1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Oakley DRT5 MTB Helmet

OakleyDRT5 MTB Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(91%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
(4%)
Great helmet with great tech features!
rating
by matt8urton
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, CO

I'll start with the very small complaints. I think Oakley could put a little more design and tech into the core foam of the helmet, like what Smith uses. Second, the sweat band takes getting use to. But then... the sweat band is freaking awesome! It totally works keeping out moisture and aiding with glasses fog. The glasses storage on the back is also sick (don't use while heavy DHn though). The visor on the helmet is the best I've ever had. And last but most important (kidding) It's the most stylist helmet on the market and has a nice low profile look.

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
rating
by Anonymous
Durango

Light helmet that fits great and the design keeps sweat from dripping down your face!

Reviewed 6/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceeded Expectations
rating
by Anonymous

This is a great helmet, really quality construction and very comfortable!

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great looking solid helmet that fits well.
rating
by TXZEN
Cycling Enthusiast
Canyon lake TX

I use this for single track use in Texas to keep the noggin safe. I've used it a lot in the last couple of months and its very comfortable. The helmet doesn't have the usual padding stripes that my last fox helmet did however when riding its comfortable and I forget its up there. The forehead sweat band works good, but I haven't had a chance to use it in summer heat yet.

Reviewed 1/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Last helmet I'll ever buy
rating
by Mtbmonkey
Georgia

The Oakley DRT5 helmet was a huge surprise after riding in a TLD helmet for years. The DRT5 is super light, extremely comfortable, and has great ventilation with minimal fabric based padding in the helmet. This is by far the most comfortable helmet I've ridden in!

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice fit
rating
by born to ride
Cycling Enthusiast
maryland

I like the look of helmet easy to adjust and totally like visor on front to keep sun out of eyes while riding hasn't been hot enough to know if it will keep you cooler in summer while riding. Got it on sale great price

Reviewed 1/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
rating
by Steve Lum
2641 Tuller Ave El Cerrito, CA 94530

The DRT 5 helmet is the most comfortable of all the previous helmets I�ve owned. It not only fits great, but it looks cool too. The only issue I have is with the eye glass holder. If you don�t flip the glasses upside down, they have a tendency to easily fall out of the latches. Also, the visor screws may come loose, so make sure you secure them properly.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very High Quality Helmet, Good for Hot Cimate.
rating
by Pedalkin
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairhope AL

Very high quality helmet, the BOA system makes if fit securely. Very easy to put on and take off eye wear, the docking system for glasses is a very good feature. Sweat management system keeps my eyes dry, the number of vents is good for a hot humid climate.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very High Quality Helmet, Good for Hot Cimate.
rating
by Pedalkin
Casual Cyclist
Fairhope,AL

The Oakley DRT5 helmet is very high Quality. I live in the South East and the perspiration management system works as described. Also the visor keeps the hot sun out of my face. I am a fan of oakley eye wear, and I have never had a helmet where it was so easy to put on and take off sunglasses. The helmet fits very well with the BOA .system. Overall very High quality helmet, excellent for Hot and Humid climate.

Reviewed 6/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet! Comfortable and light
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Comfortable, light and moves sweat from draining in your eyes/glasses. This helmet also offers great fit with the boa system

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable helmet and sturdy helmet that disappears when you are riding.
rating
by Kevin
Competitive Racer
North Bend WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet, boa system fits my head well. It's well ventilated and has the sweat gutter on the fore head. You need to keep your hair out of the gutter or it becomes a gutter directed at your glasses instead of away from them. The glasses holder on the back of the helmet works for some glasses and some just slide out. Might need to update your shades if you plan on keeping them outback when climbing.

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sweat management for bald guys
rating
by Rob
Competitive Racer
Woodinville, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been cycling for some time (think leather hairnets and Bell V1 Pro era) and have owned a lot of helmets over the years. Helmets are like shoes, the shape either fits or it doesn't. I find the DRT5 to fits me well. For comparison, I find the "ovalness" of Specialized helmets fit my head shape. The coverage is excellent, the fit is trim (not a big old mushroom head helmet) and the adjustments are top notch. As far as I know, Oakley is the first to NOT use foam pads inside a helmet. The MIPS shell fits right against your head so there are no sponges to collect sweat. I find that sweat beads right off my bald head, which brings me to my favorite feature, the silicon gripper. The three blade gripper contacts the forehead at the brow. Any sweat that runs forward gets trapped in between the wiper blades and eventually runs out the side, right down my temples, away from my eyes and glasses. I have used every type of sweat band, dew rag and whatever other sweat management products are out there. None work, they all stop sweat until saturated and then sweat runs down the inside of my glasses and into my eyes. The DRT5 helmet has no foam pad sponges to saturate with sweat. The air flow is good for how few holes the helmet has and the plastic interior holds no moisture, so sweat dries as it runs off my head. Best helmet for bald guys! Like other reviewers, I can take or leave the sunglasses dock. Hey Oakley, put the silicon gripper in a road helmet and I'll buy that as well.

Reviewed 5/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, adjustable helmet with great visor
rating
by NickSlyness
Daily Commuter
St Paul

Previously purchased an Oakley road helmet, which I love.

So when I saw this on sale I grabbed it. I wanted a helmet with a visor for commuting, mountain biking, gravel riding, etc. Very happy with how comfortably this helmet fits.

There is a slightly gimmicky mount in back for sunglasses, which I have not tried.

But the visor is great for visor fans and it feels like a quality helmet that will last a few seasons.

Reviewed 6/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Buy this helmet!
rating
by Anonymous
Indianapolis

I bought this a few months ago, and today i am so glad I did. The husband and I went on some mtb trails in Muscatatuck this afternoon, and I misjudged my descent at the end of the tail. I should have gotten off and walked my bike down, it was a bit steeper than I usually go, but i said to myself "Why not? The end is right there, you got this." I did not, in fact, have this. I hit a large rock, and flew like a bird straight over my handlebar. If not for this helmet, I might not even be able to write this review. After a few moments to assess my damage, I was able to ride my bike away with only minor road rash and a scraped up hand. I wish I could post pictures of the indent in my helmet, it's crazy to think that could have been my skull... buy this helmet folks. It's cheaper than a visit to the ER or a funeral.

Reviewed 8/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet is Top Notch
rating
by Anthony Garcia
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe New Mexico

I purchased this helmet for MTB. This Helmet is what I've been looking for. Its comfortable, safe and fits perfect. I believe I purchased this helmet about 6 weeks ago after tons of research. After about a week I took a nasty spill with bike in tow. I don't know if I hit a rock with my head or my bike hit me in the head. I suffered some bruised ribs and chest soreness. I didn't get a headache or dizziness. I still rode about 5 miles off the mountain. Its been one of my best purchases of 2021. I also purchased the same helmet for my wife.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gorgeous Helmet! Two Thumps Up.
rating
by frank1623
Cycling Enthusiast
Round Rock, TX

I have been an Oakley fan for a long time. When the opportunity came up I just jumped in and bought this mountain bike helmet. It is gorgeous, it has been my favorite MTB helmet so far, the silicone strip on the forehead is really working well in blocking the sweat drips to my eyes which the major benefits wearing this helmet. BTW, I ordered the second one with different color for spare.

Reviewed 2/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite helmet
rating
by Anonymous

By far my favorite helmet! I've worn Fox, Fly, TLD, & Bell over the years. The Oakley helmet vents well, is super light and very comfy! And the sunglasses holder is brilliant!

Reviewed 6/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Oakley DRT5 Helmet-Black
rating
by NM2MN
Cycling Enthusiast
Twin Cities, MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been really happy with this product overall. Sizing was spot on. This is my first mtb helmet and I found that I don't really use the sun glass feature. I do like the adjustable visor for different lighting preferences and it ventilates well and the sweat guard helps some but definitely doesn't catch everything.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great hemet
rating
by Bob
San Diego

I like the build in shade visor. Very adjustable and comfortable fit. Light weight but sturdy

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
not so great
rating
by DM
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Tx

Heavy and the strings are very uncortable after riding for an hour.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.