1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Pirelli P Zero Race TLR Road Tire

PirelliP Zero Race TLR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(64%)
(29%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great...while they last
rating
by Kid, Karate
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

I bought a set 7 months ago, and, after 1500mi, already need to replace one of the tires. They're very good, just wish they were a bit more durable. Think of it as a burlier race tire rather than a faster training tire.

Reviewed 8/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
P ZERO RACE TLR after approx. 1000 miles
rating
by rww1313
Cycling Enthusiast
Bogota, Col
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I'm running the 28mm tubeless on HED Vanquish RC4 Pro Carbon Discs. This tire/wheel combo has not disappointed, i ride these hard on long mountain descents, and over multiple days of sitting the tires hardly lose air. To add, I have had no flats after 1000 miles on bad roads where i ride in Bogota, Colombia (road debris, glass, unavoidable pot holes...etc). the rear tire is showing some wear. I will purchase these again. Also running the 45mm Pirelli's (hardpack) on my gravel, only about 100 miles thus far and really nice...

Reviewed 5/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding All Around
rating
by Pda64
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

I have been very pleased with these. All around performance is excellent and they are durable. Coming from Conti GP 5000 TL's and after multiple sets I just didn't find them durable at all. That said, I feel like the Conti's rolled a little faster.

Reviewed 7/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
P Zero race TLR
rating
by cec1006
NW Wa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After a few hundred miles I can now say, I'm enjoying these P Zeros. They're the 28 mm version on some Dura Ace carbon1380s pre tubeless hoops, while waiting on some carbon tubeless hoops to arrive. Running with latex tubes on a Tarmac SL4 and they the fit the frame fine.

Reviewed 3/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Every day can be a fast day
rating
by Rob
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

While this is labeled a 'race' tire, it works well for every day training as long as you stick to the road. I've hit rocks on gravel trails and ended up needing a dynaplug to seal the sidewall hole. I'm getting over 3000 km per tire on these and they have fairly low rolling resistance, good puncture protection (for the tread more than the sidewall), and most importantly feel very secure in both the dry and wet at speed on curves.

Reviewed 10/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
3,000 miles and no flats
rating
by Peter P
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Installation - Bought these as my first tubeless tires to mount on my tubeless-ready rims. After watching some videos and talking with friends, I decided to try to mount them myself. Overall it wasn't too difficult, I mounted them dry (no sealant) and pumped in some air to get the beads to set, then deflated, removed the valve cores, added sealant and re-inflated. I used a compressor with a presta chuck which made it much easier to get the beads to seat. I also left the tires in the sun for a bit to soften them before mounting, which others had recommended. Expect a bit of sealant to ooze out over the first couple of days as it creeps into any gaps between tire and rim, and then after that they'll lose pressure a bit quicker than a tubed set-up, but nothing crazy. For example, if I top off on Tuesday and ride Tuesday/Thursday, I don't need to add air Thursday, but will top off again before my Sat or Sun ride.

Road feel - I really liked the way these felt on the bike, I moved from 28c to 30c and typically had them aired to 70psi, but could have gone lower. The bike felt great (Wilier Cento 10NDR) and these tires really made the bike feel complete, plush but not sluggish or sloppy.

Durability - the real kicker with these tires is that I rode them 3,000 miles without a single flat. Once, at the 2,800 mile mark, I had a puncture that continued to leak slowly and required a plug (at home), and the next 200+ miles they were fine. I'm in Los Angeles and ride a mix of our city and mountain roads, and some dirt here and there. With a gran fondo coming up I decided not to push it and removed the Pirelli's but had to replace with the Schwalbe G-One Speed tires as the Pirelli's were completely out of stock everywhere and backordered for months. I still have a pair on order and may replace the Schwalbe's when they come in, or hang onto them for when the Schwalbe's wear out. I will do a separate review of those after a few hundred miles.

Reviewed 9/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you can actually get them, these tires are AWESOME!
rating
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

THESE THINGS ARE AWESOME! Best tires I've ridden on (I'll probably do 2,500-3,000 miles this year). I use the 28mm when I can get them.

I've used several tires in the last few years (Continental Grand Prix 4-Season, Vittoria Corsa Control G2.0 TLR, Pirelli Cinturato Velo). The 4 seasons are great for tubed riding in areas where you need puncture protection. The Corsa Controls were nice and felt great but I had some bubbling in the side wall and replaced them with Pirelli Cinturato tires. They didn't roll very fast but worked great for winter riding. When spring rolled around, I wanted some faster tires I could put on carbon wheels and just swap wheels instead of swapping tubeless tires.

These tires have excellent grip and I can feel a distinct difference between the Cinturato and the P Zero Race. I went with the TLR instead of the SL because I have a lot of roads where punctures are possible. I've had a few issues where I got weird screws in my tires and lost a lot of sealant but I was about a mile from home so was able to continue and address at the house. I have a little trouble getting them to seat on my Reynolds carbon wheels but that may have something to do with the wheels rather than the tires. The Cinturatos had no trouble seating on my Roval aluminum wheels. So I don't want to blame the tires specifically. But once mounted, they work great.

If you haven't tried Pirelli tires before, I'd highly suggest you give them a try. You may find that you didn't know how much you were missing!

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road feel with durablility issues.
rating
by SLOSpokes
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These Pirelli's are my first experience with road tubeless, and generally I'm really happy with these tires. They mount well with reasonable effort, seat immediately, and hold air really well. The road feel is amazing -- it's like riding tubulars. They are fast rolling and corner amazingly well.

The downside is durability. After just a couple hundred miles I have a lot of micro cuts, some that have oozed sealant. I have not yet suffered air loss on the road, but my buddy running the same tires has had to insert two bacon strips so far with the same mileage.

All-in-all, great tires, but be prepared for roadside repairs and know that you may need to replace them sooner than expected.

Reviewed 7/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubeless tire.
rating
by Dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Mi

Fast and slow rides, alone and with competitive friends. Mine are 700x28.

Mounted on Campy Bora WTO tubeless rims. Put bead wax on the bead , popped them on very easy with one plastic lever, pumped them up and seated with standard floor pump ( didn't even remove the valve core ) .

Measure 28.4 mm after 1500 miles on a 19 mm internal width rim. Still some miles left on rear and front will go twice as long. Ride nice at 75 r, 70 f, and I am 168 lbs.

I have them in para sidewalls and like the look on a titanium bike.

No punctures so far.

By the way, I know we all have an anecdotal story like this , but I tried the new Conti gp5000s tr and punctured the rear on the second ride, sealant wouldn't hold it for more than one ride so I patched it and put in my spare bin.

Pirelli P Zero Race TLR has a lot going for it !

Reviewed 7/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy on & great ride feel
rating
by WE_ARE
Cycling Enthusiast
Bethlehem, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these after having ridden Goodyear Eagle F1 tubeless for the last 2 years and trying Schwalbe Pro 1's. The Goodyears were a nice tire and an inexpensive way to test out tubeless. I wanted to try something else and tried the Schwables first. However, I could not mount them on my Campganolo Eurus wheels no matter what trick I tried. So, I bought the Pirellis and they fit easily, pumped up without the need for an air boost to seal the tires and have a great feel on the road. I still need some more time to get a good feel for how they work on the different road surfaces. Finally, I was impressed with the packaging. It had all of the info I needed to set the right pressure based on my weight and the wheel width. Only knock against them is that they are a bit pricey.

Reviewed 6/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easiest tubless road tire to mount
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

In an effort to smooth out the ride on my road bike, I decided to try tubeless tires, allowing me to drop from 105 psi down to 80 psi.

By far, my favorite road tire is the Conti GP 5k - roll great, minimal flats, but I heard nothing but horror stores attempting to mount the road tubeless version, consensus was to try the Pirelli P Zero Race TLR. Mounting was very straightforward, and after about 100 miles, there was little to no loss of pressure between rides (2 or 3 days).

While I do enjoy the smoother ride, the P Zero does not seem to roll nearly as nicely as the GP 5k, after just over 500 issue-free miles on the P Zeros.

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A nice tubeless tire
rating
by Michael
Albuquerque
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a set of these as I could not find the 28mm tubeless tires I usually used. I mounted them on hookless rims. They mounted easily and seem to hold air better than other tubeless tires I have used. They also seem quite durable on the New Mexico roads with lots of broken glass. Will purchase again.

Reviewed 8/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very good tire
rating
by P-dog War-torn
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been running Schwalbe Pro One tubeless for about 3 years now. Decided to switch it up and try something new, so I ordered these. They were an easy install on my ENVE 5.6 SES (rim brake) wheels, sealed on the first try with just a chamber pump. I've got a couple of hundred miles on them now, and they are very good - traction is good wet or dry; they feel "fast" (though I seriously doubt I can actually tell); and no flats yet.

That said, they do feel a little less supple than the Schwalbes. I'll see how they last, but if I were replacing them today I'd go back to the Pro Ones.

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Endurace tire
rating
by Garin hatcbh
Cycling Enthusiast
West Monroe, LA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm using the 25mm version tubeless on a set of Token Ventous Prime wheels. These tires go on the wheel easily, seat quickly, and hold air. I cannot be more pleased with these especially considering how fast they roll.

Reviewed 7/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not Conti�s
rating
by Anonymous
Verona, WI
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was excited about the tan wall Pirelli tubeless tires for something different. The puncture resistance seems good and they roll fine. They are slick on hills and slip out when standing. Went back to the new Contis.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubeless tire
rating
by Charlie
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time ordering. Great quality and awesome ride! Great durability! Will purchase again!

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A pleasant first time tubeless experience with Pirelli's
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

First time tubeless user. I mounted the 26mm Pirelli P Zero TLR tires on a pair of BTLOS carbon tubeless rims. Mounting was easy maybe because I used some soapy water. The rims were tubeless ready, (no holes) so no tape was needed. I was pleasantly surprised that both tires instantly seated using my decades old Silca floor pump. After letting them sit a few minutes I pulled the valve core and added 3 ounces of Orange seal to each one. They have over 1500 miles without a single issue. Ride is good and for these uncertain times I already ordered a second pair for when these wear out. As a bonus they hold air extremely well for days on end. I would definitely recommend them.

Reviewed 3/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I am NO longer a fan of the Pirelli Zero TLR Tires
rating
by Greg K
Cycling Enthusiast
El Toro, CA
5 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

These were my 1st tubeless tires. I had these tires on my Bontrager Aeolus Pro 37 rims. The sealed with just my floor pump, no compressor was necessary. I ran them at 75 psi for my 145 lb body weight. However in 9 weeks I had 4 flats. 1 Sidewall cuts in both front and rear tires, one in the middle of the tread on the rear and one staple puncture in the rear tire that self sealed with Orange Sealant. I had to plug the other punctures. I had 4 flats in 9 weeks, so I am NO longer a fan of these tires. I used to run Panaracer Race D Evo 4 tire with tubes and maybe had one flat a year.

Reviewed 12/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
4,500 miles - zero flats
rating
by Portland2Portland
Competitive Racer
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

After trying out two other sets of tires, I decided to go with these for my 3,842-mile cross country trip (plus another 700-800 training miles pre-trip). These tires were put through every imaginable condition - glass, gravel, potholes, interstate shoulders filled with tire blowouts, downpours, wet descents on fresh asphalt. Zero flats, great grip in slippery conditions. They also hold air better than any tubeless tire I've used, losing maybe 5 psi overnight.

I have not tried taking them off the rims, but they were not difficult to mount with an air compressor (on Roval Terra CLX wheels).

Reviewed 10/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Pirelli with a 700 x 28 on my front wheel. This is my first time using this tire but I am happy with it. I have it on my road bike, carbon wheels, and run it tubeless. I have about 1500 miles on it so far and I think the grip is really good and no flats or issues. I feel it must have good flat protection because I ride over the occasional crud on the road and no flats. I pump it up to about 85 and add air about once every 3 rides but it doesn't need much air, it holds it's air pretty good - better than my bontrager R3's. I would buy this tire again.

Reviewed 10/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.