Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Short

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Short(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(17%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Quality shorts that are comfortable.
rating
by Pdneuron
Palo Alto, California

I usually buy Castelli shorts because I find their padding to be most comfortable. These are no exception. The fabric also has a nice dimpled texture in the sides. I have used other large Castelli in past (e.g., Vellesissimo) and fit well in that size. I got a large and the thighs are bit tight, but that may be the design. As other reviewers have suggested you should try one size higher than other brands.

Reviewed 1/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality shorts that are comfortable.
rating
by Pdneuron
Palo Alto, California

I usually buy Castelli shorts because I find their padding to be most comfortable. These are no exception. The fabric also has a nice dimpled texture in the sides. I have used other large Castelli in past (e.g., Vellesissimo) and fit well in that size. I got a large and the thighs are bit tight, but that may be the design. As other reviewers have suggested you should try one size higher than other brands.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality shorts that are comfortable.
rating
by Pdneuron
Palo Alto, California

I usually buy Castelli shorts because I find their padding to be most comfortable. These are no exception. The fabric also has a nice dimpled texture in the sides. I have used other large Castelli in past (e.g., Vellesissimo) and fit well in that size. I got a large and the thighs are bit tight, but that may be the design. As other reviewers have suggested you should try one size higher than other brands.

Reviewed 1/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First ride in these 103 miles
rating
by David Z
Sacramento, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these based on reviews and they lived up to the challenge. Ordered one size up large From normally my size(my waist 32-33). Finding shorts that hold up over 6 to 9 hours in the saddle definitely worth the money

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
i like to ride train
rating
by George
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake, Utah

second purchase two pair per purchase

Reviewed 3/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Castelli bike shorts
rating
by Pat
Cycling Enthusiast
Summit, NJ

I think Castelli has about the finest bike clothing on the market. These bike shorts are no exception.

Always purchase a size larger however with the Castelli brand.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts, excellent chamois!
rating
by TallboyRoubaix
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA

Great shorts, very comfortable and appear to be very well made. Ordered one size larger since they run small. Use them for road, gravel and mountain biking.

Reviewed 11/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts, excellent chamois!
rating
by TallboyRoubaix
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA

Great shorts, very comfortable and appear to be very well made. Ordered one size larger since they run small. Use them for road, gravel and mountain biking.

Reviewed 11/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shorts!
rating
by Anonymous
Iowa

These are very good shorts! They do run extremely small. Definitely need to size up regardless of what the sizing chart says.

Reviewed 7/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product, quality construction, great chamois and spendy $$
rating
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Tucson Mike here....

I get the pleasure of riding one of Americas finest mountains for cycling (Mt. Lemmon)

Imagine climbing 6,000+' in 26 miles and then bombing back down from which where you came?

That said, I like to use the finest equipment for my exploits and these Castelli Aero Race Shorts seem to fit the bill. The materials, construction and chamois are top-rate. These are aero shorts and fit like a 2nd skin. Unless you want to visit a urologist, I'd suggest going one size up. I have a 30" waist, weigh 155 and wear a large, (vs. a medium with Pearl Izumi and Garneau). The large is "comfortable" for all-day rides; the medium made me feel uncomfortable after a very short time. The value is "meh"; these babies don't run cheap but "compliment" the array of $13k production/dentist bicycles hitting the market!

Reviewed 2/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Shorts Ever
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Eagle, ID
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Like all Castelli, order one size up. 5'11" 155 lbs I order large.

Can't even believe how much better these shorts are than anything else I've ever worn. Great pad that is not spongy and annoyingly thick. Great fit around legs. No bunching or climbing up your thigh or anything weird. Look great, feel great, durable. I'm sponsored by another brand that I have to wear when racing. I wear these when I'm out on my longest rides. Worth every penny.

I am a huge fan of shorts, on hot days especially. These are so much more comfortable than any bibs I've ever had. On winter rides, these will be under my tights.

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great short, just without the bib straps
rating
by PDXrider
Competitive Racer
Bend, Or
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

If you prefer a regular short over the bib version, this is the most comfortable. Great Chamois, Compressive fit without being too tight. Make sure to order up one size compared to other brands like Pearl Izumi.

Reviewed 3/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best shorts ever
rating
by Anonymous
Nor Cal
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

As usual, best fit and durability. Order one size up though.

Im one of the 1% that greatly prefers shorts to bibs. These are my favorite of 5 different brands I currently use.

Reviewed 3/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Meets the endurance challenge
rating
by rac47
Western States
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My favorite venue has been endurance rides and double centuries.

The convenience of shorts over bibs becomes apparent.

The Costello Aero stay supportive throughout even the longest rides

Reviewed 12/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfort for the long haul
rating
by RAC47
NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Most of what I do is endurance riding, centuries and doubles. I like the convenience of shorts as opposed to bibs and these Castillis provide long ride comfort.

Reviewed 11/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well designed and high quality manufacture and materials.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Very form fitting and runs small - order one size up.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nicest shorts I've ever used
rating
by repp
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've been a Castelli fan for decades and this short is definitely the nicest so far. A tad on the spindy side but well worth it. Per usual Castelli sizing I am 5'9 175 lbs and usually take a size L in most pants but for Castelli I bought size XL and the fit is just right.

Reviewed 7/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The new progetto X2 pad is the plushest of all.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Pricey shorts, worth every penny though when riding for hours on end. The new Progetto X2 pad is the most comfortable pad of any short. It looks and feels like velvet and is of the highest quality.

I liked the older model Progetto X2 pad and the newer model is way more plush.

Reviewed 5/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.