1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain

ShimanoUltegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(86 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(14)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(81%)
(16%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Chain, chain, chain..
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

Of fools. Pandemic allowed me to ride more miles in 2020 that normal and led to the rookie mistake of waiting too long to replace the chain which often time leads to replacing the cassette too. As was the case this time. Word of advice for the DIY'er, make sure you have a quality chain tool and use the right pin as 9sp, 10sp, and 11sp are all different. If using a master link, you'll find it much easier to connect with Master Link pliers like Park MLP-1.2.

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worthwhile Upgrade and Solid Component
rating
by Fiddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I recently purchased this chain as a replacement for a KMC chain I had previously. My bike had a mix of Shimano 105, KMC, and FSA components, but I've made a couple upgrades to Ultegra as I wore parts out. I found this chain to be easy to install and it's running smoothly on my bike now. I've noticed that my efficiency has increased slightly since installation, which has translated to several unexpected PRs on Strava segments. I am very happy with the high standard Shimano has set with their components, and Ultegra is a great balance of performance and price.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Cannondale caad10 Ultegra is so sweet to ride especially when I am sporting a new Shimano chain.
rating
by pushing 60 but pedaling 20 mph
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A new chain can make your bike run like a deer. I love my Cannondale caad10 Ultegra, but even more when my favorite mechanic Todd puts on a new chain and tightens up the derailleur. Ride safe, but wear a bracelet with your medical contact.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
rating
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ca
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my original chain after 3600 miles (still had life left) on trek road bike. The shimano is lighter and shifts smoother than the original even when new. I get good miles out of my chains as I clean them every 150-200 miles. I remove soak them in simple green, scrub with paint brush, rinse and blow dry with hair dryer, reinstall with master link then use Motorex road strong motor cycle lube. I know your thinking this guy is text book OCD my wife keeps telling me that, never the less my LBS tells me what ever I'm doing its working.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice durable chain.
rating
by Keirin
Competitive Racer
Lodi, California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Cleans easy and last long.

Reviewed 2/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quiet reliable chain
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Katy, Tx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good reliable chain that is quiet and shifts well. I train a great deal for all types of road races and go through several chains each year. Caught these on sale and stocked up for the year. The order was shipped quickly and arrived within a few days. I have always had good service from Western Bikeworks.

Reviewed 2/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great chain. Great price.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nearly as good as Dura Ace and less expensive
rating
by G Kuch
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have an all Ultegra 10 speed drive train, except for FSA cranks. I ran Ultegra chains for a couple of years, but then came across sale on Dura Ace 10 speed chains and decided to try it. No perceptible difference in performance or longevity, but noticeably quieter that Ultegra. Now I can't seem to find Dura Ace 10 speed chains anywhere. Perhaps Shimano has quit making them. Anyway, the Ultegra chain is a great chain and if you find it on sale get a couple.

Reviewed 11/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Want a replacement chain
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Hi I am new rider and I don't know very much about the 10 speed chains. Does it fits any size? I had a 10 speed cassette Shimano.

Reviewed 4/1/2015
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Hi! 10 speed chains are designed for 10 speed drive trains and this chain is an excellent choice as Ultegra is known for its durability, weight savings, and strength; you won't be disappointed! Best, Jeremy Biketiresdirect.com
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best chain for your money
rating
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made, lasts longer than other brands, use on tandems and single bikes

Reviewed 6/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best chain for cycling long distance
rating
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida rail trails
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like using A pin in stead of quick release

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well with the new cassette
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This chain was easy to install and works well with my new cassette.

Reviewed 4/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
rating
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Houstn, TX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Chain is good came as original equipment with my BMC.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a chain
rating
by jbird17011
Cycling Enthusiast
Camp Hill, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice quality 10 speed chain. Works well on Shimano drive

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10 Speed Chain
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great quality, good durability for a good price. Been using these chains for years!

Reviewed 11/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
received quickly, no problem
rating
by Michael D
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

standard chain, good value, use tool for pin

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
no problem, prompt delivery, good price and value
rating
by Michael D
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

need chain tool to shorten and put pin. Keep lettering on chain outside (to the right) per picture supplied with chain. easy to install

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality chain.
rating
by Oceanbikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I typically get about 3500 miles of usage from this chain before replacement is necessary due to wear.

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great always
rating
by Tom R
Cycling Enthusiast
L.I.N.Y.all seasons 20degrees F
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

7,000 miles a year,replace at 0.75 wear indicator

Reviewed 5/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
economical, durable, dependable
rating
by p,orbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

use on a road bike. Plenty long to fit big gears. Easy to install, just be sure chain writing is facing out as it is directional which improves shifting. I install a removable master link for easy cleaning. It would be nice if Shimano included one but the pin also works fine. Google the chain for specific installation instructions. In case the chain breaks, a spare master link will get you home.

Reviewed 4/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.