FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
SRAM Red XG-1090 X-Dome Cassette

SRAMRed XG-1090 X-Dome Cassette(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Weighs little, costs lots
rating
by JBH
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon

The XG-1090 cassettte is a significant upgrade from prior SRAM units, the main difference being that it's very quiet. It's also easy to install due to the one-piece design and shifts with close-to-DuraAce precision.

The only drawback is the a comparable DuraAce unit doesn't weigh much more and costs less.

Reviewed 12/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Silky smooth and wonderfully quiet!
rating
by Anonymous
Washington, DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great upgrade from last years noisy SRAM Red! Really crisp shifting and stealthy quiet!

Reviewed 4/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Addition To Your Drivetrain
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This cassette is pretty amazing. The design and construction is amazing and not only is it very light, but very solid. It added a crispness to the drivetrain. Best of all, since this comes as a single piece cassette so installation and removal is so easy and relatively clean (not like my SRAM-1070 cassette that fell apart into individual cogs as I removed it).

Reviewed 3/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super light, amazing design
rating
by FIRERACER
Cycling Enthusiast
Lewiston, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The machining is amazing, it is very light and quieted down a bit from the old design.

Reviewed 1/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Believe the hype about this newly designed cassette.
rating
by Steve M.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This cassete was the last item I purchased and now my bike has a full Red compnent group. This cassette is so quiet and shifts so smoothly you wonder how you lived without it. I have no regrets purchasing this item and as long as the durability is good, I'll buy it again and again.

Reviewed 12/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
sram cassette
rating
by anderson
Cycling Enthusiast
new york cith

This cassette is a great buy. You will get that in between gear you are looking for.

Reviewed 10/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than the original SRAM Red cassette.
rating
by Rider
Competitive Racer
DC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I finally had to replace my original SRAM Red cassette.

It had a few thousand miles on it and was worn well past it's useful life. In hindsight, I should have replaced it much sooner...

I installed a new SRAM Red XG 1090 X Dome cassette and immediately noticed a big difference.

It was much quieter and the chain seemed to move between gears much quicker.

If it's time for you to replace your older Red cassette, don't be too turned off by the higher price of this cassette. It is well worth the premium.

Reviewed 9/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelent Lite responsiveness
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Tijuana, MX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I had ride a few races with it and the responsiveness and lite weight is impressive

Reviewed 7/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent But Pricey
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This cassette is basically a one-piece, advanced lightweight design that gives you a wow first impression but then the bill comes and you realize you paid at least twice as much as a PG-1070 cassette. They both work the same and sound the same to me. If you're going for a lightweight bike build like a climbing bike, then it shaves grams but the PG-1070 is a way better value.

Reviewed 3/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best cassette if you can afford
rating
by NWBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Tigard, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I costs three times and weighs less than half the next model down for a reason. So the performance is guaranteed the best, shifts buttery smooth and quiet. This cassette is for fanatic cyclist where every gram and second counts. Especially if you happen to own a set of expensive carbon wheels, why go cheap on the cassette? I have this on my carbon racing wheelset and the 1070 on my training set. I gave it 5 for performance and 4 for value.

Reviewed 11/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and quite
rating
by Crash
Competitive Racer
San Diego
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased this to replace my recently built Ultegra Di2 bike's ultegra heavy cassette. I went with SRAM instead of DA because one of my other bikes has 2010 SRAM red. It seems to shift well with the Di2 and it is much more quite then the old power dome. This cost more than the DA cassette and I would not have purchased this if I didn't get a killer deal on it. If you are installing this on a SRAM/Shimano cassette body be sure to torque the lock ring tight or you'll get creaking.

Reviewed 10/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight and great shifting
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
DC
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The XG-1090 is a nice improvement over the previous SRAM Red cassette, which made a annoying pinging sound due in part to its hollow construction. SRAM has eliminated that noise issue and kept the weight on this cassette very low. The shifting is smooth and precise, even during sudden gear changes under load.

Reviewed 7/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing piece of engineering!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use this cassette with my Dura-Ace rear derailleur with no problems.

Super light, super quiet totally worth each cent.

Reviewed 6/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
appears to be better designed than the og1090 and still lightweight
rating
by Mr Raleigh
Cycling Enthusiast
massachusetts
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This model has full shaped teeth on sprockets not like last generation sram red 1090. Also great weight savings over anything out there. Have about 500 miles on it, and it shifts very well.

Reviewed 11/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you want the best, then this is for you!
rating
by r smith
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Product apears way over priced, but when you have a nice racing machine it is hard to put any inferior products on it. I needed the 11-28 for my compact gearing and found the 11-26 was not enough for the long steep hill climbs we have arround San Francisco, so I bit the bullet and replace it. Glad I had some points saved up so it helped cut the pain of shelling out over $300 bills for this beauty. Would not buy anything else. Shifing is perfect, quiet, flawless

Reviewed 10/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New improved design
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange, CA
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

The SRAM RED XG1090 Powerdome cassette is lighter and quieter than previous SRAM Cassette. The Shifting is quicker and precise.

Reviewed 7/10/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.