CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 20% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(194 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(163)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(15%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Security, Stability, and Speed Guaranteed
rating
by Jake the Beagle
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I rode the length of the Katy Trail across Missouri on a new set of these tires. The surface of that trail is crushed limestone that had been softened by early Spring snow and rain. The hardshell provided tread and sidewall protection. The width provided superior stability. The PSI rating was higher than similar tires so my ride was faster, and the tread pattern was ideal for the trail surface. In addition, the tires were easy to mount, which hasn't always been my experience with hardshells.

I've ridden Gatorskins for over 20 years with no problems, and these are just the thing for an older rider or a long distance tourer who wants stability and security without excessive rolling resistance.

Reviewed 5/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing cut and puncture resistance
rating
by Westover Slacker
Competitive Racer
portland, oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like Conti tires, but usually they died a quick death of a thousand cuts in the Portland area. I blame the local basalt rock that is crushed and used for roads, winter, construction, etc. It is very hard, and when crushed usually has very sharp edges. I rode a set of Hardshells all winter over this stuff without a single nick. I've gotten to where with the bike I have these mounted on, I don't pay much attention to small debris short of nails anymore.

The overall ride with these is the same as a regular Gatorskin - a little harsh - with a little more rolling resistance. You can't race them, and if your manhood is at stake on weekend training rides you shouldn't use 'em then either. That said, the only real down I've experienced with them is that for a tire I want to use on a rainy day, they don't grip as well as a more cut-able tire. So no more 40 mph descents on curvy roads in the rain...

Reviewed 5/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The BEST tire I have ever used.
rating
by Gary Mc
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have about 5000 miles on my first set of hardshells. Riding year round in the northwest, you get a lot of glass and road crud that cuts your tires up quite quickly. I was able to get over 2000 miles before a single cut occured, but no flats, even after 5000 miles!

Reviewed 9/4/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Portland's streetsweepers are rare beasts
rating
by Gibsonator
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

But you'd hardly know it with the hardshells. They aren't the fastest-feeling tires I've had on my 32 pound commuting biketank, but the number of times I've not had to stop and repair tubes makes it worth it. If you're looking for fast and snappy feeling, look elsewhere, but these are as close to the perfect higher-pressure commuting tire as I've used in the last few years and I'm happy with them. The one flat I have had (staples!) I didn't notice at first because the 25s keep their shape well and are so sturdy. I'd give them an A- as a commuting tire.

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
2500 miles and no flats
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

26 mile round trip commute over every type of urban surface. Yeah, the feel is a little firm and they might be a little slow- but I'd rather make it home a few seconds slower than be stuck on the side of the road fixing a flat.

Reviewed 3/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One tough tire
rating
by ChazMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Detroit, MI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put these on (700x23) in the spring and have probably 3000 miles on them. Only one cut in the rear tire, no punctures. I ride on mainly smooth pavement with the occasional strewn gravel, glass and usual road debris. The feel a bit more stiff than the Conti GP 4000 I ride on for longer training rides and long event rides. They are probably a touch heavier and and may more rolling resistance, but for day to day training a great choice I will stick with. I figure the added weight and rolling resistance are like resistance training.

Reviewed 11/21/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for training, unpave' and classic racing.
rating
by BattenkillOrBust
Competitive Racer
Winston-Salem, NC
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've used these (25c) for training and racing (including the Tour of the Battenkill) without a single puncture. A bit heavy (can feel it vs. the 23c Gatorskins) on the climbs, but perfect for training and brutal unpave racing.

Reviewed 11/12/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unbeatable tire
rating
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best flat protection I've found
rating
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dare I say... no flats?
rating
by Stacia (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
34 of 34 customers found this review helpful.

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Reviewed 8/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires made so well
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Reviewed 4/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best city commuter tires
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

IMHO the best commuter tires for city riding. Fast, great rolling, wonderful puncture resistance for the weight. 85 miles a week in Brooklyn and Manhattan on these and they're dynomite.

Reviewed 6/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hardshell
rating
by Robert
Nebraska

The best tires high mileage great ride I run them on a wide rim 20mm Id 32c third set

Reviewed 4/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator skins
rating
by Daniel
Capitol Hill
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I always happy to buy these tires. Theyd seem to last me 4000 miles or moe

Reviewed 2/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough but nimble.
rating
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Reviewed 7/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my go to tire.
rating
by dblrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride double centuries and feel these give the best blend of speed, performance and puncture resistance. Other tires may be lighter but over longer distances when you don't want to stop to repair a flat these are by far the best.

Reviewed 12/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The new tires allowed a fast ride
rating
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great reliable tires
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Hartford,Ct
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using gator hardshell since they were introduced to the market.

I am a large rider riding on the road and trails . I always had issues with flats once I switched to these

tires my problems with flats have been reduced.

my average annual mileage is 3000 I usually get seasons.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.
rating
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page