FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals

MKSSylvan Touring Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(5)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(53%)
(33%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very solid, don't slip, and lighter than expected
rating
by KendallsqCommute
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

I replaced the Shimano A-530 (SPDPlatforrm) pedals on my commuter bike with these. My commute is less than 5 miles, with lots of traffic lights, so I never wear shoes with cleats anyway. Having access to both sides in street shoes makes for a much easier commute. These are very solid, very well finished. I've been riding them for several months in rain, and now snowsalt, and they still look like new. Good grip with street shoes or Showers Pass booties. They're very traditionally shaped, so they don't distribute weight quite as well as a bigger platform. They're comfortable enough, don't weigh a ton, and don't have any sharp edges.

Reviewed 12/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work great with sneakers and last forever
rating
by SlowBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the third set of Sylvan Touring Pedals I have bought. I use them on grocery-getter and commuting bikes I have set up for myself, my wife and a friend. I like to use them with Power Grips foot retention straps so that I can ride in any kind of shoe and have more power than with pedals alone. These pedals are the best for that type of system because the little serrations on the edge of the pedal hold on to my shoes, even Converse shoes, yet the serrations are not so big that I feel them when I are pedaling in thin soled shoes. The other awesome thing about these pedals is that they last for ever. I have just beat the crap out of mine over the last 5 years and they still pedal nice and smooth.

Reviewed 5/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't beat MKS peddles, metal and solid and they do not break
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver

These aren't the ultra light state of the art peddles but I'm out there for the health of it so what's a little more weight

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
less than prime
rating
by vitaly
Cycling Enthusiast
willamette valley
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These pedals are decent and solid enough for what they are, but a poor value compared to the MKS Sylvan PRIME pedals available from other vendors. The primes have a better finish quality and appear to have better materials and workmanship than these. In any case, if you do get these, be prepared to open them up, grease them properly, and adjust the bearings before installation. Straight from the tin these are very rough, barely lubed, and not adjusted to spin smoothly.

Reviewed 7/3/2015
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Hi Vitaly,
Thanks for your feedback! It's true that the Sylvan Tourings are a budget-oriented pair of pedals, and lubing and adjusting new unsealed pedals is never a bad idea to get the most life possible out of them.
Derek
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An understated gem
rating
by Live2Ride
Cycling Enthusiast
Beautiful NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It took me years to finally complete the Cyclist's pedal circle of life (Platforms - Toe Clips- Clipless-Back to Platforms). But when I did, I looked around for a good pair of platforms. Most available are rather flimsy or the burly DH/BMX style, none of which suited my needs for a light, stable and well built platform pedal for racing/speed riding. Finally a touring friend of mine recommended these. I ordered them as they were cheap enough and when they arrived I didn't have high hopes. The packaging was a minimalist (a plastic bag), no flashy packaging, no user manual, nothing. I put them on with some skepticism. That was two years ago. This thing is the best kept secret in the industry! I have now put them on all my bikes. Rock solid and stable and they can be taken completely apart and serviced. I highly recommend these. FWIW they are Made in Japan. Gorgeous.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple and Great
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

They feel strong under your foot. The pedal rotates around nicely and the bearings feel substantial (no grinding). Not harsh on the shoes (some pedals really dig in and destroy the shoes). Does not hurt your leg if they should hit your shin, but also hold your foot in place when pedaling. Both sides of the pedal are the same so there is no need to look down to find the correct side. Pleanty of space for your toes. You wear normal sneakers/shoes. And last, not expensive. The only pedal I will purchase from this point forward.

Reviewed 9/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are excellent for roadtouring, Great with toeclips and straps. Very lightweight and good looking as well.
rating
by mitnegah
Cycling Enthusiast
indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Used on all my touring and road bikes. I don't like clipless and these provide excellent grip on virtually any soles.

Reviewed 6/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellant low cost upgrade
rating
by thecerkin
Casual Cyclist
Vancouver, WA.
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Not being happy with the original stock plastic pedals, I replaced them with these. A MAJOR step up (no pun intended) as these have a more agressive bit to the platform meaning that my feet don't slip anymore!

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work well after you adjust the ball bearings inside.
rating
by Anonymous
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Decent quality pedals, but I think the manufacturer has the bearings on too tight. As a result these pedals do not spin very freely and spin with some resistance that is noticeable. You can fix this yourself if you are familiar with working with loose ball bearings and cones. It took me about half an hour to do both pedals. As another reviewer did I unscrewed the caps, added more grease, and put the ball bearings back in put didn't screw on as tight to relieve pressure on the bearings. They now work fine, but would be nice if they were better adjusted out of the box.

Reviewed 1/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good pedals but a bit narrow for everyday use
rating
by SoCalRider
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Work as intended, but when standing up, more platform would be nice. Of course more platform adds weight, but might be worthwhile tradeoff. Still, good value for money,and seem reliable after few months of use.

Reviewed 11/15/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality steel pedal for everyday use
rating
by NO Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

For the money, MKS seems to have the best pedals. I have these on one bike and an older pair of track pedals on my other bike. Both work solid, bearings are smooth etc. My only complaint is they seem a bit longer and stick out more than most pedals. They were prone to hitting the ground on tight turns with my fixed gear.

Reviewed 7/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exactly What Wife Wanted for Her New Bike
rating
by bikerjeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought wife a new high end road bicycle. New experience for her for sure. She didn't want to mess with toe cages or clipless quite yet, but wanted pedals as easy to find with her feet as are on her comfort bike. These fit the bill perfectly. Bearings are excellent and they are light enough.

Reviewed 1/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Basic, functional, durable, user-serviceable.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Massachusetts
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals for years now on my commuter bikes. I wanted something high quality, durable, and simple. These are all that. I typically find that when they arrive they are adjusted rather tightly, which makes them seem a little rough-turning. This is purely an adjustment issue. I don't know if that smooths out in use because I've always just unscrewed the caps, replaced the grease, and adjusted them to be tight enough to remove all the slack and still spin smoothly and freely. So 5 stars for a great product but -1 star for the bearings being adjusted so tight out of the box.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
EXCELLENT SERVICE
rating
by OKCASULRIDER
Casual Cyclist
OKLAHOMA
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I COULDN'T USE THE PEDALS BECAUSE I DIDN'T CHECK FOR THE CORRECT SIZE THREADS.

Reviewed 1/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals & I use extra large Power Grip straps with them, as I have wide feet
rating
by san pedro,ca biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Pedro,CA
11 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

These pedals would be good without toe clips or Power Grip Straps. I use them on my Rivendell Redwood 68 cm sport touring bicycle and my Rivendell Atlantis2 68 cm touring bicycle. I had the Atlantis2 built with Phil-Wood Hubs & Bottom bracket.

Why Phil? Because you can field service them on tour yourself.

I think they are a quality no nonsense pedal with smooth bearings.

They not for racing or sharp cornering with long crank arms like I have. They are great for touring or riding to work or bicycle path riding.

Reviewed 12/3/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.