1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Stans NoTubes Dart Tool

Stans NoTubesDart Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(3)
(50%)
(10%)
(0%)
(10%)
(30%)
Weak (no, literally)
rating
by Orange Seal from now on
Oregon
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In a year when people have to ride alone, the failure of this product was a HUGE letdown. First, the (fresh) Stan's sealant in my tire wouldn't seal up (small puncture mid tread on a Panaracer GK - no excuse for that). Then, like other reviewers have experienced, the tip broke off the DART plug. I tried the other side of the tool and, this attempt, the post the tip is attached to snapped. So I took the working plug off the broken side of the tool and switched it to the working side. Got the plug into the tire this time without breaking it but it never sealed up (had to stop every 5-10 mins to add air for 90 mins to get out of the woods). Why didn't I put a tube in? Because I hoped it would seal up (and because I bought this product specifically to avoid the giant mess of putting a tube in a tire full of sealant trail side). I run tubeless on all my bikes (except tubulars for CX) and this under engineered product has cost Stan's a customer for any of their products.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No tire removal required!
rating
by Pedal power
Longview wa

Used this the first week i got it. Worked great easy to use, ready for the next flat!

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great! I highly recommend.
rating
by CycleAcrossAmerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland USA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wow! The Stans Dart Tool worked great for me. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but the dart tool worked so well on my road tire that I had to write this review. I can see where user error could break the tool or the dart. DO NOT insert the dart like you would a bacon strip. While you must twist a bacon strip to plug a puncture, the Stans Dart goes straight in and is pulled straight back up without twisting. My guess is that if you twist the dart during installation you will break the tool or the plug. For best results, position the tire so the puncture is at the top of the tire and the tool is perpendicular to the tire, push the dart straight down into the puncture WITHOUT TWISTING until it can't go any further, then pull it straight back up. The dart releases from the tool and stays in place, sealing the puncture. Works great! I would highly recommend.

Reviewed 5/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised. Seals tight
rating
by jciron
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got this for my road bike that I had just put tubeless on a month before. I got a glass cut right in the middle of my tire. I used the dart tools as had seen online and from a friend. It worked well. However, it did not completely seal right then. But it held well enough I could finish the last 25 miles of my ride. When I got up the next day and it was still leaky I added fresh Stans to my tire and pumped it up and it's sealed solid and I've ridden 150 serious miles with it since. Climbing and Descending. I'm got a replacement tire, but I'm rolling with the dart in place for a while longer.

Reviewed 11/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I had no luck using on road tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was really excited to try this out. Got a pesky small puncture that would not fully seal with Stan's. It would seal for a few miles then start spewing sealant again, so I got out my Dart tool and attempted to insert the plug. Much like some of the other reviewers describe, the plastic shaft the dart sits on snapped off, and the same happened with the other side. That was $25 completely wasted.

Reviewed 7/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great idea, poor design execution
rating
by Zark
Competitive Racer
Midwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got a flat on a gravel tire, small cut that sealant could not seal. Tire puncture was big enough that I could fit a 3 mm allen wrench into it. When I went to insert the dart through the hole, the tip of the dart broke off. Tried the second attached dart, and the same thing happened. The dart tip is made of plastic and it has a grove behind the tip for the fibers to sit in. The inside diameter of the grove is so small, seems less than 1 mm, that it creates a weak point. As you push the dart into the tire puncture, the dart breaks off at the grove, and never has a chance. Bad execution of an otherwise good idea.

Reviewed 6/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only worked 1 out of 8 attempts!
rating
by IW
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Couldn't be more disappointed with this plug kit.

6 tips snapped off upon extraction and therefore the cloth didn't stay in the hole.

Only successfully worked one time. Very costly.

Get a traditional sticky plug kit for tubeless. Seriously, what they charge for this is crazy considering

how cheap and ineffective it is.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great piece of mind
rating
by AlpineEagle
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Luckily I haven't had to put this to use yet, but it's super easy to toss it in my pack or back pocket for a ride. It takes up almost no space and is great to have handy in the event of a larger puncture. I know it will get me out of a bind. I pair this with my other get home tools (spare valves, valve core, quick links, tire boot, velcro wrap, derailleur hanger) to ensure that if something catastrophic happens on the trail, I'll have the best chance possible to ensure I can ride out of wherever I'm located as quickly as possible.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sealed a glass cut that Dynaplug would not seal
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The tire has MucOff sealant in it the plug sealed it just fine with that sealant.

Reviewed 3/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective
rating
by Anonymous

Works perfectly

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.