FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Schwalbe Marathon 20" (406)

SchwalbeMarathon 20" (406)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(57 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(10)
(1)
(4)
(1)
(72%)
(18%)
(2%)
(7%)
(2%)
So far so good.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, CO

We use this tire on our Bike Friday tandem and it has performed well so far. It appears to be well made, we've done some limited touring with no flats.

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wanted a better tire for my Bike Friday
rating
by Bob
Foxboro

Schwalbe marathon offers very good protection I have had great success with the marathon tires on my full size 700 touring bike . When it came time to replace the 20 tires on my Bike Friday the choice was easy.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all-around tire
rating
by Anonymous

For a heavy tire they are surprisingly fast and very durable. I bought these on recommendation and have been quit pleased. These are my second set.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires great price.
rating
by Colorodo
Casual Cyclist
Lynden,Wa
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Schwable tires are the only tires I use on my bicycles.

Reviewed 1/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Schwalbe Marathon isn't just a home run; it's a Grand Slam.
rating
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Everything about this tire screams German quality. From its well-balanced mix of butyl and latex to its finely designed tread pattern this baby is all about fine-tuned control with virtually no roll resistance. As with all Schwalbe products, the quality goes in before the name goes on.

As the rider of an unusual vehicle (a street strider) I can attest to the quality of the Schwalbe brand. My upright, elliptical, three-wheeler makes a back and forth pattern as it strides down the street. The demands upon my front two wheels are tremendous. The wearability of the Schwalbe Marathon tires, in this difficult(unique) situation is unsurpassed. Professionals worldwide trust the Schwalbe brand to always deliver unsurpassed quality and value.

Schwalbe,where the rubber meets the road.

Respectfully submitted, BillBillyB.

Reviewed 1/17/2015
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Thanks much for the rousing review! Glad the tires work so well for you! Anna WBW
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A little slick until they got broken in.
rating
by Artoollious
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

When I first put them on my Trident Spike, I had to slow down. Otherwise I would push into the corners. But after 5 or 10 miles they were broken in and grip VERY well. I have put over 300 miles on them and they perform flawlessly. I have (unfortunately) run over some glass with no worries. Great investment. If I get several thousand miles out of them, I will get more.

Reviewed 12/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good multi season tire
rating
by Anonymous
northern mn
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires for the front of my windcheetah after having a catastrophic failure with another brand. Since it was close to fall I decided not to go with the really low rolling resistance tires and try to push these into January - February (about 6 months). I've already put on 1430 miles and I have to say these are a lot easier pedaling than I expected. I have little to no wear showing and the ride is about a 8 out of 10 comfort wise. Some minor things that are annoying are the treads are wide enough to pick up lots of small rocks just long enough to throw them at me, obviously any treaded tire can do this though, and the side walls aren't as rigid as I'd like for some cornering. The sidewall stiffness is obviously a tradeoff for a smoother ride, and I can live with that. I will probably buy again but I will probably run slicks in the summer just for the rolling resistance. These are also a quiet tire on my scale.

Oh and no punctures which I am impressed with but it could just be luck.

Reviewed 9/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
no flats yet - big improvement
rating
by vanagod
Cycling Enthusiast
Medford, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the 20 version of these tires. I am happy with them so far. I installed them on our InStep bike trailer which was still running its original tires and constantly getting flats. These tires installed easily enough and no flats yet. I don't know how much is due to tires, or slime in the tubes, but no flats was the goal and goal achieved so far.

Reviewed 9/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Put 3 on my Catrike
rating
by Triker Bill
Lancaster, PA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I went to the larger 20x1.75 tires on my Catrike Trail. I wanted this larger, wider tire for when I am on a gravel rail-trail. The main thing I like about this Marathon model is the uninturrupted center rib of the tread. This solid center rib gives a smoother ride on a paved trail, and the wider 1.75 tire sits more on the gravel not digging in as much. I like these tires as they are a high quality tire and have the puncture resistand liner. They are lighter than the Marathon Plus tires too. I have been running them at 60 psi. Good stuff! )

Reviewed 9/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe Marathon, the gold standard for durability
rating
by Gman
Daily Commuter
Washington State
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these tires on my commuter for 8 years. They are my favorite commuting tire. They are almost bullet proof, and they roll fairly well. They are a bit heavy, but if your priority is to avoid flats, then the weight is worth it. The only time I get flats is when something like a nail is in the road, or when they are SUPER worn out (the green belt is showing). I've gotten one or two flats in 8 years on these. One caveat, we don't have a lot of goat heads in my area. If we had more of those, I might end up with the more durable Marathon Plus. Goat heads are so tenacious, they might get thru the kevlar on this tire, but I don't have any experience with that. For my commutes, these are A.

Oh! And you can run the 1.5 at 100psi, which is also nice.

Reviewed 12/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Florence, Oregon 97439
rating
by erw
Cycling Enthusiast
coast of oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great for touring, good protection and rolling resistance.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ore comfort and speed.
rating
by TrikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Alton, illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are as comfortable at 70 lbs as the OEM tires were at 40 lbs. they defiantly roll faster and farther, as I have picked up a couple of mph in my average speed. I know they will last longer it took a couple hundred miles to wear of the thin bits of rubber left from the casting.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for heavy use Electric Recumbent
rating
by Stoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Vermont
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

My SWB recumbent is outfitted with a rear-wheel geared 450W motor powered by a 48V LiOn pack mounted on a rack directly above the rear wheel. The total weight of the bike is 60 LBS. Add my 200 LBS plus occasional cargo and tires wear out fast!

The Marathon GreenGuard tires have been a great option. After 300 miles there is almost no wear, the ride is smooth and the grip is excellent. The Kendas I was using were replaced at 500 miles.

I highly recommend the Schwalbe Marathon for riders interested in a long-lasting tire with great ride characteristics. As a previous bike shop owner, racer, and family biker I rate these tires as one of the very best cruising/commuting options available.

Reviewed 8/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top of the line tire that holds the road great.
rating
by RWS
Cycling Enthusiast
AkronCleveland, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my TeriTrike. I do a lot of brake steering and these tire are fantastic. Hold the road great with good tread life.

Reviewed 4/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT TIRES
rating
by Reciumbentman
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have run these tires for years both regular riding and touring -- great resistance to flats which is great when you are fully loaded on a tour.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire. Smooth rolling on a recumbent trike.
rating
by Mark
Roseburg

Bought these tires for a recumbant trike. They roll really great. Had a bigger size on a tandem. They are a heavy tire, but when strength and durability are what is important, these are your tire.

Reviewed 10/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard for Touring Tires
rating
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Coral, FL

I've been riding Schwalbe Marathon tires on my touring bikes for many years and consider them to be the standard by which all others are judged. This is my first set of 20 tires for a recumbent trike. So far they are just as good as the larger sizes. Only complaint is they are a bit expensive when compared to similar products from competing manufacturers,, but I guess you pay the premium for the best.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Last the longest
rating
by Bill V
St George

Original tires were well worn at 300 mi and the cords were showing by 400 mi. Schwalbe have 450 mi and look great

Reviewed 9/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy customer
rating
by Michele
Boston

Great tires great service great price

Reviewed 9/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bomb Tire!!!
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Marathons are the best. I had the 1.75 tire that I took to Buenos Aires. The year before I had six flats in just two weeks of riding city streets. This past year with the Marathons, I had ZERO flats. The only problem with the 1.75 is that they are heavy and slow. So, I bought the 1.5 and they are lighter and much much faster (can inflate up to 100 psi vs 70). I am very happy with them cycling all over the city streets of San Francisco. The only problem is getting them on initially. They are very still and I had to go to a bike shop to get them on evenly. Great price and great service from Bike Tires!

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page