FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Shimano SH-SD5 Cycling Sandal

ShimanoSH-SD5 Cycling Sandal(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(77%)
(12%)
(4%)
(4%)
(4%)
Great cycling sandal but both my wife and I had to order one size smaller than normal to get a good fit.
rating
by Tandem 2some
Cycling Enthusiast
Durango, CO

Used for summer sport riding and touring. Performance is good on the bike and they are great to walk in.

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable, tight-fitting sandal to go fast
rating
by subjectivist
Daily Commuter
Springfield, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like sandals in the summer, but these are the best I've had. I can go faster with these than regular cycling shoes do to the way they snugly fit my foot without discomfort. For instance, when I use my hamstrings and and pull through, the strap across the heal provides instant power without the shoe sliding back and forth.

Reviewed 8/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You will really like them.
rating
by RUR
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Idaho
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Shimano cycling sandals are great. I use them on paved and dirt trails. They work so well that

I'm using them off the bike walking around doing errands. I'm going to get another pair and just use them

as regular sandals without putting the spd cleats on.

On the bike and pedaling ...these work and feel just like my other Shimano and Specialized cycling shoes. The difference you'll notice is how cool your feet will feel when riding on warm and hot days.

The sandals fit really nice and are adjustable quickly for use with socks or bare feet.

Reviewed 8/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great biking sandals
rating
by gwg
Cycling Enthusiast
bend or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use them for road biking during hot weather. My old shimano sandals (maybe 12-15 yrs old) had a little stiffer sole which made them less comfortable for waking but a little more efficeint for biking.

Reviewed 8/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I use these more than I thought I would!
rating
by leonardogia
Cycling Enthusiast
Royal Oak, MI
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The sizing might run a little large.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these sandals - but there's a caution...
rating
by Mike NJ
Cycling Enthusiast
South Jersey
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are great - like Tevas with cleats - with a couple caveats

1- The sizing suggestions aren't really clear. Compared to my regular Tevas, the sandals are narrow (need to be so they don't catch on cranks or chain stays) but long. I ordered two sizes and the better one looked very long on my foot compared to my regular Tevas. BUT - the fit feels good, both pedaling and walking. If you're between sizes, go for the larger one.

2 - Be careful twisting out. Because they're like Tevas (which is what I wanted), your foot has much more play within the sandal than it does in a regular biking shoe it takes a much bigger twist to uncleat. I had one of those lying-on-the-ground-with-feet-still-clipped-in moments. As usual, in the most public spot possible. Just tighten the straps and be aware.

Bottom line - I love them for the short dashes around town. Haven't tried them for a longer ride and probably never will.

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Sandals
rating
by olga
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

I love these sandals for summer riding. I had a pair 20 years ago and was happy to see they were available again. I had read the strap was to short, but I did not find that was a problem for me. My right foot will go numb at times on long rides with my regular biking shoes, but with these sandals I do not have that problem.

Reviewed 7/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable Snug fit, Walkable
rating
by wftravers
Casual Cyclist
96734
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great Sandal. Fits good, comfortable for riding and walking during stops. Bought as a backup as my first pair is still in good shape after several years with 3-4 rides per week 8-20 miles per ride.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unless it's cold out, Shimano sandals are the best for bike riding
rating
by D Breck
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida and Wisconsin
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Shimano sandals for years. Long rides or short, they're great. They breathe in the hot weather, are easy to walk on, last a long time.

Reviewed 3/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as good as previous SH SD60..
rating
by Sandi
FL
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Had the SD60 for years and wore them 5 days a week for spin class...great comfort.

Unfortunately the new SH SD5 lacks enough stiffness in the foot bed...Not bad if you sit the entire time, but any time spent spent standing on the pedals in a climb will result in sore arches...consider these a waste of money for the sandal and the money it cost to get the clips installed for my purpose.

Reviewed 8/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sizing is for narrow feet. Need larger size and cut off length.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix az
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden in this sandal for years. Keeping a pair going with shoe goo. This new pair does not fit as well. Tried several sizes. Finally got larger somewhat larger size for width and found so long they were hitting spokes. Cut them off with band saw and now ok.

Reviewed 2/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No More Smelly Feet!!!
rating
by Maui Time
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I cycle in a hot and sticky climate and so these shoes are perfect. In the past I used closed-in shoes and the shoe smell would be so bad that I would need to wash my feet after completing a ride because the shoe stench would transfer to my skin. Wash these off and you are ready to go again, plus they are not cumbersome to walk around in when off your cycle at your destination. Check them out but don't forget to order the cleats since they are not included. Best wishes to you and safe riding!!!

Reviewed 11/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sandals!
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I waited a long time for these, had the originals long ago. Didn't like the replacements. Glad they redesigned.

Reviewed 6/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disapppointed in the SH SD5 Sandal
rating
by Moab4x4
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver
13 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I was going to buy a pair of these SH SD5 cycling sandals to replace my SH SD60 cycling sandals that have been my go-to for the past 15 years. As a final gut check, it went to a store and tried them out. Sadly disappointed in what the SH SD5 has become. The SH SD5 look great, but are completely lacking the stiff metal shank that made the SH SD60 so ideal for clicked-in riding. Thumbs down to Shimano for not continuing with the SH SD60 benchmark. Now I have to figure out what to do, because a cleated bike sandal is the best way to ride in the summer. Maybe look into some Keens?

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New, refined update to the classic cycling sandal
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chico CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the latest version of Shimano's cycling sandal. Earlier models included the original SH-SD60 (two straps), SH-SD65 (three straps), and SH-SD66 (two straps). The newest model SH-SD5 is a complete redesign, lighter, less stiff, and easier to walk in. I've owned both the SH-SD65 and SH-SD5, and prefer the latter.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product, comfortable, well made
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Returned original order for half size smaller, toe room not an issue for sandals. Wore thin socks first few rides until sandal straps softened a bit. Lost one screw on left cleat first time, then reattached both cleats using some threadlock on screws. Nicely cool on feet during warm days. Would buy again.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A worthwhile purchase
rating
by They fit my feet quite well and they function just
Decatur, Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A worthwhile purchase. They fit my feet quite well and they function just like a regular bicycle shoe, but less confining. They are also comfortable for walking around once you get off the bike.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continues my love of all things Shimano.
rating
by YVRBent
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great sandals. Really changes summer riding on my recumbent HR. I thought I'd only use them for more casual rides, but they're up to performance rides as well. They fit a little bigger than my other closed Shimanos, so if you're somewhere in the middle of the sizing ranges, go for the smaller.

Reviewed 8/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Literaly COOL
rating
by Robert
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lost my 20 year old pair, so replaced them with the same and I expect another 20 years of use. They are COOL for summer riding, and comfortable for walking too.

Reviewed 7/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, functional alternative to shoes in summer
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Newbury, Vermont
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

For recreational cycling in summer, this footwear works well enough on the bike and is cooler than shoes, while being unobtrusive when stopping for food or sightseeing. I would wish only that the footbed were covered with leather, which still cannot be bested for moisture transfer.

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page