1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 20" (406)

SchwalbeMarathon 20" (406)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(72 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(56)
(10)
(1)
(4)
(1)
(78%)
(14%)
(1%)
(6%)
(1%)
Great all-around tire
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For a heavy tire they are surprisingly fast and very durable. I bought these on recommendation and have been quit pleased. These are my second set.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires great price.
rating
by Colorodo
Casual Cyclist
Lynden,Wa
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Schwable tires are the only tires I use on my bicycles.

Reviewed 1/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Schwalbe Marathon isn't just a home run; it's a Grand Slam.
rating
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Everything about this tire screams German quality. From its well-balanced mix of butyl and latex to its finely designed tread pattern this baby is all about fine-tuned control with virtually no roll resistance. As with all Schwalbe products, the quality goes in before the name goes on.

As the rider of an unusual vehicle (a street strider) I can attest to the quality of the Schwalbe brand. My upright, elliptical, three-wheeler makes a back and forth pattern as it strides down the street. The demands upon my front two wheels are tremendous. The wearability of the Schwalbe Marathon tires, in this difficult(unique) situation is unsurpassed. Professionals worldwide trust the Schwalbe brand to always deliver unsurpassed quality and value.

Schwalbe,where the rubber meets the road.

Respectfully submitted, BillBillyB.

Reviewed 1/17/2015
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Thanks much for the rousing review! Glad the tires work so well for you! Anna WBW
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A little slick until they got broken in.
rating
by Artoollious
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

When I first put them on my Trident Spike, I had to slow down. Otherwise I would push into the corners. But after 5 or 10 miles they were broken in and grip VERY well. I have put over 300 miles on them and they perform flawlessly. I have (unfortunately) run over some glass with no worries. Great investment. If I get several thousand miles out of them, I will get more.

Reviewed 12/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, CO

We use this tire on our Bike Friday tandem and it has performed well so far. It appears to be well made, we've done some limited touring with no flats.

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wanted a better tire for my Bike Friday
rating
by Bob
Foxboro

Schwalbe marathon offers very good protection I have had great success with the marathon tires on my full size 700 touring bike . When it came time to replace the 20 tires on my Bike Friday the choice was easy.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good multi season tire
rating
by Anonymous
northern mn
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires for the front of my windcheetah after having a catastrophic failure with another brand. Since it was close to fall I decided not to go with the really low rolling resistance tires and try to push these into January - February (about 6 months). I've already put on 1430 miles and I have to say these are a lot easier pedaling than I expected. I have little to no wear showing and the ride is about a 8 out of 10 comfort wise. Some minor things that are annoying are the treads are wide enough to pick up lots of small rocks just long enough to throw them at me, obviously any treaded tire can do this though, and the side walls aren't as rigid as I'd like for some cornering. The sidewall stiffness is obviously a tradeoff for a smoother ride, and I can live with that. I will probably buy again but I will probably run slicks in the summer just for the rolling resistance. These are also a quiet tire on my scale.

Oh and no punctures which I am impressed with but it could just be luck.

Reviewed 9/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
no flats yet - big improvement
rating
by vanagod
Cycling Enthusiast
Medford, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the 20 version of these tires. I am happy with them so far. I installed them on our InStep bike trailer which was still running its original tires and constantly getting flats. These tires installed easily enough and no flats yet. I don't know how much is due to tires, or slime in the tubes, but no flats was the goal and goal achieved so far.

Reviewed 9/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires (Marathon 20
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought one of these about two years ago and it has held up great. So I decided to get more for my trike. They roll easier than my previous tires and look like they are going to last much much longer. I haven't had any flats, I do go overboard with liners and puncture resistant tubes also...flats while out on a ride are not my idea of fun!

Reviewed 9/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
durable, reliable
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Michigan

This is the 3rd bike I've equipped with Schwalbe Marathon's!! Started using them on my road bike 2 years ago, put them on the tandem my wife & I ride last spring, and now have put them on my "backup" recumbent. They are very durable, puncture resistant, and the rolling resistance seems low. They are a bit difficult to get on, but then again, I don't need to take them off very often!!

Reviewed 5/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for a trike.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sanger, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They are on the front of a 3 wheel trike that are disastrously tough on tires. These tires hold up to the test of being tough. Other tires have worn out in a very short period of time.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quite pleased
rating
by Cape Cod Triker
Cycling Enthusiast
Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put a pair of these on the front of my Performer JC-70 trike and have now put 50 miles on them. I inflated to 65 lbs, and had a much more comfortable ride than on the OEM Michelins inflated to 55. Steering is also much surer, and the grip is so good I now have to be careful not to over steer, especially on tight turns. Most important, on one of my regular set distance (10 mile) courses, I gained nearly 2 mph average speed without exerting more than normal effort. Did that course two days in a row just to be sure and the mph held. Overall very satisfied!

Reviewed 5/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for heavy use Electric Recumbent
rating
by Stoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Vermont
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

My SWB recumbent is outfitted with a rear-wheel geared 450W motor powered by a 48V LiOn pack mounted on a rack directly above the rear wheel. The total weight of the bike is 60 LBS. Add my 200 LBS plus occasional cargo and tires wear out fast!

The Marathon GreenGuard tires have been a great option. After 300 miles there is almost no wear, the ride is smooth and the grip is excellent. The Kendas I was using were replaced at 500 miles.

I highly recommend the Schwalbe Marathon for riders interested in a long-lasting tire with great ride characteristics. As a previous bike shop owner, racer, and family biker I rate these tires as one of the very best cruising/commuting options available.

Reviewed 8/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent road wear. Less flats.
rating
by John
Florida

I've used these for a year and found they last at least three times longer than the tires at Walmart. Well worth the extra cost. Easy to mount, also.

Reviewed 4/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good all season tire. You can still get flats but seem fewer than what i had used.

Reviewed 2/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect replacement for the stock tires
rating
by Byron
Tucson
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced tires on my Catrike Trail. Rolling right now.

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Put 3 on my Catrike
rating
by Triker Bill
Lancaster, PA.
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I went to the larger 20x1.75 tires on my Catrike Trail. I wanted this larger, wider tire for when I am on a gravel rail-trail. The main thing I like about this Marathon model is the uninturrupted center rib of the tread. This solid center rib gives a smoother ride on a paved trail, and the wider 1.75 tire sits more on the gravel not digging in as much. I like these tires as they are a high quality tire and have the puncture resistand liner. They are lighter than the Marathon Plus tires too. I have been running them at 60 psi. Good stuff! )

Reviewed 9/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Florence, Oregon 97439
rating
by erw
Cycling Enthusiast
coast of oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great for touring, good protection and rolling resistance.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tires
rating
by Anonymous
Snohomish, Wa

Comfortable ride

Good grip

Low rolling resistance

Reviewed 1/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ore comfort and speed.
rating
by TrikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Alton, illinois
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are as comfortable at 70 lbs as the OEM tires were at 40 lbs. they defiantly roll faster and farther, as I have picked up a couple of mph in my average speed. I know they will last longer it took a couple hundred miles to wear of the thin bits of rubber left from the casting.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.