1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Vittoria Competition Latex 700c Road Tube

VittoriaCompetition Latex 700c Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(96 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(73)
(13)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(76%)
(14%)
(5%)
(3%)
(2%)
Very Pleased with the tube
rating
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Liberty Lake, WA

I bought these latex tubes after reading many of the reviews of the product. They are what all the reviews say they are. Light, supple and fragile. I got 667 miles out of the front tube before it went flat. On removal of the tube the hole was located at the base of the stem where the two ends of the tube are joined. After spending a few minutes inspecting the hole and the area around the hole, it looked like the tube may have been rubbing either on the rim tape or some irregularity in the wheel, even though I couldn't feel any irregularity that seemed sharp enough to cause the proble. The wheel is a DT Swiss R470db. I used an idea I got from the LBS some years ago and cut out a piece of butyl tube about 2.25 inches by 1 inch. I punched a hole in the piece and slide it over the stem to give that area of the tube a little more protection. Time will tell if this was a good fix or not. The last point about the tubes is Vittoria claims they may decrease the rolling resistance of the tire assemble by as much as 5.5 watts. Again this is something I can't personally verify but assuming it may be true, that works out to about $3.00 per watt of decreased rolling resistance. I think that is a bargain.

Reviewed 9/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Economical way to save watts
rating
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Liberty Lake, WA

Vittoria claims these tubes can save in excess of 5watts per wheel. If that is true and the do feel faster than butyl tubes, then you can get one watt of energy savings for little more than $3 per watt. I can't think of a cheaper price for a watt saved.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect companion for high performance, hight thread count clinchers
rating
by OC Native
Competitive Racer
Santa Ana, CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I switched to the Vittoria Latex road tubes a year ago and could not be happier. I have compared race butyl tubes to the Vitorria latex tubes in Vittoria Open Corsa and Veloflex Corsa Clinchers and in both cases I immediately felt the difference in ride quality and handling. The benefits of the tires quality construction and materials are maximized and noticeable the moment I put the latex tubes in. Most enjoyable thought is the supple ride feel, it's just so satisfying on the flats, downhill, as well as climbing. I have also put these in my Continental 4000 IIs tires which I was not happy with until I replaced the tubes. Compared to the other two tires, the Conti's are stiff and provided a much rougher ride, and I did not feel confident on a quick downhill turn but the switch to the latex tube has greatly improved ride quality as well as my confidence with the tire. Aside from one blowout from a chunk of glass in the center of the Conti, I have not had a flat in about 2000 miles.

Reviewed 4/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Premium performance tube
rating
by OC Vintage
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The Vittoria Latex tube is a performance inner tube, best paired with supple performance clincher. I like the fact that there is no seam. You will need to add air before each ride, but that is a small inconvenience compared to the improved feel and performance achieved with this latex tube.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Noticable ride improvement over Butyl tubes.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Compared to butyl tubes these are lighter, better riding, and have improved puncture resistance. They do tend to leak air faster that butyl, so you need to top-off air each ride.

Reviewed 4/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm a believer!
rating
by mingc
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

It maybe a placebo effect, but compared to the butyl it replaced, these latex tubes make it feel like I have a tail wind. I've maybe 400 miles on them now, on disc brake rims, with no troubles. I used lots of talc.

Reviewed 7/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best $15 upgrade!
rating
by Sean
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tubes! Yes. You can feel the difference. Just a nicer feel than butyl tubes. And they have less rolling resistance. They loose air pressure more quickly, but they are NOT more delicate or more puncture prone than standard butyl tubes.

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tube
rating
by Brad
Olympia
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got the larger size tube (28-32?) to fit my oversize tires and keep the tube from stretching too thin. Make sure the tube is all the way up in the tire before inflation to keep it from wanting to poke out of the tire when inflating to full pressure.

Seems sturdy and rides more comfortably than butyl.

Reviewed 6/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best latex tubes out there
rating
by Numeronada
Newberg, OR

I've used the Michelin, Challenge, and the Vittoria latex tubes and these are the best craftsmanship and quality out of all of them. No imperfections and consistent quality in every tube from Vittoria, the valve stems and valves are great as well.

Reviewed 5/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Problems
rating
by Boston 365
Competitive Racer
Northshore Boston
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In the past, I've had some real problems with latex tubes lasting. I've been using this tube this entire race season. Works so great.

Reviewed 6/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bet for open tubular clinchers
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If you ride top level high thread count tires, latex tubes are the best bet to get the most out our your tire investment. They do lose air more rapidly between rides than butyl tubes but it's a small inconvenience compared to the benefits of a smooth supple ride. The higher price is the only downside but from a performance perspective they are 5 star tubes.

Reviewed 11/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, be careful not to pinch when installing
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tube works well. As with all latex tubes, be careful to not put too much pressure near the valve and make sure the tube isn't pinched when installing.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long lasting
rating
by Mike
maine

Use Vittoria tires and the latex work better for me with mounting, tires go on hard and tubes easier to install properly.

The knock before I switched to latex was they dont hold air pressure over a longer period, check my pressure before every ride and run 110psi....no big deal

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Valve pop when I filled them up
rating
by MV
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are very brittle and soft. For some reason when I pumped them to 70 pst the valve popped. So make sure you are extra careful when filling these.

Reviewed 1/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only tubes I'll use
rating
by Anonymous
PNW

These are the only tubes I'll use for racing and training - with the exception of regular butyl tubes as a spare.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for use on my backup cross wheels. I have found them to be very reliable and lighter than butyl tubes.
rating
by mxcross
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tubes. I use them on my back up wheels when not using my tubulars. Can run at fairly low pressure with no pinch flats with better roll feel than a butyl tube. I would recommend you use baby powder when installing these since I have heard of latex tears over time since the tubes can stick or adhere to the tire rubber if they are not coated in powder.

Reviewed 11/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tube so far
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I use this as my racing clincher tube on carbon clinchers, Have done a few crits and a TT with them, confidence inspiring in the corners. Being latex they do lose air quickly compared to a butyl tire, but as I only race with them , this isn't a problem, just pump up tires before racing.

Reviewed 8/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive but worth it
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Kentucky
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I was skeptical that these tubes would be worth the money but after a few rides I'm sold!! The ride quality of these latex tubes is a definite improvement over cheaper butyl rubber tubes and I have yet to have a flat. They do loose a lot more air pressure overnight than butyl rubber tubes so be sure to inflate before each ride.

Reviewed 7/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Say it with me: Supple. Supple. Supple.
rating
by chainsaddiction29er
Competitive Racer
CO

So I don't review gear much but thought I'd contribute to the geekery of 'tube tech'. So I switched to these latex tubes on both of my road bikes a few years back. I know it's been awhile since I purchased the tubes, but hey.... I like to field test things fully rather than write a review immediately after buying a product like SOOOO many consumers do. Drives me nuts when people do that. I'll admit I was leery of the claims others made about "how sublime latex tubes were". I thought it's a tube, how different can it really be? So I bought several of these 25/28c tubes and used them both on 2 different bikes: 1 frame is carbon, the other is Ti. Tires used were Clement Stradas 28c, and two different Vittoria tires: Corsa and the Rubino, both 25c G+ tires. And what I experienced blew my mind. Supple? Oh yeah! Lower hysteresis? Check! What I didn't expect was decreased flats? Huh? How? I haven't had a flat in over a year and a half, riding the same roads I always have, with thousands of miles ridden. Not one. By lowering the pressures and using wider rims, the tire/tubes are allowed to "flex" over pepples and other irregularities thus preventing flats. AND.....additionally it makes your hands and butt happy. Sounds great huh? Now, what's the bad? Cost, fragility, repairability? Ok, they're more expensive. Initially. But when you factor a likely 4-6 flats minimum/ year, the time spent buying new butyl tubes or repairing butyl tubes, etc, the cost of latex actually becomes more advantageous.. and maybe even cheaper when you consider all of those factors.

Fragile? Yeah, you definitely need to be careful mounting them and ensure the tire is completely in the rims drop-channel and no part of the latex gets pinched..... or BOOM! I talc all my tubes regardless so I'd suggest that as well. When I'm done adding air, I always hold the tubes valve stem while removing the pumps air chuck because the Presta rim hole could potentially start cutting the area around the latex valve. So just learn to be a little more careful handling latex tubes with your monkey hands, and then go ride.

So if you want to decrease the vibrations on all contact points and improve your cycling experience, while even boosting speed a bit, then use these with some higher TPI tires (150-330tpi) and see what you think.

Reviewed 10/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty in Pink
rating
by Vicki0027
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After a full blown fit of rage after my husband decided to ride my bike on completely flat tires which shredded my tubes, I decided to come here looking for the perfect replacement. These look and feel great, installed beautifully and have already gone 200+ miles without any issues.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.