FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(587 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(476)
(70)
(14)
(9)
(18)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Outstanding tire
rating
by Dave Christ
Phoenix Az
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Continental Grand Prix 4000 tires on all my bikes since they were first released and I did not think a better road tire could be produced. When I saw that the Grand Prix 5000 was being released, I ordered a pair the same day. The new tire is incredible and has lived up the the claims of faster, more comfortable, and more grip. I am impressed with the improvements.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved over 4000, smooth, fast ride & good puncture resistance.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Took another chance after giving up on earlier Grand Prix versions due to way too many flats, blow outs, etc. Tried these and they are great!

Reviewed 7/16/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Rplling Tire, Nice Aero Shape and Solid Flat Protection
rating
by Tom S.
Boston

The 5000 is the replacement for my go to 4000 SII. Improved rolling resistance, puncture resistance and grip makes this my new go to tire. It has the nice aero shape of the 4000 and rides just as nice. Highly recommend the 5000.

Reviewed 6/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent grip in the wet
rating
by Dane
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After a week of riding this tire-and getting caught in the rain-I have to say I am very impressed. Not sure how Continental managed to improve on the 4000, which I've been a fan of for years, but these tires have noticeably more grip than other tires I've tried. Even while descending in the rain I was able to rail the corners with confidence. They also felt a bit faster on dry flats roads as well, but that's a subjective. I can't speak on durability or flat protection yet, but as an improved version of the 4000, I don't think either of those will be an issue.

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best
rating
by Gene Kriegsmann
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using GP4000 tires since their introduction, for a total of somewhere in excess of 25000 miles. They are tough, light, and terrific at cornering in all road conditions. I generally get about 3000 miles out of a set of these tires before the wear dimples disappear. This riding over largely chipseal roads. The only problem with these tires has been pointed out by a few reviewers, has to do with the sidewalls being somewhat fragile. I have only had to throw away one tire due to a sidewall puncture. It was upsetting due to it being a brand new tire, but I doubt that any tire would have survived that particular road hazard. I consider these to be about the toughest tire out there. I will continue to use them as long as they are available.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brand new & put to the test!
rating
by uXpected62
Competitive Racer
Flower Mound, TX
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just purchased these in April - 2nd set on my Trek Emonda SL6 w Aeolus 5s - I purchased the reflective tires this round - they are awesome at making you even more visible & my first ride out, I picked up a carpenter's finishing staple. No tube puncture or anything! I highly recommend these. I'll probably upgrade to the 5000s on the next round.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires, great price
rating
by GR Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I like the 4000 S II 700C tires well enough that they're the only ones I buy. I bought two on sale at half price to keep in reserve for when the others wear out-eventually. The price was too good to pass up on tires I prefer.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around, high mileage tire
rating
by William
CAMAS
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Great tire for the money. I rode these tires hard for 1500 miles. Great performance and minimal flats. But once they're done, they're done. Just pulled the rear tire off this week as I had a slow leak in the tire. It was time to replace.

Reviewed 6/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Fremont, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Conti 4000S II as my go-to tire for years. It offers both durabilty and speed. The tires were also at a good price at Western Bike Works

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to get on and handled really well in the rain

Reviewed 5/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
rating
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. It's a fast tire and they feel stable when I'm screaming down a descent. I've tried other tires that are more puncture resistance but I find that the Conti 4000S tires are faster. I ride in the SF Bay Area where the roads (and bike lanes) are in terrible condition with a lot of debris. I've had a run of bad luck lately with this tire though. In the past 2 months, I experienced 12 flats, mostly from broken glass and one flat from a goathead.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
rating
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance- training vs durability
rating
by RoboKrause
Competitive Racer
Manhattan, KS
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire doesn't disappoint. It offers a perfect balance of durability but is still light enough for quick training. It could even be a solid tire for race days.

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
rating
by MC
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

A friend recommended these tires to me and I've loved them. They have tiny marks in them for you to be aware of how much wear they've gone through and know when to replace. Didn't get the reflective kind but I think I will when shopping for new tires. Also rode in rain and they performed GREAT.

Reviewed 3/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grand Prix 4000 s LL.
rating
by tokelly12
Memphis
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This a great tire. Rolls very well. Good training tire or racing tire. Very fast.

Reviewed 2/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A proven favorite!
rating
by chrisvelo
Competitive Racer
Dallas TX
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Well, out comes the GP 5000 for 2019, but I still look to the 400 for proven performance. You can't beat this tire reliability, grip, strength,....it has it all. I'll tell you how it lasts when I reach the 10,000 mile mark!

Reviewed 2/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best tires
rating
by kulioh
Casual Cyclist
san francisco
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding for about 4 years and these are the best tires I have used.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only road tire I use!
rating
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Been using these tires for years. Fast, supple and better then most regarding flats. That reflective stripe is very sharp especially with aero wheels.

Reviewed 1/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a classic
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You can't go wrong with these tires. They're my favorite for both racing and training.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page