1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1014 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(822)
(115)
(27)
(16)
(34)
(81%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)
Excellent quality and great price!
rating
by aobiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

These are super high quality bike tires for the price. I was starting to feel like my brakes weren't working great and realized my tires were in dire need of replacement. They were twice the price at my local bike shop, so I ordered online at Western Bike Works and they came fast and were easy to install myself. So happy with the improved traction!

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable, High Performance Tires
rating
by Karen L. Wade
Indianapolis, IN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After trying Michilan's, Vittorio's, Specialized and various Conti road tires, I finally settled on the 4000S (23, 25) years ago as my go-to tire. When Conti came out with the 5000 chili's I tried them (25) and liked them! I typically ride between 3500-8000+ miles per year and that includes commute, pleasure, group, training, touring, and in the past some light racing. I also delivered Jimmy John's in downtown Indianapolis from 2012-2018 part-time on these tires (28 on my SS) as part of my quest to improve my sprinting. I mean, why not get paid to ride your bike, huh?? What I've found across the board is that these tires perform overall superior to any other brand racing/performance/endurance road tire I've ever used in the past. I've found the GP4000 and 5000 to be the perfect combination so far of durable, comfortable and performance qualities. Excellent sticky grip in cornering, reliable handling on dry, wet and even somewhat on snow, equally excellent on dirty city roads as on pristine clean roads, more comfortable on chip&seal and rattlebone roads. I usually get 3000+ miles out of a set, more if I rotate tires every few of months and actively avoid glass if possible, and bad sections of road. Nowadays most of my riding is training for my annual, multiday touring of back to back century days in the saddle, which can always include unplanned surprises in road surfaces, reroutes and detours. (I plan the routes based on where I'd like to ride and Google maps/Map-My-Ride. I do not use a touring service. I like the adventure! And I prefer a carbon road bike (coz, you know, we like to get there without taking the whole day, lol!) a lightweight backpack and a credit card for these tours - 8 under my belt now!) I always put on a new set of tires the day before Bikecation and roll without worry over what unexpected surprises the road throws at us! I find these tires to do very well, rarely flatting until pretty well worn, and getting noticeably table-topped. Only once ever have I had a sidewall blowout, and that was on an aged tire and my own, awkward-moment fault. Again, rotating the tires periodically helps them last longer than if you don't. These tires have proven to be worth the money to me, especially when i can find a great deal on pricing. But I have paid - and will pay - the $70+ normal RV if I need the tires and can't find a deal at the time, with zero regrets. Although now I stock up ahead of time when I find them on sale. And that's my review! Good riding and happy trails to you!

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific tires
rating
by Sean V
Cycling Enthusiast
LA, CA

I bought these to replace my aging tires specifically for a century in San Antonio with all the crappy Texas chip seal you can imagine and they held up great (no flats!). I bought 28mm and haven't tried putting calipers on them but my guess is they're narrow. I was able to mount them with my bare hands too, which is always a plus. Great tires, would buy again.

Reviewed 4/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good tire for price, great tire when can buy on sale
rating
by Anonymous
Raleigh, nc

My experiences with the GP5000 tire has been very good. A bit pricey, and I can only get 1200-1500 miles on a set; but experience on road has been a good performer. I plan to continue I need to use this tire on my road bike

Reviewed 4/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental 5000 Road Tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spend equal time in New Jersey and Florida.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I have found the Continental brand the best. I get the best handling and long term use from this brand. They also look good on tire rims. I have bought the 4000 tire over the past few years. Thought Id give the 5000 a try especially since they were on sale.

I have found them to be another excellent tire from a Continental. Dont think you would make a mistake when you give them a try. I have a house in Sarasota FL and another in New Jersey. These tires are excellent on the warm fast flats in Florida. Also on the hilly terrain of central Jersey.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a tire for every occasion.
rating
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
West Coast of Florida
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am an old guy (74) and have been riding my Road Bike on these tires since they first came out. I ride 150 miles a week on the road here in Florida. The conditions of our roads here is proof we need a sensible infrastructure package. The roads go from really smooth (rare) to almost gravel pretending to be real pavement. Besides that, with the explosion of construction in Florida's fast growing population the bike paths are full of nuts, bolts, nails, and considerable amounts of plastic and glass. It is very difficult to keep from rolling over all that stuff because of the busy traffic at all times of day. All that to say that I seldom have a flat tire riding the 5000's and can say the ride is surprisingly comfortable. I also ride in the rain for a season and feel perfectly safe on the wet roads. I have tried many different tires over the last 25 years and no longer test out any other tires. You won't be disappointed with these tires.

Reviewed 10/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Robust.
rating
by Anonymous

I have done miles up on miles with minimal puncture.

Reviewed 3/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast, reliable, durable training tire.
rating
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I've tried "faster" tires, and they are great for race day or an epic ride, but I find I always end up with multiple flats over time. These Continentals, with standard tubes, last me an entire season of well over a thousand miles. I find them to be a great balance between fast and durable.

Reviewed 10/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels like the Grand Prix 4000
rating
by Daniel Payne
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The first thing that I noticed was that the two little wear markers in the tread are about one half of the depth on the GP 5000 as compared to the GP 4000, so I'm not quite sure if that means that there is only one half of the tread or not. I cycle 12,000 mile per year for fitness, and don't race because I don't like broken bones and road rash, although I have weekly group rides with racers. I have never actually worn out a rear GP 4000 tire because they always gashed out first from striking rocks or debris. On the front I do wear out a GP 4000. I get about 2,000 miles per tire on the GP 5000.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding tire
rating
by Dave Christ
Phoenix Az
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Continental Grand Prix 4000 tires on all my bikes since they were first released and I did not think a better road tire could be produced. When I saw that the Grand Prix 5000 was being released, I ordered a pair the same day. The new tire is incredible and has lived up the the claims of faster, more comfortable, and more grip. I am impressed with the improvements.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
True to size
rating
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've ridden on Conti's for several years. My last set was a 25mm GP5000. This time I went wider to 28mm. The tire really sticks to the road. If you air down a little with the wider tire the ride quality is great. My rims are 19mm internal and when mounted the tires measure right at 28mm or just a tiny bit over. I weigh around 155 and ride with 70 psi front and 75 psi rear. My only complaint is I've had 2 punctures in 1100 miles. I guess you can always complain about the hassle of punctures that can happen with any tire under all sorts of circumstances...however, I was hoping for a little more resistance to the common thorn or glass. I recommend them for all around riding. The weight is also good for the size and all around type use.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceptional Tire
rating
by JB
Cycling Enthusiast
Sparks NV

Although expensive, this is an exceptionally good tire. While I liked the Continental 4000 for its light weight and good handling, I experienced problems with having sidewall cuts. The 5000 seems to have solved this problem and it is now far more reliable. Fast, light, exceptional handling and good wear characteristics, it is my tire of choice.

Reviewed 1/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flat city in the rain
rating
by jml
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I bought the GP 5000 based on the good reviews. Lighter and faster than GP 4000 and rode fine when the weather was nice. Unfortunately, as soon as the weather got rainy up here in Seattle, I got 3 flats in 3 rides. The little rocks stick to the softer rubber in the rain, embed themselves and work through the tire I surmise. I bought some Gatorskins for the winter and will go back to the GP 4000 S in spring. The GP 4000 S did not have flat issues in the rain last winter.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Typical Conti Quality
rating
by Dalen
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah

I ride an average of 150 miles per week. Through the years I've ridden on many tires and brands. The new 5000 is great. First thing I noticed is the more "true to size". My 25mm 4000's always measured around 28-29 after mounted...which is fine with me actually. My rims have a 19mm internal measurement. The 5000 in size 25mm with the same rims now measures about 26mm. These tires are super smooth and stick fantastic on the fast descents which is confidence inspiring. There's probably never been an absolute perfect tire but this Conti comes close to the mark. I use it for just normal everyday riding. I don't race. However, I'm competitive and push myself on most rides. My last pair of Conti, the 4000, lasted just under 3,000 miles and I only flatted once from the notorious goat thorn. With the Conti's I always switch them out way before the wear indicators are gone. If you can get a set on sale I would say there's great value for your steed.

Reviewed 10/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix - my go to tire
rating
by John
Daily Commuter
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Conti GrandPrix for years. Starting with GrandPrix 4000 and now 5000. I'll put around 4k to 5k miles on a year; all on Continental Grand Prix tires. Tire wear is very good; handling excellent. Two good notes about WesternBikeWorks; they matched a competitors with no issue plus they did a return on tires when I mistakenly bought the wrong sized tires on one order. WBW returned the tires with no hassle and shipped me the size I should have ordered. These 2 things sold me on this bike store!

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Road/Gravel Tire!
rating
by trt501
Fort Worth, TX

These tires are great for both road and gravel riding. They have excellent puncture resistance.

Reviewed 1/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Still Can't Figure Out Side Wall Strength
rating
by Jetdiesel
Competitive Racer
Spokane
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I road ride 5-7K miles a year, 6ft 205#. I've ridden Michelins, Vredesteins, Continentals, etc. I have a history with Continentals of side wall gashes, and have sworn them off numerous times. I had heard good things about the GP 5000's so thought I'd given them another look. These GP5000's are supple and hold the road well, especially on high speed descents. Fairly good at flat resistance too. Ultimately, I got 2700 miles out of the rear tire before tread wear was evident and ultimately the tire failed on a side wall nick on pavement, by just clipping a rock on the road shoulder. Ironically I was going to retire the tire at the end of the ride in question. The front failed with a side wall gash, also on pavement at 2100 miles. While I like the tire & I got reasonably good mileage out of the rear in particular. The fact that side wall gashes ended both tires lives, leaves me looking for alternatives. I have never, that I can recall, ever gotten a side wall gash that ruined any other tire, except Continentals.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite
rating
by GDS PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really believe that tires are one of the most important components on your bike. Tires impact comfort, performance and safety. I probably replace tires much sooner than most people, because nothing feels as great as new rubber! This means that I have experimented with about a dozen tires so far, including vittoria, panaracer, specialized, and several from continental. Nothing beats a gatorskin for a super durable, yet relatively light and fast rolling all-purpose recreation and commute tire. Until recently, the venerable Grand Prix 4-seasons was my year-around training tire and I still use them for winter training when roads are dirtier and punctures are more inconvenient. But the 5000 is my new 3-season training/performance tire. They have great rolling resistance, excellent grip (especially on dry pavement, but also on wet) and are have a soft flexible tire bed to smooth the road and conform to its surface. I was surprised to see that they are actually not much lighter (about 10 grams) than the 4-seasons, but they faster and overall better. I have to say, their claims to offer more puncture resistance than a 4-seasons (I've even seen comparisons to a gatorskin!) have not borne out for me. But they are much more puncture resistant than other performance tires such as the 4000s. So I continue to keep a set of 4-seasons for November-March, but the rest of the year the 5000 is my new favorite.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great grip and durability
rating
by fordgt
Daily Commuter
San Jise

These tires offer great grip but also last for many miles. They are even better than the GP4000 which I rode for years.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My all the time tire.
rating
by LV2RDe
Competitive Racer
Rocky Mountains

Love the Conti GP5000. Ride it in all conditions training and racing. Not 1 single flat last year riding with latex tubes on chip sealed roads.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.