1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Salsa Gel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape

SalsaGel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(30%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great looking and great feeling bar wrap.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville

Very nice appearance to go with a good performing grip.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect bar tape
rating
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

This has been an awesome bar tape that I have put on ALL my bikes! Great product!

Reviewed 10/16/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cushy, but not fragile, or too fat. Easy to re-wrap, and cleans up well. Really good tape.
rating
by Rico
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Oregon

The Salsa Gel Cork tape has everything I want, and nothing I don't. It wraps easily enough, and is sufficiently robust to allow a firm tug during installation. There's no adhesive on the back, so re-wraps are easy, if you change levers or bars. I've found that this tape is not slick when wet, and it will clean up well, after a muddy ride. This is not a fragile tape, and it will take some light abuse with no issue. The gel does it's job of reducing vibration, but it's a subtle improvement. If you want tons of cush, a 2nd wrap is warranted. Overall, a really fine bar tape, and an excellent value, especially at the typically-reduced WBW price.

Reviewed 2/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy tape!
rating
by Chad
Boston

I ordered the brown and it looks AMAZING on my Flash Blue Canyon. Goes on easy and has some good stretch to be able to apply it correctly. Will buy again.

Reviewed 10/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tape!
rating
by Chadderbox
Boston

Rich brown tape compliments my flash blue canyon bike perfectly. Easy to put on with the right amount of stretch. Good hand feel. I'd buy it again!

Reviewed 8/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Feel but Lacks Adhesive
rating
by Chirard
Daily Commuter
Missouri

I got the dark brown, which looks good with my forest green Surly, but there is a a problem applying it. It streches enough but the backing is not sticky enough to hold it in place. I used adhesive on both ends of it; I hope that was enough. If they fixed that, I'd give it my full recommendation, but not as it is now.

Reviewed 2/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great feel and easy install.
rating
by Bill58
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh PA

I have been using gel cork bar tape for many years. It's easy to keep good tension on the tape during installation. The tape lays flat without wrinkling. The cushioning is good for vibration absorption without being overly thick.

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tape from a newbie
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI

Very little experience wrapping bars... this went on easy, no problems whatsoever. Suggest it to anyone because it was easy and not expensive in case you really mess it up and have to try again!

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable & cool!
rating
by Dave
Seattle

Love the Salsa chili's on my Cowchipper drop bar flares. Good grip in the damp and cold.

Reviewed 3/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good stuff
rating
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Installing bar tape is not my forte. This tape is most likely the easiest to wrap (if you are a bar tape nerd like me). It stretches a lot, although don't test it's limits as it can tear. I had about 4 inches left over when I reached the top of my 44 bars. And I wrapped it fairly thick. I have arthritis in my right hand and gel tape helps take out the road shock. It has a great feel to it in dry or wet weather. Long lasting, but if you pull it off and on a couple of times it will crimp up like a wet noodle. Just install it and leave it be. Like I said good stuff and great price here at BDT.

Reviewed 5/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fine product for casual touring
rating
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast

Fine tape for touring and cruzin on the drop bars

Reviewed 6/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top quality feel and grip on road rides.
rating
by RG
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use on my road bike all year round. Wears well and reduces vibration.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tape
rating
by Bmniedbalski
Jackson, MO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the dark brown, and I bought it for the looks. Looks like cork, or leather. Mates well with the color scheme of my bike. I have an old Schwann Le Tour in a dark blue. The dark brown goes great with the dark blue, and my dark brown leather saddle. This was my first time ever retaping a set of handlebars, and was happy with the results-videos on YouTube. Tape is comfortable to ride with, and is a good vibration dampner. Would recommend.

Reviewed 9/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Soft and durable.
rating
by Tom halter
Amherst, ny

This is the second purchase of the salsa handlebar raps. The first ones have been on the bike for over a year.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent cushion and grip
rating
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
columbus ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After trying many bar tapes, I settled on Salsa as it is long enough , cushy enough and stays put. It's actually more cushy than Bontrager double gel and grippier

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels Good!
rating
by Shaun Thompson
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Colorado

I like the cork feel with the gel backing. Comfortable and I expect it to be durable as well.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like the look and feel
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Road & gravel
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the soft feel of this tape. This is the second time I have purchased it. It may be because I didn't do the wrap so well the first time, but the tape did move and the edges rounded up. I paid much closer attention to spiral direction and pitch of the spiral. Hopefully, this will help is stay in place better this time.

Reviewed 9/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brown Gel Tape
rating
by Jon
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN

This finished the look on my commuter bike with its new brown Brooks B17 saddle. Very comfortable tape and easy to wrap. No issues at all.

Reviewed 9/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable
rating
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great product for the price.

Reviewed 3/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best cork tape
rating
by Anonymous
Iowa

This is the best cork tape I've tried so far and it comes in a lot of different colors.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.