1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
Continental Race King Performance 29 Inch MTB Tire

ContinentalRace King Performance 29 Inch MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(45%)
(55%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Leigh

Continental Race King tire
rating
by Leigh
wisconsin

3rd set of these tires and they are still unbeatable in hard pack to sand to light mud conditions. They always feel solid underneath the bike and have plenty of traction. Rolling on pavement or hard pack is exceptional. Very quiet compared to normal MTB knobs.

Reviewed 8/24/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast Rolling Tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Chose these tires for several extended bikepacking trips on varied surfaces. They have met all expectations, rolling smooth and quiet on paved roads, holding traction on gravel turns and providing plenty of traction on single track. Some wear after about 1000 miles, but still lots of life.

Reviewed 7/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Indy

Heavier Than Specified
rating
by Indy
Cycling Enthusiast
Coal Valley
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these for a set of training tires. They are specified by Continental to weigh in at 660 grams per tire. Both of mine weigh 770 grams a piece. They set up tubeless fine, and will work, but that is quite a bit of extra weight to push around. I also bought the 'Protection' series for my next race, and those weigh in at the specified 605 grams. I'm not sure how Continental missed this weight issue. I wrote Western Bike Works and they confirmed the 770 grams for the 'Performance' series tires. Bottom line These will be fine for training, but I wouldn't use them on race day.

Reviewed 1/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Love these on my gravel bike
rating
by Anonymous
Southeast Michigan

With my road riding events done for the year I wanted wider tires to better handle dirt and gravel roads.

These fit on my Giant Revolt Advanced with room for fenders.

That provides great grip and confidence when the packed dirt turns to large loose gravel or light mud.

It makes the bike fun on some of the easier and smoother MTB trails in our area.

I am not sure how much of a speed penalty I am paying on pavement, but they feel pretty good on pavement also.

This time of year, I am not looking for speed. I am looking to enjoy the weather and have some outdoor adventures.

Reviewed 11/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob

Good light weight tire for gravelly, hardpack stuff. On a rigid MTB.
rating
by Rob
Competitive Racer
Pacific NW

Nice light and fast tire for a rigid MTB. On sale. Best tire based on $$$/weight ratio.

Reviewed 12/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by R Bedard

Love these tires
rating
by R Bedard
Santa Cruz CA

Replaced the Maxxis 2.2" tires that came on my Santa Cruz Chameleon with these (2.0") Contis, it transformed the bike. I mostly ride xc. These tires (with tubes) weigh less than the Maxxis tubeless setup the bike came with. They roll unbelievably better at the same inflation. (I also run these tires in a 26x2.2 on my '97 Santa Cruz Heckler.) These are ideal Summer tires for around here. Love them.

Reviewed 5/12/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Vintage Steel

Great tires for gravel riding.
rating
by Vintage Steel
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Race Kings on a Trek Superfly for mostly gravel riding. The tires are great for gravel work - not sure how they would hold up on a cross country MTB trail. I'm on my second set & no problems with the tires at all - no flats & plenty of miles ridden before they show any appreciable wear.

Reviewed 6/14/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent XC or Gravel Tire
rating
by Anonymous

Excellent XC tire and gravel use. Holds corners well in loose conditions, fast rolling, and stable on every surface I've ridden.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

WinterTrail tires for Hybrid
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Swapped these onto a Trek DS for snow and trail riding. Great grip aired down a few PSI. Exceeds bike manufacturer width allowed but works perfectly. Great in the snow and mud.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

replaced one that stretched on one sidewall, hopefully no repeat
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York City

Sidewall on my last one stretched on a small drop, but it's a good price and nice profile

Reviewed 3/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tires for my easy riding style
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Macon, GA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride some basic local single track trails & dirt access roads. These tires are exactly what I needed to replace the road friendly tires on my dual sport. I now have adequate traction to climb hills without spinning the tires. If I don't have adequate traction, I probably need to dismount the bike anyway.

Reviewed 3/18/2019
Thank you for your feedback.