1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Contact Plus 700c Tire

ContinentalContact Plus 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(42 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(10)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(67%)
(24%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Deezomaxima

Good tire so far
rating
by Deezomaxima
Cary, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace the gravel studded tires on my hybrid. I've ridden several hundred miles on the studded tires in the last 2 years and felt it was time to get something with lower rolling resistance.

I do enjoy how quiet these tires are on the road as opposed to the studded tires and they make the bike feel smoother in the road. These tires also run great in hard pack gravel which I do ride on a lot. No traction loss at all but I wouldn't try to push them like a mountain bike tire.

I recommend these tires.

Reviewed 6/21/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Crazyhorse

Top notch
rating
by Crazyhorse
eastern NY state
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had these on my new flatbar road bike for over 45 days and they havent lost any perceptible pressure. That never happens.

White reflective stripe looks good as it breaks up the black rim from the mostly black sidewalk. A nice feature.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bjmainwood

Wow these rock!
rating
by bjmainwood
Daily Commuter
Milwaukee, Wi
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I was using the Continental Touring Plus Reflex but now that I've switch to these they are great. They have a much longer life span. My only minor complaint is they are a little load on the road.

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bernard

like em
rating
by Bernard
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver BC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these off and on for years on my CCX. In my opinion they offer the best ride of all the tires I have used in that price range. They are brutal to get off and pretty hard to put on, I use two dull metal screw drivers. They last me about 5,000 km of mixed use, I ride them down to the cord and I rarely get a flat. Get the bike shop where you buy them to put them on, if you puncture the tube putting them on, you will be leaving a very nasty review here. Otherwise buy your tires at a box store and get a box of patches.

Reviewed 2/4/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good tire, not great rolling resistance stence
rating
by Anonymous
San Diego

This is a very well-made tire. Like many reviewers have noted, it is a little more difficult than most tires to mount. I didn�t have any real problems, but it was very tight and I was worried about pinching the tube. The tire has excellent traction. The only downside is that it�s a softer feeling rubber compound and has noticeably worse rolling resistance than the WTB tires, I was replacing. They have cut down my average speed by about 1 mph.

Reviewed 12/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great commuting tire
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Richmond, VA

I have used these tires for 4 years/thousands of miles, I've only had to replace each tire once in that time. It's rare that I get a flat, the one time I did was just bad luck (rolled directly over an upturned screw). They are tough to replace yourself, but it's worth it. I have rolled over glass, cobblestones, gravel, bounced off curbs, dirt, the biggest potholes known to man, and still this tire endures. And I'm still pretty fast on 28 mm.

Reviewed 10/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

No flats!
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Sure, they're a bit heavy and stiff, but I haven't had a flat since putting them on! (knocks on helmet) They feel very strong and have rolling momentum. The confidence in puncture resistance is paramount here. Solid in rain, over train tracks, light gravel. These replaced my last tires which were catching road debris constantly and the Contact Plus have been great.

Reviewed 2/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid tire no issues
rating
by Anonymous

I have put a couple hundred miles on an ebike. No issues so far. They were not too challenging to put on with the right equipment. Satisfied.

Reviewed 4/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast,grippy,silent and tough tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond Indianaadm1958
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I am recently retired and use the tires daily on an old steel frame TREK that usually has a loaded two wheel trailer attached.The tires are fast on pavement and silent.When I encounter gravel or veer off pavement they stay the coarse!I 10-15 miles daily rides for groceries,to the coffee and occasional touring camping trips. I have complete confidence in the tire. They beaded up nicely and are precisely made.I run them at 100 psi which is beyond the recommended pressure with no problem.When these wear out I will get a size or two wider,I was worried about rolling resistance because of the aggressive looking tread.After using them I can see this won't be a problem! These tires take on pot holes,pavement breaks,dirt,gravel and water eaisaly.

Reviewed 2/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Randy

Very dependable!
rating
by Randy
Colorado

I only got one flat with these tires after having for 2+ years, rode home six miles on the flat, tire still good!

Continental Contact Plus is a great bicycle tire!

Reviewed 3/20/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Craig

I'm the test monkey on this!!!!
rating
by Craig
Daily Commuter
Saint Petersburg Beach, Florida
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Well I have 2 e-bikes one with 5500 miles, the other with 6000 miles. I use 622-47cont.-contact-plus tires, I've had one flat in 11500 miles, some how the nail went in the sidewall. I put a new tube on, then continued on my way (CO2). My opinion is you can't find a better tire than these ANYWHERE. At 5000 miles the rear tire will start balding, but the front will be like new, just swap them, and your good for another 5000. My opinion again is 13000 miles for a pair of these tires is feasible. Best dam tires I've ever had, 63YO-FloridaBoy WestCoast.

Reviewed 8/4/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good tire for the urban commute.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Needed some tires to withstand the punishments of the urban landscape. Let's face it. Most metropolitan

streets leave much to be desired. The most glaring being lack of bicycle infrastructure. With streets in disrepair and lack of safe corridors for bicyclists, it's important to have tires that can hold up to the wear and tear. My commute is on an electric bicycle going 12 miles to and from work, 5 days a week. These tires currently have over 600 miles on them so far and will probably last well over 8000. I've had Continental Contact Plus tires (700 x 38C) previously. They took the hits from cracked asphalt, glass, road debris, etc. without puncturing or having the sidewall fail early. The current set is 700 x 32C. I get a little more speed from the narrower version but still have the inherent tire protection. Another good brand for urban commuting is the Vittoria Randonneur Classic. A real tough tire but real difficult to seat in the rim with conventional tire levers. I would recommend the Kool Stop Tire Jack. Makes installing tight fitting tires a breeze. Definitely consider the Continental Contact Plus for urban. Also holds up well on fire roads but doesn't have the best tread for traction.

Reviewed 2/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Patrick

Great for touring!
rating
by Patrick
East Moline

I love these tires because they are super tough. The reflective band on each side helps me feel safer at night as well. We use them on our touring bikes and never have flats.

Reviewed 6/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arcadian

Great tire, just don't carry wimpy tire tools
rating
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

A tough tire, and excellent tread design for varied surfaces. I would love this tire except it is astonishingly hard to get on and off, even in my shop. I've run a lot of brands, have a good array of quality tire tools, and nothing comes close to the difficulty level of this tire. I dread the though of having to change this tire on the road, especially in cold weather. But otherwise, it's great. If you have lots of experience changing tires and really strong hands, go for it!

Reviewed 11/15/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tomv

Run it at 60psi
rating
by tomv
boston

Great tire. Nice roll resistance ,smooth , and doesn�t need to be at max inflation. Didn�t think i would care but reflective strip is a nice touch. I ride a lot of rough roads and these really absorb the bumps.

Reviewed 6/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by craig

great tires at a great price. can ride with confidence
rating
by craig
Cycling Enthusiast
traverse city, Mich
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

i I have been riding 35 years. I do 13 to 30 plus mile rides twice a week. Sand , gravel to roads.. old tires wearing out, some prematurely, friends recognize continental name an i went with continental tire. a quality product. gives me a confident ride.

Reviewed 10/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pcola_Matt

Excellent Ride!
rating
by Pcola_Matt
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MI
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I researched these tires and decided to replace the stock tires on my Schwinn Kempo with these. Much better ride! Good control and haven't had any issues with punctures. Over 1500 miles on the tires. Liked the performance so much I changed out the stock tires on my Specialized Sirrus with this brand as well. Have over 1600 miles on these tires with no issues. My average speed increased by over 1MPH on each bike after installing theses tires.

Reviewed 8/25/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rocket Dad

First set-initial impressions
rating
by Rocket Dad
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got a pair of these in 37-622 to replace some old 38-622 Bontragers on my wife's townie. Been around long enough to know Continentals tend to run a bit wider than marked, but these were several mm's bigger than the 38's they replaced. Had to adjust the fenders to get rid of some rubbing. The clearance at the chainstay bridge is tighter than I like, but there's enough space that I'm not compelled to swap these tires out for something smaller.

I've had good luck with Conti's and expect these to ride well and last. The improved puncture protection over the old tires will serve my wife's riding style well. Other than the larger than expected width and that they're a bit on the heavy side, these look like they'll get the job done.

Reviewed 10/26/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Artoollious

Second set and loving them.
rating
by Artoollious
Daily Commuter
Knoxville, TN
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased my first set of Continental Contact Plus tires a couple of months ago and they were amazing. I am a commuter and ran over something on my way out. I never saw what it was, but heard it hit my rear rack as it was thrown. It cut across the tread but only went deep enough to puncture the tube. I placed a tube patch on the inside of the tire and changed the tube. I was able to make it to work and home a few trips until the new tires arrived. I am a high milage rider. I hope they will last as well as they take punishment. They also handle well in rain. Just look out for wet metal.

P.S. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because there is always room for improvement.

Reviewed 8/19/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Al

Love this tire!
rating
by Al
Space Coast Central Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great grip with low roll resistance. I switched to the Continental Contact from a comparable Michelin touring tire. I put over 5000 on the Michelin tires and anticipate higher mileage on the Continental tires. The advantage of the Continental is that it has less roll resistance, making it a much faster tire for my rides. My rides are a mixture of paved road surfaces, golf course kart trails and wide community sidewalks. Excellent commute tire that would be equally suitable to gravel and hardpan dirt trails.

Reviewed 5/10/2019
Thank you for your feedback.