FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Selle Italia Max SLR Gel Flow Saddle

Selle ItaliaMax SLR Gel Flow Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(77%)
(8%)
(8%)
(8%)
(0%)
Finally found my saddle
rating
by Doug M
Cycling Enthusiast
Corona, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I will start by saying that saddles are a very personal piece of kit and everyone will need to pursue there only journey in search of the right fit. WesternBikeWorks was very accommodating with this process. I ordered several saddles and tested them then returned them, and my only cost was return shipping. I am incredibly appreciative of thier support.

Now to the SI Max Gel Flow this saddle is well built and engineered. One of the big things that made this saddle work for me is the side to side shape is very flat and supports my sit bones properly. Many other saddles I tested, the side to side profile is very steep leaving less support for sit bones and putting all my weight on the perineum. Many of these saddle measure the same width profile of 143 to 145 but offer much less sit bone area. I also liked the mild front to back saddle shape. Allows you to have some front to back shape but does not totally lock you in to a single position preventing repositioning during a ride.

The cover is smooth and allows for smooth movement around on saddle. The padding is absolutely perfect, just enough to provide some comfort to the sit bones without smushing you in and preventing a good platform for you to hammer out some watts. The open center relief works to keep from having pressure causing numbness on long rides.

As far as the SI suspension coupling from rails to saddle body, I did not notice any improvements over a standard platform, but I will preface this comment with the fact that I am using a Cannondale SAVE carbon fiber seat post that is super flexy and really provides a lot of comfort.

I would recommend giving this saddle a try if these are things that appeal to you. Cheers

Reviewed 4/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this Saddle
rating
by Mike G
Seattle
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A little spendy, but very nice.

Reviewed 1/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome
rating
by Vb
ca

This is the most comfortable road saddle I have found. I bought a second one. The newest one has a pointless piece of carbon fiber sewn into the top that I dislike, but other than that I highly recommend giving this saddle a try

Reviewed 10/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well built saddle that improves the discomfort guys don't want to discuss.
rating
by hollmank
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I switched from a Specialized saddle that I thought was very comfortable. While this new saddle has caused some saddle soreness because of different sit bone contact, overall I find it to comfortable and made with very good quality.

Reviewed 2/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
rating
by Rick
SANTA CLARITA

It was a little tough at first but i love it now.

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than expected
rating
by Anonymous
Pensacola, Florida

I had never ridden a cutout saddle and didn't know what to expect. This saddle is very comfortable to me. I like the relief the cutout provides. The gel is plenty firm. For a few extra negligible grams I believe I made a good choice in selecting this saddle.

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Jury is still out
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Truckee, California
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

No more numbness in the man parts, but my sit bones feel like someone has spent two hours kicking me in the ass after my rides. Still tweaking the seat angle and it has gotten slightly better. But the jury is still out on this one.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fully functional, it looks great !!!
rating
by Anonymous
Los Angeles, CS
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Fully functional as described by the seller, it looks great installed on the bicycle.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fully functional, it looks appealing!!!
rating
by Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Fully functional as described by the seller, it looks great installed on the bicycle.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This seat was not for med. Because of my old age I need a seat with more padding.. I reordered a different seat from tires direct.
rating
by Dick Ladieu
Cycling Enthusiast
St. George, Utah
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I still have a 5 year old Selle Italia seat that I still use. However I purchased a new Full carbon bike and the seat that comes with this bike is not comfortable for me. This particular seat that I ordered from Tires Direct was a little too firm for me. So I talked to an associate from the returns dept. who was very helpful in suggesting a seat that might be more comfortable for me. So I ordered it and his advice was excellent. I really like this new seat. It is Selle Italia L2 Man Gel Flow, a good fit for me and meets my comfort needs. Great company to do business with, quality products at very fair prices. I have been road biking for 60 plus years but my passion for the last 20 years is mtn. biking.

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The right shape with a little give
rating
by Hockinator
Kirkland, WA
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

This saddle is the right shape for me and the gel provides just enough give without being soft. The big cutout works for me, too. I'm 6'1 and 185 lbs. Fairly flexible, can touch my toes, and ride in what I'd call a moderately aggressive position.

Reviewed 12/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great saddle for a fair price - not inexpensive but these products last and provide good performance for the bucks
rating
by pjc in h.b.
Cycling Enthusiast
huntington beach, ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

have used selle italia gel saddles both off and on road for years and have found they consistently deliver comfort, high performance with long lasting durability. they handle mud, wet, sand and sweat and still look great after a clean up and air drying.

most of my riding is now on the road for recreation and commuting so would expect my selle italia saddles to last for quite sometime.

Reviewed 1/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Road Saddle
rating
by Tomas
Seattle

This is my second SLR. I have not found a performance saddle for road riding that matches the SLR's comfort, suppprt and overall killer cosmetics. Other saddles I currently own Brooks Cambium B17 and WTB Silverado.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.