1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon Supreme (HS469) 700c Tire

SchwalbeMarathon Supreme (HS469) 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(69%)
(29%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Best tandem or touring tire - period.
rating
by collyer
Cycling Enthusiast
dallas, TX

Best tandem or touring tire - period. WBW saved me $$ and shipped fast. What else do you want?

Reviewed 5/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, fast rolling tandem tire
rating
by ABQ tandemers
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, land of goatheads
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this tire to replace a non-folding Gatorskin on the back of my Co-Motion tandem. The rear tire on any tandem wears at least three or four times as fast as the front due to the weight and torque. While this is not a perfect rear tandem tire (haven't found one yet) and while it might be a few grams heavier than the comparable folding Gatorskin, I've found it rolls every bit as fast. It's definitely more puncture resistant than the Gator. I have had one goathead pierce it in 600 miles whereas by that time, with the previous tire, I'd had several. This tire rides softer than it looks (it looks hard). The reflector strip, while it looks like a bit of a whitewall during the day, is very reflective and pumps up the safety factor. The tread is not noisy at all. I don't know of a better all around rear tandem tire than this one. I've noticed some squaring off after 500 miles but, again, this is on the back of a tandem and to be expected with any tire (unless the stoker is light as a feather). Nice tire.

Reviewed 1/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough but fast, smooth riding tandem tire
rating
by ABQ Tandem Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this tire to place on the rear wheel of my Co-Motion tandem. 700c 28. Was getting more than the usual number of puncture (goat head) flats with a Gator with only 700 miles on it and it was time to try something else. The Gator actually got a slice in it as well. This is a whole different tire. Great tandem tire. Smooth, quiet ride. Not jarring. At fast rolling as the Gator, which surprised me. And much more durable. The reflective strip, which originally looked kind of like a white wall to me is amazing reflective on gray days or in the rain. Like any tire on the back wheel of a tandem, it's starting to square off after about 500 miles but this is to be expected due to the torque and weight on the back wheel of a tandem. But no tire is absolutely bombproof, unless you go with rubber that is so thick and hard that the ride really suffers (think, small little animal in Texas, part of it's name rhymes with brillo). I've gotten a goat head puncture with it but the sealant in the tube closed in right up. I'm convinced the goat heads we have here in NM could puncture a metal coffee can. All in all, a really good tire. Should sell for $10 less, though. Buy it on sale. And it's a German company but the tire is not actually made in Germany, which is disappointing.

Reviewed 11/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Repeat Purchase
rating
by Brian
Colorado

Product is excellent, highly recommend this tire. I buy all my tire needs through Western Bike Works. Great customer service, great prices, great selection.

Reviewed 4/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent!
rating
by Ellisj
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used both these and Schwalbe Big Apple tires on my electric bike, which is a Bionx Townie men's bike. Presently I am on Marathon Supremes. The total bike weight conversion is about 65 lbs. Both tires have amazing grip. This Marathon Supreme takes more air pressure (85 lb compared to 55 psi on the Big Apples) and I do get a minimal but definite mileage gain from the higher pressures on this tire, about 6-8%. With a normal 30 mile range on my battery, a reserve of a couple of miles might be huge, depending where I have gotten myself to on a long ride. Both of these two Schwalbes have amazing grip, so much I am constantly scraping my pedals on the inside side of turns. All Schwalbes are tremendous tires, with great puncture protection and durability. I wouldn't ride on anything else.

Reviewed 11/24/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires appearto be very high quality
rating
by JamestownTrailRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Jamestown, NC

You can feel and see the quality when mounting the tires. They roll well and give a great ride I don't have may miles on them yet but i anticipate a long life based on the reviews I have read. Reflective stripe is a nice addition to nighttime visibility.

Reviewed 10/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Tough Tire
rating
by CommuterCurt
Daily Commuter
Morgan Hill, CA

I've been using Specialized Armadillo tires on my commuter and it seems they had a supply chain issue, so I bought a set of these tires. So far I have put about 5000 miles on the set. I mounted them as tubeless with some Stans fluid. My commute road conditions are terrible. Going past a construction site I put a nail through the sidewall. I popped in.a tube in it and kept going. In direct comparison to the Armadillo, the Schwalbe's don't handle as well, but they make up for it by being really tough. Anyway, after 5000 miles, I can still see the parting line from the tire mold on the front tire. The rear is showing wear, but I think its got another 3000 before I'd consider replacing it. I'm fairly certain that if these were the Armadillo tires, I would be replacing them now. My normal routine has been to inspect and pickout glass shards every few days. The Armadillos would pick up more glass and leave little tears in the tire. That still happens with these tires but way less often.

Reviewed 9/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Coast to coast without a flat (only two slow leaks)
rating
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I put these tires (700x35mm) on my Surly Long Haul Trucker before riding the TransAmerica Trail in 2018. I am still riding the same tires, and have over 6000 miles on them. I have only had two slow leaks, which were caused by small wires from steel belted radial tire debris. In both cases, the tires did not deflate while riding. I did not know that I had a leak until the next morning. I removed the wires from the tires, patched the tubes, and was on my way, all from the comforts of camp, not on the side of the road in some remote part of America. I have swapped front and rear tires to help even out the wear. Because they are foldable, I can always carry a spare tire with me while touring. These tires are expensive, but when I consider not having to fix flats roadside for over three years, I give them a value rating of 5 stars. I definitely recommend these tires.

Reviewed 3/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding Quality for Around Town
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta. GA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

You usually get what you pay for, and this tire is the gold standard for quality - so it's not the cheapest tire on the rack. However, after reading reviews on several options, I mounted them to my wife's daily ride for the streets of Atlanta. bike. She was ecstatic about the improvement, and the looks of the tire on her bike. That makes me happier than if I'd mounted them on my own daily ride. (Especially since my daily ride is a Tacx Neo.)

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful tires. This was a replacement for another one I have had for 5 years.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Relatively pricey, but a great tire. Its a very smooth ride and a durable tire. This was a replacement for a Marathon Supreme that lasted 5 years and many 1000's of miles of commuting.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite tire
rating
by PDXTabs
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The 700x32 is only 30.0mm wide on my rims and they are a little expensive, but they're still me new favorite tire. I prefer these to Continental Gatorskins and the Continental Contact Speed.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best combo of puncture resistance and low rolling resistance
rating
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I do my road riding in urban areas and there's just too much glass and debris in the road for me to use a tire that isn't at least somewhat puncture resistant. This tire is the best combo of puncture resistance and low rolling resistance I've used by a long shot. IMO it rolls better and is more puncture resistant than a Gatorskin, and is much more puncture resistant and rolls almost as well as a GP4000s. Only downside is the price, but I've found these tires last a long, long time.

Reviewed 9/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for smooth roads with needing fast traveling.
rating
by TheBrickPig
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisville, KY

I installed these tires on my Cannondale Quick 1 urban bike to replace the original Schwalbe Spicer tires. I removed the new tires from their packaging and allowed them to relax in the summer heat. They were very easy to install without an unusual force needed. Theses tires provide a much softer ride (at 85 psi) and have a better road grip in comparison to the Spicer tires. The center core is thicker too. I only ride in nice weather unless unexpectedly getting caught in some rain so these tires were a good choice. The only concern I have is that the side walls, just above the reflective stripe, are thin. This probably helps with a softer ride but I will stay out of any back alleys having debris that could possibly puncture the tires at the sidewall. So far with 318 miles and no problems.

Reviewed 8/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good reliable tires
rating
by DanielD
Cycling Enthusiast
South Carolina
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using marathon Supremes for about 10 years. After 2 years or so there is a sharp piece of steel that protrudes from the tire and gives me a flat. Whenever this happens I know I need to change the tire . This has happened every time, and it is always after about 2 years of riding the tire. Does anyone know if it is the design of the tire or the process of manufacturing. Overall, good tires I don't see me changing at this time. It does seem as though the quality has gone down over the past few years though.

Reviewed 4/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great construction and durability. I'll buy these again.
rating
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
New Braunfels, TX

I've used Schwalb Tires for 10 years. They last and last, all the while giving you reliable puncture protection and a solid ride. Thanks.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire - low rolling resistance - nice riding
rating
by International Tourer
Cycling Enthusiast
All Over
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Toured about 1200 miles so far with these in a 700x40c size mostly on pavement with a few packed limestone-dirt bikepaths. The total weight (bike, rider, and gear) is about 320lbs (it's my 'privilege' to carry a lot of gear). I run a pressure of 75psi front and 80psi rear. They are showing signs of wear, though the molding flash is still barely visible in a few spots. I estimate total mileage should be about 3200-3600.

The rolling resistance seems decent and is definitely better than the Marathon Plus in a similar size, besides being lighter (I know, why worry about a few hundred grams) and much smoother riding.

Wet grip is good for stopping. Admittedly, I haven't tried serious wet cornering being loaded down this much but so far no problems. They do whine a bit at certain speeds on smooth pavement, but not really objectionable or I can change speed to avoid it. The folding bead makes it easy to carry a spare (which I haven't needed yet). Actually, haven't needed the spare tube either, being (shhhh!!) flat-free so far. I'd buy them again.

Reviewed 9/29/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good compromise of durability and light weight
rating
by Memphis Tourer
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

We replaced Schwalbe Marathon Racers in 700x35 that came with the bike with Schwalbe Marathon Supremes in 700x28 before starting a self supported 2000 mile bike tour from northern Michigan to Portland, ME. My wife and I and gear weighed about 200 lbs. An estimated 600 miles were on hard packed crushed limestone. We ran the tires at about 90PSI.

One front tire had to be replaced at about 1000 miles due to a sharp piece of steel penetrating the sidewall. Because the tires are folding, we had a spare with us. One rear had to be replaced following another sharp piece of steel penetrating the tread at about 1800 miles, damaging the inside of the tire such that tubes wouldn't last.

We noticed easier pedaling with the bikes unloaded after we changed the Racers out to the Supremes. We really like the folding bead enabling carrying a spare tire when touring along with the lighter weight and higher pressure rating. We are also satisfied with the tires durability and will buy a new set before we do our next cross country tour.

Reviewed 8/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best commuter and touring tire for me. Only one flat in 6000 Miles ! And love the reflective stripe
rating
by Portlandia cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is mounted on my commuter touring bike and it has never disappointed me yet. I will buy this tire again. The weight is also not too bad.

Reviewed 2/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Marathon Supreme Has Been Tire Of Choice
rating
by WindRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, Nevada
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

The marathon supreme is mounted on my wife's bike, daughter's bike, and on all three of my bikes. These tires have seen many thousands of miles of commuting, recreation, and event riding. Each Tire has given me about 2,000 miles of good traction almost flat free riding. Until the last Schwalbe Marathon Supreme replacement, I would have given this tire a Five Star rating. The newer Supremes do not have the same overall excellent appearance as the tires that I was buying years ago. The tread, sidewalls, and finish seem a little sloppy ... compared to the excellent product that I am used to seeing. My newer 700c X 28mm Supreme has separation cracks running all the around the tire, on either side of the center tread. The tire only has a few hundred miles of road use. I will be returning this tire. The Schwalbe Supreme is a great design,but the construction quality appears to be going down hill.

Reviewed 2/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Got over 7,000 miles, 11,265 km from 1st set
rating
by Steve in New York
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nothing to dislike. These are my second set after putting on slightly over 7,000 miles on 1st set over a one year period. There was still some miles left but it was stating to get thin in a few places. Best tires ever. And never had a single flat in that time.

Reviewed 11/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.