1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Grand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Great winter tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

For this winter, I swapped in GP 5000 AS TR (32mm) for the regular GP 5000 (28mm), using butyl tubes. Grippy in the wet, over firm gravel and small rocks, dropping 5+ PSI. Slightly heavier and a tight fit on HED Ardennes RA so I used levers to install. Fast enough to set PRs. Get the black for the reflective sidewall!

Reviewed 11/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drkerr

Great ride
rating
by drkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've got about 500 miles on these so far and liking them a lot. I ride on a lot of chipseal roads and these tires smooth them out.

I've had the previous version and had over 2500 mile on them before road debris sliced them open. We'll see how many miles I can get out of them.

Reviewed 9/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drkerr

Great ride
rating
by drkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've got about 500 miles on these so far and liking them a lot. I ride on a lot of chipseal roads and these tires smooth them out.

I've had the previous version and had over 2500 mile on them before road debris sliced them open. We'll see how many miles I can get out of them.

Reviewed 9/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob D.

700x35mm version
rating
by Rob D.
Shasta County CA
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Wow! Easy to mount tubless on Reynolds�s ATR carbon wheel set, look very nice and grip is amazing on pavement. Haven�t tried them off pavement yet.

Reviewed 12/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by f32

wheels that glide.
rating
by f32
Cycling Enthusiast
western washington
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Road rides of 50 miles or so are faster smoother and flat free.

Reviewed 12/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Major improvement going tubeless
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, Ca

Been a frequent flyer on Conti 4 seasons on my tube tire bikes. The 5K ASTR appears to be the tubeless predecessor to that model (got a squishy confirmation of that from the Continental tent at the Sea Otter in April). Without getting all tangled up in the benefits of tubeless I must say that the ASTR performs perfectly to my expectations, have run my first set 2,500 miles now without one incident. The rear is getting to the bottom of the indicators but the performance and reliability are still 100%. Awesome tires.

Reviewed 6/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin

Simply awesome
rating
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay area, CA

Continental Grand Prix 5000 AS TR 35mm is simply the best road tires I've ever owned. It is supple, has relatively low rolling resistance that is measurable, hugs the roads like a baby hugging his mother on corners, and so far no puncture. My bike immediately became more agile after tire change. I set it up tubeless with Stan's Original. Tires pumped to 52/55 psi front/rear respectively, and hold pressure no worse than other tires I'd used. Road surface ridden is all dry, and varies from very smooth to very rough, mostly average condition. Terrain is primarily hilly to very hilly.

I've ridden ~300 miles on these tires so far, so this is an early-use review. Durability and long term puncture resistance are still unknown. Drawback? Price, even when bought discounted.

Reviewed 6/3/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GEF

Durable and kush
rating
by GEF
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have put about 1000 mi on these on mostly tarmac, with fair amount of rough roads and some splintery wood plank bridges. Running tubeless and can compare to tubeless Conti GP5000 S (32) and Conti GP5000 (28), on which I put 1000�s of mi in similar conditions. These are all fabulous smooth running tires on which I had only 1 flat � sidewall cut on the 5000 S. One major difference between the AS and those other 5000�s: They would all get minor cuts that would seep sealant at very low rates � not a problem at all, but occurred consistently. This has not happened at all on the AS�s, apparently due to the greater reinforcement (ply�s). Because of that reinforcement, the AS�s are not as kush as the S�s, until you run them at 2-3 psi less pressure, which works for me. So these are great tires: smooth, durable, and noticeably a bit more sticky than the other 5000�s.

Reviewed 5/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

So far, these tires have lived up to the hype. I ride in a metro area and you learn very quickly if a tire punctures easily. These do not. They are not affected by glass and small debris like true race tires are. Puncture protection is very good.

The tread is thick. Obviously. Very comparable to Pirelli P Zero Race.

For me, it�s perfect. Won�t puncture easily and is still as fast as anything else.

Because the tire is so thick, it doesn�t have that �supple� feeling like a Corsa Pro. However, I ride on crap roads and chip seal. So I actually prefer a thicker tread that dampens the chatter.

Reviewed 4/29/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel_CA

Amazing tires! Comfortable on long rides and confidence inspiring
rating
by Joel_CA
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal

I managed to install a pair 700cx35 on my 2022 Specialized Roubaix Comp and it turned into a super comfortable endurance bike.. even more comfortable than it already was. At 215 lbs, i was able to run the rear tires at 58psi and front at 55psi and they absolutely soaked up the small bumps and ruts i would ride over. Did not feel any penalty in the speed department as i regularly approach even beat my PR's from previously ridden routes. Very happy! I will look into buying the cream walled version next time to add some style points.

Reviewed 4/8/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tires deliver as promised
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Great all around race tire that definitely feels like a GP 5000- and I don't fear keeping mounted for all rides since they are also durable. Roll awesome at 60-65 PSI.

Reviewed 6/4/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tubeless finds its bike
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, Ca

2023 TREK Emonda SL7 came on tubeless ready carbon rims but had tubes and non-tubeless rated tires. Switched it early to Conti 4 Seasons (25mm) with tubes and 85psi. After 3K miles did the tubeless upgrade with TREK rim strips and Conti 5K ASTR. ASTR seemed to be the closest tubeless compatible product to the 4Seasons I have used for years. 28mm tires with 70 psi (I�m a 200 lb pretender) improved the bike dramatically. Slightly faster, noticeably smoother but mostly the previously chatter prone frame became silent on all but the biggest hits. Have another 2K with the tubeless and am very near the wear indicators on the rear. Maybe a little disappointed in wear rate at this price point but will continue to support this product. My conclusion is that the bike should have shipped with tubeless and without experiencing other brands/models the ASTR is perfect.

Reviewed 4/4/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kthuber

Excellent Tubeless Tires
rating
by kthuber
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA

These tires were easy to set up on my wheels. They feel very nice on the road- smooth rolling, grippy in corners, and do well in the wet. I have only ridden them for about 800 miles, but I have been impressed with the durability. I live in the Los Angeles area, so we have a lot of glass and debris on the road. These tires have resisted getting cuts much better than all the tires I've used in the past. I have not had any flats.

Reviewed 5/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rough road rider

Disappointed it wore so fast
rating
by Rough road rider
NorCal

At 1200 miles the rear 32c tire developed a slow leak. A month later it stopped holding air. Wear dots were down to nothing, I�m a heavier rider but that seemed a little early as I usually get 1600-2000 miles on the tube GP5000, the earlier 5000 TL, S-Works RapidAir, and Vittoria N.EXT. Disappointed it wore down so soon. Road feel ok, the 32c smooths out rough pavement at 58-64psi. The 28c is a rough ride.

Reviewed 4/27/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good all purpose spring tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

Long time GP tire consumer. Order a set of these for spring training. Have about 500 plus miles on them so far with no flats. They have performed very well even with all the crud left from winter on the roads.

Reviewed 3/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by lmaisonv

Great Tires
rating
by lmaisonv
Competitive Racer
Pelham Alabama
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These a great tires to be used while doing training out on the roads and also for road races where the surface can be a bit rough. So far no issues at all. Also they installed very well and sealed up with a regular bike pump. Love that.

Reviewed 3/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I WANT TO MARRY THESE TIRES
rating
by Anonymous
Toronto
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

I am almost through a 35-day cross-country tour. 110 miles per day. I swapped to these new, tougher Conti 5000 tubeless after wearing out a set of Schwalbe Pro One tubeless. I have never had any piece of bike tech make as much of a difference to my performance. They are dramatically more comfortable and faster. They also installed easily on my notoriously difficult Zipp 303 hookless rims. I can install myself with arthritic hands, without a tire jack. I love these tires!

Reviewed 8/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OV Dragonman

Tougher Alternative to S TR
rating
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Oro Valley, AZ
10 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I'm trying these as a replacement for the GP 5000 S TR I started with. The S TR only got 3300 mi / 5300 km before being worn out, barely 6 months of riding. The AS version is a much tougher version. I've got only a few hunder miles / km on them, so I've no indication, yet, if they are longer wearing, but I am very pleased with the handling of this tire. Corners like the racing version, grips like the racing version, but the feel is much stiffer. At 10-15 psi less than I used to carry, the bumps are still noticeable. Previously, I used about 70 psi, and I'm now down to 55 - 60 psi.

The stiffness of the ride is due to the increased tread thickness. This is also supposed to provide more puncture resistance, but I'm hoping just to get a full year out of these tires. Using Silca Ultimate Tubeless Sealant, I never noticed if I had any punctures, so the puncture resistance is not an issue for me. Only time, and distance, will tell if this change was worth it.

Reviewed 8/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cowpokey

Go to tires for the roadie
rating
by Cowpokey
Cycling Enthusiast
Harford Co, MD

Good rolling resistance, good puncture protection....Continental Grand Prix tires have been my "go to" for decades, the 5000 AS TR live up to my expectations.

Reviewed 4/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Some pretty thick rubber.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
irvine, ca
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Performs the same as a regular gp5000tr as far as traction/handling in dry weather but slightly heavier and thicker which helps with comfort and durability. It absorbs vibrations slightly better than the regular lighter version. I found that the thicker tire is also less prone to deforming when your rotate tires frequently between rims which helps with easy inflation. Unfortunately I ended up flatting my 28mm about 300 miles in on a massive m8 wood screw. Patched it up but the tire would inflate with a slight hump where the puncture was which pretty much made it useless. Overall it is a great tire that performs just as good as previous models but with added comfort, durability, and reliability but is not invincible. The extra weight is not noticeable. Great for daily use but I wouldn't mind racing on them.

Reviewed 7/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.