FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(11)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(30%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
I can't imagine a better set of fenders.
rating
by martinb
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent and flexible mounting options, solid and quiet, maximum coverage, look great. Be aware though that front coverage is such that wheel off fork founts won't work with these fenders. Not a criticism so much as a compromise required for dry feet.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality full protection fender
rating
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders, period.
rating
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't live without them.
rating
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As good as fenders get
rating
by blfxldr
MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A bit of creativity is required for the mounting of any fenders. These were about as straight forward as fender mounting gets. Mounted 2 pairs on two different models of the Salsa Vaya, both with disk brakes. Good ridgid feel to these fenders.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fenders
rating
by BPBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Brush Prairie, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nicely designed, easy to install, but take your time to align. They function well, & look good. So, if you live where there is an over abundance of rain, (Pacific NW)...& need fenders to ride, these are good ones to have !!

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fenders but take over 3 hours to be installed by a professional at a bike shop.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good if they fit
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Reviewed 7/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
rating
by Tony
slc
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders are great. Installation takes a little time but is pretty easy. They are quiet when riding and protect like theyre supposed to.

Reviewed 11/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First a fall then the rain
rating
by justaguy
West of Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had theses fenders mounted on my GT Grade and my first time out I wore my new cleated shoes but I stopped and couldn't unfasten them as I fell over with the bike on top of me. The rear fender caught me and popped loose from its mount but was undamaged and easily refit into place so that a bruised leg and ego were the only damage I sustained. Last night I took my bike out for a ride in the rain and was pleased that the fenders kept the water off of me and was channelling the spray forward and behind me. Adding the fenders to my bike was a very good move for me as they have already proven themselves to be a quality product, sturdily made, and very effective with wet road surfaces.

Reviewed 1/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Nice Product!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I was using a set of Planet Bike fenders which are a decent fender and fairly inexpensive. I purchased the PDW fenders because I thought they would match the look of my custom bike better. The PDW fenders are hands down the nicest fenders I have used and the setup was similar to SKS or Planet Bike fenders. Coverage is just right using the 45mm fenders with my rain bikes 32mm tires. One unexpected side benefit is I have less toe overlap with these fenders, probably due to the flat top profile.

Reviewed 11/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit great and keep road grime in its place
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

All around a good well fitted fender set. Plenty of hardware to modify attachment options. Only weak point are the plastic termination points used for the wire stabilizers. One broke during install.

Reviewed 5/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My bike is a co-motion the fenders fit perfectly
rating
by Anonymous

If you want great looking and great quality get these fenders from Portland Design works. The bike looks good with these fenders. And the keep your feet dryer with them.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really like these - worth the money
rating
by brad
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Set these up on a road bike to use for commuting. They are quite stable and well made. Easy to install.

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders A+ product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to install, look good and do a great job protecting me from the road grime.

Reviewed 8/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, full-coverage, modern fenders. Expensive but probably worth it.
rating
by Anonymous
Washington, DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are an attractive, modern twist on bike fenders. Lightweight and sturdy, with a nice gunmetal anodized finish. The stabilizing bars are a little short, and it is a stretch for my bike (All City Nature Boy), but overall these work great. Wish they were $20 cheaper.

Reviewed 8/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome fenders!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders are the most well thought out, well designed I've seen. They are sleek, light, rigid, stylish and do a great job of keeping the water off my clothes. As a commuter who wanted to keep riding my road bike rather than purchase a townie, these are a godsend. Though at the high end in terms of price, still less than buying another bike! Great job Portland Design Works!

Reviewed 1/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sturdy fenders. More robust mounting than SKS but you may need extra stuff for discs
rating
by ericf
Daily Commuter
Upstate NY

These fenders are good looking and well made. The 'City' version works with knobby 35s (might go higher, haven't tried it).

I like the mounting system on these fenders - you aren't expected to bend the mounting arms like you are with the SKS's. It's a little bulkier, but it's more robust and way less of a pain.

My only issue with these fenders is that I couldn't affix the posts down near the dropouts on my front fork because the disc brake is in the way. The manual mentions an optional kit to do that, and I'm sure I could have figured something out at the hardware store, but I'd have been much happier had these come in the box.

As it was, my fork has mounting holes mid-fork as well, I used those, and it works, but the front fender is rattly and not as stable as it should be.

The disc brakes didn't create a problem in the back at all - because of the angle of entry for the support, they didn't get in the way there, and no extra fiddling was needed.

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for the Commuter , Work well nice design
rating
by tryg.kouhlmann
Daily Commuter
seattle

Attached to my gravel bike to keep me dry during the rain season in the Pacific NW

Reviewed 10/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Planning ahead for the rainy season
rating
by lars
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, Bend, Oregon

Hard to rain fenders when it has not rained in weeks. I bought these fenders for a new multi-purpose bike (gravel, mud, rain, etc) in anticipation of the rainy season. They fit the bike well and I expect them will be permanently mounted as soon as the the monsoon season arrives.

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page