FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Yakima HoldUp Hitch Rack

YakimaHoldUp Hitch Rack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
If you want a hitch rack, this is the one to get
rating
by Roly-poly
Cycling Enthusiast
Northshore, WA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This rack holds the bikes very firm, even with my 25psi mtn bike tires I run. Road bikes are very snug as well. I have always been a fan of roof racks, but with a roof that is pushing 7ft on my SUV, it is not easy to put bikes on it. This holds the bikes very secure, they do not sway, like with toptube restraining designs. The only negative I see is a problem with all rear mounted bike racks... a lot more road grim gets kicked up on the bikes than with a roof rack.

Assembly was a breeze. It took longer to unpack the box and remove the protective wrap than it did to screw it together. While it comes with the tools needed I used my ratchets and 1516 socket for the hitch bolt and 5mm allen socket for screwing the crossarms on, this saves a lot of time.

Piece of advice, Yakima isn't very clear with the instructions, but the 2 bike trays are slightly different. Look at the YAKIMA reflective red stickers to figure out which tray is designed to go against the car and which is meant for outside. Outside tray has YAKIMA sticker on side so it can be seen when folded down. The tray nearest to the car has the YAKIMA sticker on the bottom so it can be seen when the rack is folded up.

Reviewed 1/30/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product, Even Better Store
rating
by Cycling Works
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia

This is a high quality bike rack. Installation was a breeze at 45 minutes. The only reason it took that long was a lock washer snapped when I was torqueing a tray fastener to 17 ft-lbs.

Westernbikeworks is an awesome store. You cant beat their prices, but more importantly, they never make mistakes. Everything is as promised and if they dont have it in stock, there is immediate feed back to let you know, so no additional waiting after you have paid.

They are courteous and professional with all their correspondence. Their price matching program is the best out there and I have never received a damaged product. Faster and easier than shopping at the bike store with no hidden cost or fees.

Reviewed 1/23/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Rack...
rating
by Just a guy riding around, riding around...
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Between my wife and I, we have several different styles of bikes. From race ready road bikes and mountain bikes to Dutch-style city bikes... this rack works with all of them. The connection to the hitch is solid so the rack doesn't jostle around while driving. The ease of use is awesome, too. In a few words... it just works. It's heavy and awkward to move around when putting into the hitch or taking out of it, but I'm a bit weak so it's probably just me. Great rack, get it.

Reviewed 3/30/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Rack and a Good Purchase
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Clara, CA

Used the rack for a few weeks now and am pleased with the purchase. Bikes are stable on the car in the rack (as long as you make sure the bolt is tight) and go on and off easy. It's not what you would call light weight and you have to lift it to install it on the car. It doesn't take a strong-man of course, but its not a feather either. But the whole install takes about 5 minutes so is very quick.

Reviewed 2/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Yay, fits my 9er, out grew the older version of this rack when I went big
rating
by Buzz
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the pull out lock cables for road bike, they are too short for my 9'er.

Love that this fits my larger tires on the new Mtn. bike.

Sorry they switched from the old original steel square tube design, can't plug the extension in from the old rack so have to buy the new style extension to make 4 bike rack.

Also the old design stood up on the floor when in the folded position.

When you take this rack out, and fold the curved receiver piece over, doesn't quite fold over into a nice package. Won't stand up on the floor, takes more space on garage floor because of that.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good bike rack to use with hitch.
rating
by Biker Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, OK
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Yakima hitch rack that I have purchased, the first was for me this one was for my son. It holds bikes securly and when not needed it folds up out of the way. Most of the time I just leave it on my Jeep and only remove it when winter is here and the snow is to deep to ride, 3-4 days here in Oklahoma. It's worth the money I have had mine for 4 years now with no worn out parts or problems.

Reviewed 8/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely sturdy and easy to use bike rack - the best out there!
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Minneapolis, MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This rack is amazing! It is really easy to use and keeps bikes very secure. It fits all types of bikes, so there is no need to buy additional adapters. Since it does not touch the bike frame, there is no concern about putting nice bikes on it either. Bottom line, I love it!

I tried a typical tree style bike rack prior to this and didn't like it because it touched the bike frames and was difficult to get bikes on and off. In addition, it didn't fit some types of bikes without an adapter.

Reviewed 10/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product
rating
by Dr Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Holds my bikes firmly in place, easy to use and looks good on my car. I use it for my 29r and my road bike. Has cable locks included. Pricy but worth it.

Reviewed 8/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This bike rack works great.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans, LA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this bike rack so I wouldn't have to take my front tire off and make transportation quicker. I like all the features, but it would be better if the cable lock was a little longer. The little plastic piece that attaches the secondary retaining pin with a cable to the frame, broke the first day. Other than that and the price, I am happy with the purchase.

Reviewed 9/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I agree.
rating
by BEVO
Cycling Enthusiast
Birmingham
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bike tire direct had the best price on this bike rack.....

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.