1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(966 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(781)
(110)
(25)
(16)
(34)
(81%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(4%)
Reliable, High Performance Tires
rating
by Karen L. Wade
Indianapolis, IN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After trying Michilan's, Vittorio's, Specialized and various Conti road tires, I finally settled on the 4000S (23, 25) years ago as my go-to tire. When Conti came out with the 5000 chili's I tried them (25) and liked them! I typically ride between 3500-8000+ miles per year and that includes commute, pleasure, group, training, touring, and in the past some light racing. I also delivered Jimmy John's in downtown Indianapolis from 2012-2018 part-time on these tires (28 on my SS) as part of my quest to improve my sprinting. I mean, why not get paid to ride your bike, huh?? What I've found across the board is that these tires perform overall superior to any other brand racing/performance/endurance road tire I've ever used in the past. I've found the GP4000 and 5000 to be the perfect combination so far of durable, comfortable and performance qualities. Excellent sticky grip in cornering, reliable handling on dry, wet and even somewhat on snow, equally excellent on dirty city roads as on pristine clean roads, more comfortable on chip&seal and rattlebone roads. I usually get 3000+ miles out of a set, more if I rotate tires every few of months and actively avoid glass if possible, and bad sections of road. Nowadays most of my riding is training for my annual, multiday touring of back to back century days in the saddle, which can always include unplanned surprises in road surfaces, reroutes and detours. (I plan the routes based on where I'd like to ride and Google maps/Map-My-Ride. I do not use a touring service. I like the adventure! And I prefer a carbon road bike (coz, you know, we like to get there without taking the whole day, lol!) a lightweight backpack and a credit card for these tours - 8 under my belt now!) I always put on a new set of tires the day before Bikecation and roll without worry over what unexpected surprises the road throws at us! I find these tires to do very well, rarely flatting until pretty well worn, and getting noticeably table-topped. Only once ever have I had a sidewall blowout, and that was on an aged tire and my own, awkward-moment fault. Again, rotating the tires periodically helps them last longer than if you don't. These tires have proven to be worth the money to me, especially when i can find a great deal on pricing. But I have paid - and will pay - the $70+ normal RV if I need the tires and can't find a deal at the time, with zero regrets. Although now I stock up ahead of time when I find them on sale. And that's my review! Good riding and happy trails to you!

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a tire for every occasion.
rating
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
West Coast of Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am an old guy (74) and have been riding my Road Bike on these tires since they first came out. I ride 150 miles a week on the road here in Florida. The conditions of our roads here is proof we need a sensible infrastructure package. The roads go from really smooth (rare) to almost gravel pretending to be real pavement. Besides that, with the explosion of construction in Florida's fast growing population the bike paths are full of nuts, bolts, nails, and considerable amounts of plastic and glass. It is very difficult to keep from rolling over all that stuff because of the busy traffic at all times of day. All that to say that I seldom have a flat tire riding the 5000's and can say the ride is surprisingly comfortable. I also ride in the rain for a season and feel perfectly safe on the wet roads. I have tried many different tires over the last 25 years and no longer test out any other tires. You won't be disappointed with these tires.

Reviewed 10/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast, reliable, durable training tire.
rating
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I've tried "faster" tires, and they are great for race day or an epic ride, but I find I always end up with multiple flats over time. These Continentals, with standard tubes, last me an entire season of well over a thousand miles. I find them to be a great balance between fast and durable.

Reviewed 10/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental 5000 Road Tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spend equal time in New Jersey and Florida.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I have found the Continental brand the best. I get the best handling and long term use from this brand. They also look good on tire rims. I have bought the 4000 tire over the past few years. Thought Id give the 5000 a try especially since they were on sale.

I have found them to be another excellent tire from a Continental. Dont think you would make a mistake when you give them a try. I have a house in Sarasota FL and another in New Jersey. These tires are excellent on the warm fast flats in Florida. Also on the hilly terrain of central Jersey.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
True to size
rating
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've ridden on Conti's for several years. My last set was a 25mm GP5000. This time I went wider to 28mm. The tire really sticks to the road. If you air down a little with the wider tire the ride quality is great. My rims are 19mm internal and when mounted the tires measure right at 28mm or just a tiny bit over. I weigh around 155 and ride with 70 psi front and 75 psi rear. My only complaint is I've had 2 punctures in 1100 miles. I guess you can always complain about the hassle of punctures that can happen with any tire under all sorts of circumstances...however, I was hoping for a little more resistance to the common thorn or glass. I recommend them for all around riding. The weight is also good for the size and all around type use.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels like the Grand Prix 4000
rating
by Daniel Payne
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The first thing that I noticed was that the two little wear markers in the tread are about one half of the depth on the GP 5000 as compared to the GP 4000, so I'm not quite sure if that means that there is only one half of the tread or not. I cycle 12,000 mile per year for fitness, and don't race because I don't like broken bones and road rash, although I have weekly group rides with racers. I have never actually worn out a rear GP 4000 tire because they always gashed out first from striking rocks or debris. On the front I do wear out a GP 4000. I get about 2,000 miles per tire on the GP 5000.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable and long lasting
rating
by Olivia
SF Bay

Tough and safe tire. Dependable and goes the distance. I trust this tire and use it exclusively on both my road bikes.

Reviewed 10/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding tire
rating
by Dave Christ
Phoenix Az
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Continental Grand Prix 4000 tires on all my bikes since they were first released and I did not think a better road tire could be produced. When I saw that the Grand Prix 5000 was being released, I ordered a pair the same day. The new tire is incredible and has lived up the the claims of faster, more comfortable, and more grip. I am impressed with the improvements.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A faster Continental
rating
by Anonymous

Moved to these tires from the 4000S. These tires seem to be a bit faster (or I am a little fitter). There is an increase in speed with these tires. The black chili rubber is sticky and sticks very well in the corners. I cannot comment on the puncture protection, so far they are holding up well.

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
rating
by Dan
miami florida

Great quality fast tires on open road and light!!

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
In Stock!
rating
by Cam
Fort Collins, CO

This brown-wall version of the Conti 5000 was very hard to find, especially in 28c, but Western had it and at a reasonable price. I like a look that's a bit different fromnall the black-wall.

Reviewed 9/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flat city in the rain
rating
by jml
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I bought the GP 5000 based on the good reviews. Lighter and faster than GP 4000 and rode fine when the weather was nice. Unfortunately, as soon as the weather got rainy up here in Seattle, I got 3 flats in 3 rides. The little rocks stick to the softer rubber in the rain, embed themselves and work through the tire I surmise. I bought some Gatorskins for the winter and will go back to the GP 4000 S in spring. The GP 4000 S did not have flat issues in the rain last winter.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Typical Conti Quality
rating
by Dalen
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah

I ride an average of 150 miles per week. Through the years I've ridden on many tires and brands. The new 5000 is great. First thing I noticed is the more "true to size". My 25mm 4000's always measured around 28-29 after mounted...which is fine with me actually. My rims have a 19mm internal measurement. The 5000 in size 25mm with the same rims now measures about 26mm. These tires are super smooth and stick fantastic on the fast descents which is confidence inspiring. There's probably never been an absolute perfect tire but this Conti comes close to the mark. I use it for just normal everyday riding. I don't race. However, I'm competitive and push myself on most rides. My last pair of Conti, the 4000, lasted just under 3,000 miles and I only flatted once from the notorious goat thorn. With the Conti's I always switch them out way before the wear indicators are gone. If you can get a set on sale I would say there's great value for your steed.

Reviewed 10/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix - my go to tire
rating
by John
Daily Commuter
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Conti GrandPrix for years. Starting with GrandPrix 4000 and now 5000. I'll put around 4k to 5k miles on a year; all on Continental Grand Prix tires. Tire wear is very good; handling excellent. Two good notes about WesternBikeWorks; they matched a competitors with no issue plus they did a return on tires when I mistakenly bought the wrong sized tires on one order. WBW returned the tires with no hassle and shipped me the size I should have ordered. These 2 things sold me on this bike store!

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Still Can't Figure Out Side Wall Strength
rating
by Jetdiesel
Competitive Racer
Spokane
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I road ride 5-7K miles a year, 6ft 205#. I've ridden Michelins, Vredesteins, Continentals, etc. I have a history with Continentals of side wall gashes, and have sworn them off numerous times. I had heard good things about the GP 5000's so thought I'd given them another look. These GP5000's are supple and hold the road well, especially on high speed descents. Fairly good at flat resistance too. Ultimately, I got 2700 miles out of the rear tire before tread wear was evident and ultimately the tire failed on a side wall nick on pavement, by just clipping a rock on the road shoulder. Ironically I was going to retire the tire at the end of the ride in question. The front failed with a side wall gash, also on pavement at 2100 miles. While I like the tire & I got reasonably good mileage out of the rear in particular. The fact that side wall gashes ended both tires lives, leaves me looking for alternatives. I have never, that I can recall, ever gotten a side wall gash that ruined any other tire, except Continentals.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite
rating
by GDS PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really believe that tires are one of the most important components on your bike. Tires impact comfort, performance and safety. I probably replace tires much sooner than most people, because nothing feels as great as new rubber! This means that I have experimented with about a dozen tires so far, including vittoria, panaracer, specialized, and several from continental. Nothing beats a gatorskin for a super durable, yet relatively light and fast rolling all-purpose recreation and commute tire. Until recently, the venerable Grand Prix 4-seasons was my year-around training tire and I still use them for winter training when roads are dirtier and punctures are more inconvenient. But the 5000 is my new 3-season training/performance tire. They have great rolling resistance, excellent grip (especially on dry pavement, but also on wet) and are have a soft flexible tire bed to smooth the road and conform to its surface. I was surprised to see that they are actually not much lighter (about 10 grams) than the 4-seasons, but they faster and overall better. I have to say, their claims to offer more puncture resistance than a 4-seasons (I've even seen comparisons to a gatorskin!) have not borne out for me. But they are much more puncture resistant than other performance tires such as the 4000s. So I continue to keep a set of 4-seasons for November-March, but the rest of the year the 5000 is my new favorite.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic road tire
rating
by West Sider Rider
Los Angeles

I've been a fan of Conti road tires for years and these are the best clincher road tires yet. They're not the most puncture proof but I rarely have problems even with the debris strewn roads of west Los Angeles. Their suppleness is excellent and they're reasonably durable.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires
rating
by TX Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Texas

The Conti GP 5000 are my tires for racing and everyday riding. I have ridden on Conti GP 4000 tires for a number of years and really liked them, but the 5000's are even better. I find they grip the road really well in corners and all conditions. They are also faster (less rolling resistance) - so if you are looking for a little more speed try them out.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire is a great tire. I've been using Continentals for years and have put thousands of miles on them.
rating
by Tobster
Cycling Enthusiast
Deerfield Beach, FL

Road cycling in south FL with ride lengths of 30 - 70 miles is typical for me now. Continental tires are smooth-rolling, dependable, and have a good grip on the road. I know what to expect out of them and it's the tire I look for when reordering.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best for winter riding
rating
by Monica
ne Pdx

Just completed a 50 mile ride out to Corbett yesterday from Northeast Portland and hit a lot of glass but not a single flat because these tires are fantastic and not prone to flats.

I put at least 5000 miles a year on my bike and I've got a whole year with these tires and only one flat

Reviewed 3/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.