1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Showers Pass Mens Elite 2.1 Jacket

Showers PassMen's Elite 2.1 Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(83 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(62)
(20)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(75%)
(24%)
(0%)
(1%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Costly but effective
rating
by Wilhelm
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well-constructed with tight stitching, wind-resistant, relatively light and compressible, somewhat tightrestrictive in the chest area, price is only major negative the mark-up must be extraordinary for an item made with cheap Chinese labor!

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent hard shell against tough weather
rating
by Terry
Daily Commuter
MN - MINNESOTA

First time using the jacket was a 37 degree ride in raincorn snow for 68 miles in northern Minnesota. Cold, but survived 6 hours.

Reviewed 6/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Serious cyclist
rating
by Starth15
Cycling Enthusiast
Davison, MI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been cycling since March 2011 as my main transportation. First cycling jacket I purchased was the Netti D4 that was waterproof for a few months and excellent for single digit temperatures. Like I said for a few months it was waterproof and no longer is the insides of the jacket started to fall apart. Jackets Junk.

This Showers Pass Elite 2.1 Jacket I purchased so I have a waterproof upper body cover. From how the inside was designed I'm sure this will last as a true waterproof cycling jacket compared to the Netti D4 that falls apart on the inside. I like how much the wrist area can be velcroed tight or snugged. For the waist the left and right side can be tightened to make the bottom more snugged so less to no air flow throw the bottom of the jacket.

This jacket is much warmer then I imagined it would be which is a plus for when I try it out during winter use.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
quick followup on my review.
rating
by paul
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I did hear back from the folks at SP and they are pretty cool. They also offered to replace the coat if it did not meet my expectations. No questions asked. Nice. As Theo mentions they intended the reflector strips to be quite subdued so when you are off the bike you blend a bit better. Not a fail then. Apologies to them. Now given that personally I'm keeping my coat for the positives and I find the lack of reflective strips to not be a significant issue. YMMV. If you are a duskdawn commuter consider some more lights. Than again you likely are not wearing black so perhaps a non issue. Gotta rate again so I will add a star. Make it two. Fast response and offer to replace deserves credit.

Reviewed 1/23/2013
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Thanks for the update. We're glad to hear that things have worked out and that you had a good experience with Showers Pass. We've found them to be great about warranty issues as well as repairs.

The subdued reflective strips on the black jacket are certainly a plus for some, but we agree that riders who are looking to increase visibility in darker conditions should not rely solely on this jacket for visibility. Red rear lights are great for being seen (and, in Oregon, for example, a legal requirement). One might also consider one of the other colors of the Elite 2.1 Jacket if visibility is a primary requirement.

Thanks
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best jacket I've owned
rating
by Seattle Nate
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been an every-day cycle commuter for the past five years. I commute on my road bike, no fenders, and I live in Seattle so I deal with wet weather a lot. I had a Novara hard shell jacket that I bought at REI, but it had lost all semblance of rainproofiness. Seattle has a lot of hills, and I always seemed to steam up in my jacket on wet days riding up hills. I needed something waterproof and vented. From the reviews I have found online, this seemed the best. So far, so good. I still get a little damp heading uphill from sweat, but that is primary because I ride fast uphill with a backpack. This is much, much better than the rain jackets I have owned in the past.

Reviewed 8/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride in comfort
rating
by Will
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsfield, MA

The jacket accompanied me on a bike ride of the Natchez Trace from Tennessee to Mississippi. We went through some rough storms but through all the rain I stayed dry and comfortable inside. There was great ventilation while peddling. Riders in nylon rain jackets were as wet inside as the rain was outside. The only thing I felt should have come with the jacket was a detachable hood.

Reviewed 4/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, light and reflective...oh yeah, and WATER RESISTANT!
rating
by Siobhanachu
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or

I bought this hoping for three major things staying dry, being visable and durability. I got that and more! I love this jacket and plan on buying the hood to take it camping. It packs nicely and I wear it at night even if it's not raining. It fits me 5'1, lady 125 lbs. Bought a size small and the only thing that doesn't fit perfectly is to be expected as I have a giant headneck so zipping up the collar is comfortable albeit snug.

Reviewed 4/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceptional shell for the wind and wet!
rating
by WWDefy
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my road cycling shell from the mid-30's thru the upper 40's. Love the pit vent and long back to keep me dry.

Reviewed 2/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great jacket for the ever changing weather in in Pacific Northwest.
rating
by Sequim Sycler
Cycling Enthusiast
Sequim, WA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I live on the Olympic Pennisula of Washington State, and I cycle year round. This jacket has been the perfect addition to my cycling gear. Encountering cold weather, rain, and wind, this jacket has made my rides more bearable, and comfortable. Have not found anything yet I don't like.

Reviewed 1/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
100 percent satisfied with my purchase of this jacket.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
philadelphia
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Vents provides breathability.

Superior craftsmanship.

Very light.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
On the pricey side. But exceptional performance.
rating
by OldMarine
Cycling Enthusiast
Oahu. Hawaii
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I use this jacket in rain or when it is on the chiily side (which happens rarely here in Hawaii). I have the hood also and leave it on the jacket (except I remove it when riding my roadbike because it inpedes view to the rear somewhat). I have tried a number of breathable rainjacketsraincoats and was disappointed in them all. This jacket is not perfect (it still gets sweaty in there when temperatures are warmer and relative humidity is high). These are the most difficult conditions for any breathable jacket (including the Elite 2.0), but this jacket does much better than anything else I've tried. Not only does it breathwick very well, it also has an EXCELLENT venting system consisting of a front zipper, pit zips, a vent across the shoulders in the back, and large cuffs which will let a lot of air into the jacket if they are open wide and the wrists are in a favorable posiion. (The cuff openings are a little stiff-which is good-but it would be even better if there was a built-in device of some sort for holding the cuffs fully open in a circular shape if the rider so desired.

Reviewed 11/4/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable rain jacket that doubles as a cold weather wind breaker
rating
by WICrazyGuyOnABike
Cycling Enthusiast
East Central Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Long Torso 6'1" 200 lbs - bought size XL for ability to layer extensively for use in long rides down into the 30s. Besides terrific moisture resistance, this works as an exceptional wind breaker in cold weather when properly mated with underlying layers, with much more comfort than riding in a parka. Lightweight, and rolls up fairly compactly for space saving on long distance trips or bike trunk storage. I particularly like the adjustable cuffs to close tight on my riding winter gloves. Durable - my 2018 model is still working great after many rides.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent for Challenging Weather
rating
by George
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Nice fabric that provides protection against the rain and the cold. Zippers under the arms are great for ventilating when you get warmed up. And the zippered chest pocket and rear pocket provide great storage for the gear you need at hand. High visibility in the day time (yellow) and at night (reflective stripes). There are other excellent products out there, but it would be hard to find one better at this price point. Not cheap, but you'll never regret spending a few extra dollars here for years of good wear.

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still waterproof after all these years...
rating
by Stacia (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
25 of 25 customers found this review helpful.

I have owned the Elite 2.0 jacket since 2008 (I think) and have worn it pretty much daily for winter commuting for most of those years. Except for dirt stains on the yellow fabric, it still looks brand new - ZERO loose threads, worn fabric, anything. On a long bike tour a few years ago, I brought another Showers Pass jacket (the Century, maybe? - trying to save weight) and loaned my Elite 2.0 to my riding partner. By the end of my three-month tour, the lighter jacket was destroyed - no longer waterproof, with the fabric layers peeling apart, the pit zippers stuck. The Elite 2.0 was still kicking, and continues to keep me totally dry and comfortable in all kinds of weather.

I am a woman, but have the men's cut of this jacket. It fits fine and I can fit it over another jacket or sweater easily. I do find that it's cut a little too short in the front, but the long back hem is awesome. It's possible this is improved in the new 2.1 cut, which I haven't tried.

My only caveat is the cuff fabric. It soaks up water like crazy and takes a loooong time to dry. Why Showers Pass didn't make the cuffs out of the same awesome eVent fabric that the rest of the jacket is made of, I will never understand.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rain jacket but no side pockets
rating
by PDX bike wanderer
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my original Showers Pass Elite rain jacket after 7 years of use. I got a great deal on this jacket that I couldn't refuse. It's nice to have a new jacket that repels the rain. I bought the same size as before but this one fits a little tighter. One downside for me is the lack of side pockets. There is now one large pocket in the lower back that is not so usable for me. Perhaps I will get use to it but it seems more awkward. No where to easily put my gloves when stopping. Overall I am happy with the jacket and look forward to dry rides in the rain. One other thing, the tag said Mens but the zipper is on the opposite side.

Reviewed 12/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth the extra dollars
rating
by Jay (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Shower's Pass Century jacket for the past couple years. The jacket has held up well, fits well and keeps the rain out, but it really doesn't breath particularly well. After a hard workout in Portland drizzle, I'm almost as moist as if I hadn't been wearing a jacket.

So this season, I decided to break down and spend the extra money on the Elite 2.0 jacket. Wow, what a difference. This jacket keeps me warm and dry without feeling like I'm wearing a plastic bag. Extremely well made with lots of venting options and the fabric seems to breath surprisingly well. I also feel a bit safer riding in the dark with the reflective stripes on the back and sleeves. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great Jacket for the wet PNW.
rating
by Andrew S. (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR.
31 of 42 customers found this review helpful.

I love my Elite 2.0! I mostly commute but If it looks like I'm going to brave the downpour to get a great rain ride in, this is what I'll be wearing. Excellent waterproof quality, without over heating, or becoming drenched in my own sweat. If you need a top of the line do all waterproof jacket, this is it!

Reviewed 10/30/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than expected
rating
by Jim
Ontario, Canada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

6' and 170lbs. Medium is a perfect fit.

First ride - nearly 3 hours in drizzling rain at 10deg Celsius, no sweating and perfectly dry.

It's often uncomfortable zipping a jacket collar right up, not this one. Perfect cut, comfortable collar.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Product was what I was hoping for.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan

Pricey, but purchased on sale. 5' 10"/145. Bought a large to accommodate multiple layers in winter. Will work well. No side pockets for hands-would be nice. Fits well. Sleeves are long on me in the large-to my fingertips.

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The jacket has the look, ventilation and fit I was looking for.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Alexandria, VA

Use on my daily rides in cool or cold weather. It has adequate ventilation especially on my back that was hard to find. I like the longer sleeves with the strap closure instead of elastic. Pockets are in right places. Overall well made and of good quality which makes for a good feel as well as good looks.

Reviewed 4/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.