best Integrated Aero Helmet of the Market for Road Cycling.
rating
by apino
Competitive Racer
Miami, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Adjustable 100%, Aerodynamics Advantech felt when going over 25 mph, everything flows. Good quality as always with Giro products.

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet, but the label on the lens is a design failure
rating
by CrazyLegs
Competitive Racer
Pittsburgh, Pa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is cool and comfortable and as far as I understand 'aero'. I really liked the idea of the lens feature however it seems to be a bit high and the branding label partially interferes with visibility. I have no idea why they would label it that way..

Reviewed 2/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great helmet
rating
by Anonymous
Toledo Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this helmet in cold and hot-and it really works well. I bought a clear visor to go with the sun visor the helmet comes with-so this helmet works well in any weather. Rain included.

Magnetic visor attachment system works great and also stores the visor on the helmet when you are at a rest area . Bonus is that the helmet looks good !

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
rating
by Anonymous

Great fix , aero

Reviewed 4/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
rating
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fix , aero

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet at a good price.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA

Bought this for long road rides and Triathlons. Great ventilation and the visor does not distort your vision. Minimal wind noise - I can hear tones and alerts from my Garmin Edge when wearing this helmet that I cant hear with other helmets.

Reviewed 7/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the fit and feel of the helmet. I haven't tried the visor yet, but the fact that it's magnetic is really convenient.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Vanquish is a very good aero helmet
rating
by TLC cyclist
Competitive Racer
Austin, TX
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Vanquish for Time Trial practice, road races, and training. I am able to wear my prescription glasses inside the visor.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.