FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
ProGold Xtreme Chain Lubricant

ProGoldXtreme Chain Lubricant(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(17%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great lube for both dry and wet. A winner.
rating
by Rico
Cycling Enthusiast
Soggy western Oregon

I've used the regular Prolink lube for many years. Tried a number of other chain lubes, but keep returning to Prolink, for it's clean-running, and effective lubrication.

The one issue with regular prolink is it's tendency to wash off in wet conditions. Here in Oregon, that's a problem. Progold Xtreme largely solves that issue. I've used Xtreme on a number of wet, gritty, gravel rides, and it does indeed remain on the chain, and does not attract dirt. Yah! When applying Xtreme, it seems just a bit more viscus than the regular Prolink lube, but it's ability to remain on the chain in wet conditions is far better. Xtreme doesn't appear to attract much more dirt than regular Prolink. There are other wet lubes that will last far longer than even Xtreme, but these heavy, sticky lubes attract dirt, and your drivetrain quickly becomes a mess, so I don't use them.

Important tips be sure to shake the bottle well before applying Xtreme, and don't use too much, just one drop per link, no more, then let it dry for at least several hours before riding. Western Bike Works has about the best price on this lube, that I've seen.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works xtreme-ly well
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
austin, tx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

does its job. lasts a long while between lubes. chain stays clean and dry under most conditions. bike washing and immersion will wash it out. lube afterwards.

Reviewed 5/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great lube for wet conditions
rating
by bent (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

i have used the regular prolink for years and it works great in dry conditions but does not last long in wet conditions. the xtreme is not noticeably thicker coming out of the bottle but definitely last longer in wet conditions, about 2 to 3 times longer for me. since it is still a thin bodied lube does not attract much dirt unlike some of the thicker bodied lubes i have used for wet weather riding in the past. i would recommend this to anyone who likes a thin bodied lube that can perform in wet conditions.

Reviewed 12/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain lube for wet and muddy conditions
rating
by tracya
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle

I normally use ProGold on all my road bikes, but use this on my mountain bike and commuter. It's a little thicker and seems to wear better for wet and muddy conditions.

Reviewed 5/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Do you store your bike outdoor? Commute in weather? U need it
rating
by NYC commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

I store the commute bike outside (balcony) so the chain loses lube over time. That and the fact that I am commuting in weather -although typically not in pouring rain. I have gradually moved from dry lube, to ProGold, and now to the 'Xtreme' product. It keeps working longer. Put it on liberally, wipe thoroughly, then let it sit overnight before you ride.

Reviewed 12/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great lube
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois

Long lasting lube , holds up well

Reviewed 2/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
IRONMAN Tested
rating
by Joe
SC

All I ever use anymore. Chain runs clean and you push more watts.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best lube for wet conditions
rating
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD

ProGold ProLink is my go-to chain lube, and it generally does fine in light rain. The ProGold Xtreme holds up much better in heavier rain and, like the lighter weight variety, doesn't gum up your drivetrain. The Xtreme does a great job preventing corrosion, which is a boon for bike commuters who don't have time to dry off and re-lube their chains after every wet ride to work...This is one of those rare products that sets the bar high and lives up to its promise.

Reviewed 3/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great lube for wet conditions.
rating
by tracya
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I've tried multiple lubes over the years but always go back to this one. It wears well and doesn't build up or leave a mess. The Xtreme version works particularly well in wet conditions.

Reviewed 2/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great product
rating
by nhroadpb
Cycling Enthusiast
NH

Just discovered this product that has all the qualities of 'regular' Pro-Link with more durability. Impreceptible viscosity increase and I am getting 200 New England winter road miles in JanyFeb per application. Road chemicals, slush, and grime make little impact and the product stays on the chain! And as with 'regular' Pro-Link, cleanup is a quick wipe, dry, re-lube.

Reviewed 2/10/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for long dirty MTB rides!
rating
by roddy
Competitive Racer
Morgan Hill, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lasts 30 miles in hard CX racing! Haven't found anything else that lasts that long in tough conditions.

Reviewed 10/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great wet weather lube
rating
by oaktowncyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Calif.

Am a big fan of the regular Pro Gold, so this was a no brainer for winter. Definitely recommend if you don't want to spend as much on Dumonde or others.

Reviewed 3/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.