1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
OTTO Ottolock Cinch Lock

OTTOOttolock Cinch Lock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(13)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(53%)
(30%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
I bought this lock to keep with me on rides
rating
by Bob G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, WA

I'm usually be myself when I ride. I use this lock if I have to make a stop at a store for treats or to use the bathroom. It probably won't stop a hardcore bike bandit, but will be enough to deter an opportunist thief.

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Handy and Very Convenient
rating
by ginoledesma
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, CA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've been looking for a lock for my daily commuter that was lightconvenient, secure, and affordable. I used to bring a cable lock, but it was a little bit of a hassle, and most of the time I'd forget to bring the U-lock. The OttoLock is on the pricey side, but it is very light and secure enough for my purposes. I leave it attached to my bike all the time now. It's less of a hassle compared to cable locks (less time untanglingwrapping) and much, much lighter compared to a U-lock.

Some early reviews have indicated that the lock can be defeated by just yanking one end of the loop, even when the lock has already been engaged. It seems like this was fixed some time ago, because I can't replicate that problem with the lock shipped by Western Bike Works. I will be the first to admit I wouldn't leave my bike locked with just the OttoLock overnight.

Pros

- Light

- Secure enough for shortmedium-ish unattended

- Can be stored in your rear jersey pocket, or wrapped around your frame

Cons

- A tad pricey, especially for the longer versions

- 3-digit PIN only

Notes

- Double check the length you'll need for your bike. The 30 version is just enough to secure a typical road bike MTB frame to a post. It may not be enough to wrap the frame and wheel. The 60 version fixes this, but it becomes too bigbulky to be stored in a jersey pocket

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Convenient but the elastic band keep it rolled up broke after about 20 uses.
rating
by Tom in Marin
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, CA

I like the lock as it compact and strong for locking the rear wheel of my bike to a rack or other object when I go into a store. I would not use it to lock the bike for long periods. The combination lock seems a bit flimsy. The elastic band that keeps the rolled-up lock from unrolling in your pocket or pact is definitely too weak for multiple uses. Mine broke after about 20 times. I've ordered three back-ups (they only are sold in packages of 3), so clearly Ottolock knows it's too weak. They should beef it up, as well as the combination lock.

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated review: the Ottolock HEXBAND Cinch Lock 30 is no longer functional
rating
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've really liked this lock, but after less than a year, the button will no longer depress, and none of the steps at the Ottolock site work to fix it. Too expensive a lock to die this soon, and it almost got locked on my bike while I was out as well, which would have been unforgivable.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Storage problems
rating
by Victor
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WA

Works as advertised but difficult to roll tightly and frequently unrolls despite use of the band which unfastens.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well worth the money
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This little lock is awesome-it's compact, super durable, and easy to use. The mid-size is great for two bikes and a pole and doesn't differ too much in weight from the size below (added weight is from extra band only). Would highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
rating
by Nobrakes
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
rating
by Nobrakes
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good caf lock for your road bike that you can carry in your jersey pocket.
rating
by DoctorJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The lock is relatively light and you can take it on your road bike trips. The width is a good size. The length is a bit short so not always easy to lock your bike to a post. I would,consider getting the longer length option, if the bulk and weight are not going to be an issue. The combo lock is great since you dont have to worry about a key.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the Ottolock!
rating
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After doing quite a lot a research I decided to purchase the Ottolock and its turned out to be a great buy. But, its important to understand that all locks can be defeated and this lock in not intended to prevent thefts in a high crime area. It is intended to be used for quick mid ride stops and does it perfectly. If this is your intended use, go for it you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Kinda pricey, but very useful
rating
by JMoss
Daily Commuter
Germantown, MD
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Ottolock as a backup for when I'm between places where I have a U-Lock stored. It's super light and compact. Can fit in a jersey pocket. I went for the 30, and it's about right. It can reach where a U-lock can, but also where a cable lock can. I've used it during the apres ride beer part of an event, and also to lock my bike to the inside of my car overnight (locked through the rear seat latches when the seat is down). I'm a bit surprised at the cost, but the utility seems worth it.

Reviewed 7/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight security
rating
by Cathy
Cycling Enthusiast
Simi Valley, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Ottolock 30 model to take on overnight bike tours when weight is at premium. My old cable lock worked fine, but it was heavy and took up a fair amount of space. The Ottolock is very lightweight and I can store it just about anywhere where it can be threaded through some straps. The 30 length is just long enough to lock 2 bikes together...6 more inches would have been nice, but it works. Do be mindful of the locking mechanism. Holding down the button while both unlocking and locking is required, which is different from the typical combo lock. For me, this is a big improvement over a cable lock. I would not carry a U-lock just because of the weight.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good lock for quick use, ease of carrying around
rating
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Got this for quick trips into a coffee shop or store where the bike won't be left for long, plus to use as the occasional second lock to secure a wheel. You can run it from your top tube to down tube without it getting in the way or scratching the frame, so it's easy to carry and is light. My main problem with it and the reason it gets just three stars is that the combination will not change. After several attempts following the instructions, I gave it to a much smarter person, and she also could not get it to work. So we're stuck with the default, which is just barely acceptable for the intended purpose.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great lock
rating
by Barry
CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love this thing. The reasons for the four star rating are price, it is expensive, good value but expensive, the leanth is just barely long enough for one bike, I wish it had a longer combination, 3 digits is not the most secure. But I still highly recomend this lovk

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It was stiff when I first started using but after a few uses it is great. Light, flexible and tough. This means it actually gets used.
rating
by Aikidoka
Cycling Enthusiast
Vero Beach, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As in the title, it was stiff at first and took a couple of tries to figure out how to set the combo number. After than it works great. I have a large set of bolt cutters but haven't wanted to try it out. I think smaller bolt cutters will barely scratch it. It should be a good deterrent for the casual and maybe even the professional thief.

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Failed on 4th use. And far too easy to cut. -(
rating
by dDavid
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I was excited to have a latte lock to slip in the small seatbag of my roadbike. But upon only it's 4th use, the lock jammed, and I spent 1 hour with their troubleshooting tips - to no avail. I walked home -( and returned with a pair of dikes and cut through the lock in less than 30 seconds - ONE HANDED (because I was making a video goo.glwWYq6R ) Engineering or QC is lacking, and I cannot recommend this product in good conscience. Save your $65 and buy a hardened steel folding lock instead! (Green 30 model)

Reviewed 5/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight & secure Peace of Mind.
rating
by kdavid
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I primarily use this for my road bike (the commuter has a heavier lock) for short stops at coffee shops, lunch stops or bio breaks. I got the 30 so that I can go around my frame & wheel, a post or rack, and even catch a companion's bike frame. It's relatively light and easy to use. I am hoping the high-vis green is a deterrent as well, since it sticks out so clearly. This lock is easy to use and takes little room in my seat bag.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Husband Loves It
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Works quickly. Much lighter and not as cumbersome, heavy, or awkward than the standard U-lock. Pop of color optional, but he loves the orange. It was a great Christmas gift!

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing!
rating
by Ryan WWWZ
portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I literally dont notice it in my jersey pocket. I have the small and easily lock two bikes together with conventional stables. I also use to lock my front wheel to me frame instead of the cable that came with my u-lock. If you want an awesome product that is easy to use and affords piece of mind get this right now!

Reviewed 2/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely light-weight medium-security lock
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This lock is a really good solution for medium security protection of your bike. It weighs next to nothing, packs small, and can be used in any situation where a U-lock could be (and probably other situations as well if you get one of the longer versions). Could also be a good way to secure wheels and other items when you are using a U-lock on your frame. Construction is solid and it seems built to last.

The only issue I have with the lock is that the ratchet mechanism is somewhat hard to operate. I've never fully jammed it, but it sometimes takes a decent bit of force to get it to move. It otherwise would be a good solution for a child's bike, but given the difficult of the ratchet may not be able to operate it.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.