1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Shimano SH-RX800 Gravel Racing Shoe

ShimanoSH-RX800 Gravel Racing Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(9)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(76%)
(16%)
(4%)
(4%)
(0%)
Stiff, light and the boa works great
rating
by Sean V
Cycling Enthusiast
LA, CA

I got these to use on my new gravel bike and so far, so good. The interior is nice and plush, the sole feels very stiff, which is great because I have a plate in my foot and I'm sensitive to flexy bike shoes. I thought a single boa might be a negative but it works really well and is very simple to adjust while riding. I can't figure out what's doing it but I do seem to have a pressure spot on the top instep of the foot with the plate (so likely not an issue for people with normal shaped feet) It doesn't seem like it should cause problems but it does for me (sometimes) on very long rides. Since I assume that it's specific to my foot issue and not a shoe design problem, I'm going to give it 5 stars.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great show for all day gravel grinds
rating
by Matt Edler
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As more of a roadie, I like a stiff shoe that transfers power efficiently and doesn�t feel clunky and overbuilt like many mtb shoes. These are plenty stiff, not great for walking, but split the difference well between road and mtb shoes.

Fit was good out of the box, although a bit roomy over the arch. Tow box is ample, arch support good but upgraded to a higher end insole. Boa�s closures are nice, Velcro strap over forefoot seems dated, never gets adjusted. Slick design overall.

Reviewed 10/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This was a great upgrade from my previous pair of MTB specific shoes.
rating
by Gary Suttles
Western NC

I ride gravel primarily and these shoes are lighter and more gravel friendly than my old MTB shoes.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Gravel Shoe - Lightweight
rating
by Az Champ Car Fan
Competitive Racer
Marana AZ

Like all my Shimano Shoes these fit excellent. All closure systems work flawlessly. Lightweight with a great finish as well.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great construction and fit especially if desire medium or narrow width; good for gravel and road bike
rating
by Phillip Kolczynski Senior Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Rogue Valley, southern Oregon, lots of hills that

I like Spd clips for road biking and occasional gravel. Quality construction; I like the stiff sole for power transmission;

The adjustment system allows exactly he right amount of tightness.

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes
rating
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes have a stiff sole like road shoes and the versatility of mountain bike shoes. Very comfortable so far on long gravel rides with no break in period. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed 11/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely happy with these shoes
rating
by dcore
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a pair of older Specialized Mountain bike shoes. I find these a very good upgrade in terms of comfort, stiffness and the lacing mechanism is much better than the sliders and velcro on my older shoes.

Reviewed 8/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Killer Shoes!!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These RX-8's have such a nice fit and finish. Seem well built and ready to take on some good gravel rides. Very lightweight. Interested to see how the outer holds up through big mud. Overall very pleased

Reviewed 8/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth the money. Best SPD shoe I've owned!!!
rating
by CaliNative
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhineland Pfalz, Germany
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the stiffness of the shoe and the color. This cycling shoe size was spot on. I normally wear a 12D in New Balance and Nike and the 46 fit me perfect. No break in required and usually that's not the case for me.

Reviewed 4/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Incredibly comfortable, no hotspots, light, stiff and no compromise off the bike.
rating
by LitespeedBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I use the RX800 for Gravel and MTB riding and currently have 1700 mi in the shoes. My focus was on comfort as there are many great stiff, light shoes. I don't have hotspots and they are easy on and off and won't let you down off the bike. I would recommend good shoe covers in the winter as they are well ventilated.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best gravel shoes Ive ever had...15-years!
rating
by AmericanLivingAbroad
Bitburg, Germany
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very, very comfortable for long rides. Added bonus theyre stylish, sleek and neutral too. Id buy another pair if they had my size!

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
OK, once you get your foot in
rating
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX

I've done only 6 or so rides in these so far but am not blown away by these shoes. As stated in other reviews, the elastic which holds the inside flap drives me nuts. Get cramps in my foot trying to get it inside the shoe. Like the Boa system for ease of tightening and removal. The velcro strap seems sort of superfluous. Power transfer to the pedal is decent. Not the most comfortable shoe yet but maybe it will break in better with more rides which won't come until cooler weather.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just the best gravel shoe
rating
by Nick North
Competitive Racer
Northeast Montana

I love these shoes so much, I have 2 pairs. One in black, and I just purchased a second white pair for indoor use only. I always use gravel or XC shoes for all my riding, whether it's road/gravel/CX/XC. I like the stability of having lugs next to my cleat for improved walking/running function, especially since I use a leg length shim under my left cleat. These shoes are lightweight, comfortable, stiff, and super functional. Plus, I keep getting them on sale, which increases their value. Plus the subtle camo shimmer looks super polished. Shimano broke the mold with this model.

Reviewed 7/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent All-Road Shoes, single-BOA simplicity. My go-to all-road shoe now too.
rating
by GorgeRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
White Salmon, WA
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a new pair of road shoes. These are very well built and well designed. The single BOA works without over-binding on my foot. I am an in-between size usually a 12 (11 34) so I end up in 46.5 or 47's . Many don't come in 12 sizes so on this me and my narrow feet went up to 47, and got the silver camo a fun color pattern option (black bike shoes are so bleh). The fit for my tween-size gives a tiny 14 extra room length-wise and width is roomy, but I have narrow feet, some may not like that room. It works well to be able to layer a 2nd pair of mid-weight wool socks for winter under shoe covers. The binding is super gradual and magically hugs your foot more toward the upper half, but foot shape like plays in here. I have found there is a slight break-in occurring and I'm comfortable increasing tension to very snughammer-time tension. I have a medium arch so stock insoles work perfect without the added high-arch ones needed. The BOA binding then snugs you into the nicely padded heal cup and damn, they fit so good. The sole is super stiff, walk-able when you need to. I am now riding these for everything, road, dirt, gravel. They are flat out the best bike shoes I've ever owned riding 35yrs. The one feature a little non-functional is the toe velcro adjust, I would like to narrow things up a bit more but the adjust-ability there is minimal then the small strap doesn't really have much velcro to grab hold with, but I got a 14 maybe so enough, but a little more would be nice. Also I've had some warm days recently and can confirm these breath nicely with my slightly roomy fit. I saw a review where someone claimed they didn't breath, but could be a case of too snug a fit or a fatwide foot blocking all the vent holes. Get fit for a little toe-box room and not too small and you're in business. I ride a big mix of roads and have pavedgravel all-road options all day long in the Col. R. Gorge (WA side). I also ride lone-ranger 99.9% of the time, and shoes I can walk in without sub-par pontoons adapted for SPD was a must-have, you could need a long-walk to cell signal or to get found somewhere paved or not. With 3 all-road bikes and 1 road bike I shifted to SPD pedalscleats after 30yrs on Look pedals for a decent all-road option. I have some decent Shimano Torbal's that are great low-price shoes and other mid-range shoes over the years, even SIDI, Diadora. These shoes I scored on a killer Christmas sale for more than 2x less than some SIDI's I wouldn't trade them for, not for overpriced $400-$500 shoes. I did not like the SIDIs I had years ago, not enough bang for the buck. When Shimano pops out some new colors, I'm coming back for another pair ) ..... Outstanding shoes, road shoes you can walk in. I'm a total SPD convert

Reviewed 4/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and Stylish
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Chester, PA

Nice compromise between stiffness and comfort. A big plus when you have to dismount. Funky purple fade color is definitely unique.

Reviewed 8/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, easy on/off
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I admit I wasn't too sure about the comfort when I first received them since there is an elastic strip that keeps the inner tongue pulled in and with my very high-instep feet it took a while to get used to slipping them on. But now that I've worn them for riding >1000 miles I really like the comfort and figured out how to get them on with little effort. Soles are stiff enough for me. The pop-in/out feature of the Boa clasp is terrific. They run about true to size, if anything err on ordering a larger size. I haven't yet had the need to do a lot of walking or hike-a-biking in them, so jury is still out on that question.

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A light, stiff, and comfortable gravel shoe
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Topeka, Ks
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I updgraded to this shoe from a cheaper, plastic sole velcro strap gravel shoe the Shimano XC1 . The fit provides good arch support and I didn't need the provided inserts. I bought a 43. I'm a US 10, and I usually go one notch lower in shoe size for my cycling shoes. 43 is a happy medium between too tight for thick wool socks, and too lose during summer grinders. The single boa is plenty on my top-foot to cinch it down. The bottom velcro piece, is pretty much cosmetic as it does little to tighten the forefoot. All around I'm happy with this shoe after 400 miles.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still getting used to these gravel shoes
rating
by rdrerdge1215
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

I've got the Shimano RC7 Road racing shoes and love them, so I expected a similar experience and feel with these shoes. The build quality feels top notch, but they just aren't as comfortable as the RC7's and I'm still getting used to them. Hopefully as I break them in more, the feel will improve.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bang for the buck
rating
by jarofclay
Piedmont of SC

The shoes are just what you expect from Shimano. Excellent quality and features, that seem consistent across the products offered by Shimano. They are as advertised, light weight and stiff. Sizing is consistent with the other Shimano shoes that I have owned. I have greatly enjoyed riding in these shoes.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent lightweight walkable shoes!
rating
by Bamboozle
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on my fixed gear and road bike on SPD pedals. I often get off and walk around with my shoes and these make it much easier to do so than traditional road-oriented shoes. I upgraded from old heavy MTB shoes and what a positive difference to power delivery and efficiency with the stiff sole and lightweight package (half the weight of my previous shoes)! The BOA system works really well and can't imagine going back to full velcro straps.

Excellent product by Shimano!

Reviewed 1/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.