FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Schwalbe Durano 20" 406 Road Tire

SchwalbeDurano 20" 406 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(60%)
(33%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Awesome tire deserves better packaging
rating
by Gary
West Haven

This tire was the perfect size for my Greenspeed rim. Honestly, I prefer slicks, but the this was still a great road tread pattern.

I hate that these tires were folded into the packaging. I had to work the beads back to straight.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for the worlds fastest production bicycle!
rating
by GaryfromNJ
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Super tough and extremely fast rolling racing tire. Currently mounted on the front aerospoke of my Lightning F-40 recumbent (Worlds fastest production bicycle) and this tire is extremely fast and durable. I had two of them (406 or 20) on the front of my 75lb Bluevelo strada velomobile and put just over 18,000 miles on two sets without a single tear or puncture and that's on a 75 lb velomobile with all my commuting stuff on the mean streets of New Jersey! I just ordered a new pair for my soon to be acquired Angletec Altitude dual suspension recumbent for fast road riding. I have used the continental grand prix and the continental sport contact tires in this size as well and found them not as fast and more prone to damage. Although I had the continentals on for a shorter time, the sport contacts developed cracking on the sidewalls and the grand prix got all chewed up during Bike NY. I ride every day and have averaged between 4-5k miles out of a durano tire before I replace them (Typically at the end of the riding season when I switch to marathon plus tires for my winter commuting months). I have also found these duranos easy to install and very forgiving on rough pavement. You can play with the tire pressure pumping it up when you want to torture roadies and letting some air go if you are doing a ride with rough roads.

Reviewed 6/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Low resistance and durable
rating
by LarryinMN

I have used these tires on my Bike Friday for several years and am very satisfied. Over 3000 miles of useful life despite more revolutions per mile.

Reviewed 10/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Never flats!
rating
by Mike the Trike
Cycling Enthusiast
Medford Oregon

I get a ton of miles and no flats out of these tires! I run them on a recumbent trike that I put 1000's of miles on each year sliding corners and at screaming speeds and the always hold up! Couldn't be more satisfied with the cost per mile!!

Reviewed 7/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New 20 tire for me with no problems in 600 miles so far!
rating
by allancollins
Cycling Enthusiast
Lansing, MI
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is used as the front tire on a Easy Racer, Goldrush recumbent bike. Have always used a Continental in the past which isn't available anymore. This Durango seems to be preforming very well so far. More time will tell!!

Reviewed 7/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much smoother and softer than Kojaks
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Inverness,Fl

These tires are used on a Catrike and are smoother and softer than the Kojaks they replaced.

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great small tire
rating
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
La Quinta CA

This is the front tire of a LWB recumbent and does a great job. Easy to slip onto the wheel and great traction.

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not a GP4000sII but acceptable
rating
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Good product, reasonable price. Tires in 406x28 not ubiquitous and this tire is an acceptably fast tire. However, according to rolling resistance tests, these need 4-5 watts per tire more than GP4000sII tires.

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rock hard but bullet proof!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very firm ride. Difficult to mount.

Reviewed 1/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough tire providing a lot of miles at a reasonable price.
rating
by Bent rider
Midwest Georgia

Great front tire for my Gold Rush recumbent bike. A little difficult to install but talcum powder & a bead jack helps.

Reviewed 11/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe 20 inch bike tires meet needs on Bike Friday.
rating
by Drex
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the Schwalbe Durano (406) 20 inch bike tires for my Bike Friday NWT for an upcoming month-long ride in Italy. Most riders will be on full-sized bikes (some rentals), & I wanted a narrower, performance tire for my 2004 Friday. Usually, I ride 1.35 wide tires with a Kevlar belt, but this time I am trying the 1.1 inch wide tire. Right now, I have 500 miles on the set of new tires, & I ride rough roads here in Tucson, AZ. The tires have performed well. Easy to change & mount.

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love the tires and they match my mango Catrike beautifully.
rating
by lanoops
Cycling Enthusiast
Winter Garden, FL
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

There's really nothing I don't like about the tires and I mounted them so easily.

Reviewed 8/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
OK
rating
by Braditude
Cycling Enthusiast
Monrovia CA

I had another Schwalbe tire but they were discontinued so this is the second time I've had these. The first set of Durano's didn't seem to last long, the side walls seem to have cracks, a lot of cracks. And the tires were not very old and always kept indoors. I don't remember my other Schwalbe's having that problem and they were on the bike for 3 to 4 years before replacing with the Durano's.

We'll see how this set last. Oh my last rear tire had a puncture or something on the side!! Not sure if it was from one of the cracks or I hit something?

Reviewed 5/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and smooth rolling.
rating
by D Miles
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, IA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are very durable and smooth rolling. I use them on my touring recumbent.

Reviewed 5/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires
rating
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Good tires, just the 20 wheels go through tires faster, as the circumference is shorter

glad to have the folding version, as preparing for a cross country ride on my bike friday. i've been using Duranos on it since i got the BF in 2010

Reviewed 4/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great colour and price
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
South-west, Western Australia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very happy with the price and the mango colour matches my bike frame.

The tyres are for my3 wheel recumbent, which I have had a lot of trouble finding well priced quality 20 road tyre for. They have good grip and are faster than the tyres they replaced however they wear quiet quickly but I get around this by buying 2 sets at a time.

Reviewed 3/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires! I will never change brands.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
new york
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are great tires. The life is very long. The threads don't wear out fast. Very punture resistant. All the attributes I look for in tires.

Reviewed 12/14/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for Bike Fridays, fast, yet very flat resistant.
rating
by Tim Seattle
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I use Durano Plus tires for my daily commute bikes. These are not as flat resistant as the Plus version, but still the best tires I have found for my Bike Friday.

Reviewed 12/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires that Fit!
rating
by ErikInSD
Casual Cyclist
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires work well and were the right size! Warning for those looking for 20 tires, not all 20 tires are the same size! Make sure to go by the value within the parenthesis when you replace your existing tires. Having tried and failed on my first pair, I've learned my lesson.

Reviewed 12/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice riding tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am using in on a Bike Friday fold up. Much better deal than their website.

Reviewed 10/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page