1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Michelin Protek Cross 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek Cross 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(11)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(26%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Good traction tire
rating
by Manfred
Casual Cyclist
Delray Beach, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a tire that I can use on the neighborhood road as well as some biking on the trail. This tire fits the bill. The only downside I saw, that I had trouble to have the tire properly set on the rim. I had to get back and forth letting some of the air out and pumping back until it was properly centered.

Reviewed 4/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by Anonymous
Lexington ky

Got these for an older MTB to use around my neighborhood and they have worked great very quiet and have plenty of grip for what I need

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tires for my gravel bike
rating
by MH2o
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, AL

These tires roll easily on pavement, but can handle dirt roads & gravel. The wide pressure range makes adjustment for different rides easy.

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I Love these Tires!
rating
by dave140c
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, CT

I love these tires. They are reasonably light for the size, the tread design is excellent, they roll as smooth as silk, and they are super round! The reflective side stripe not only provides a safety benefit, but looks super sharp as well.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rides really well and does not feel like it requires more effort than the slick tire it replaced!
rating
by Stan
SW Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In south west Florida the trails are asphalt with areas covered with sand, so far I have not had any instances where the tires have failed to maintain their grip. Also, property owners are required to provide the sidewalks, but many are grandfathered out of the requirement and it is good to have some tread to navigate the sand paths that result. The reflective strip is also asset considering the lack of streetlights. Instalation was a snap and the product's quality is obvious.

Reviewed 2/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great! Converting MTB to a city commuter
rating
by Jeff Woiton
Daily Commuter
Seattle

Shipped sooner than expected, which only meant one last ride on the old knobbies to buy tubes. They installed easy enough, speed and weight improvements are noticeably favorable. Pleasantly surprised by the reflective sidewall strips! Today I'll get to check their performance in the rain!

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for Commuting
rating
by Team H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Laguna Beach
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put the 1.6 tires on my commuter bike. They were about the same size as the 1.75 tires they replaced. Very easy to mount, not too tight, but no slop. Perfect size, and obvious quality. The price was a terrific value, too. Reflective strip looks great and a huge plus for safety. Fast and smooth rolling. Totally happy with these tires!

Reviewed 4/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy, but at cost
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

This has a well designed thread pattern for "go every where" purpose. I bought a pair to be used as my city bike. The writings on the wall of the tire indicate the tire is designed for e-bikes, which, in theory, should not make any difference in fit and use. I believe the designers had sturdiness in mind with thicker tire material to resist puncture. However, the sturdiness came at a cost... its weight. This may not matter much on an e-bike which you don't need to worry too much about pedaling, but it does to a regular bike to some degree if you are someone like me...a picky person. I just thought there was big difference between the one I was replacing with this one. Otherwise, it should give a long tread life. I also like its reflective side wall stripes.

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent customer service
rating
by Drew
Casual Cyclist
south east Michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I needed new tires after a blow out on my front tire , I ordered these tires ,but was having a hard time getting them on the rim correctly . these tires have a reflector strip and it was clear that the stripe wasn't even . I didn't have any experience with changing tires , so I thought maybe I ordered the wrong tire for my rims . I called the help line and someone answered on the first ring. Unbelievable . In a few minutes the technician assured me the tires were correct and told me what I was doing wrong. Problem solved . I have over 300 miles on them with no problems .Good traction on hard gravel bike path and I was surprised how well these rolled compared to my old tires

Reviewed 11/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great tire for around town and gravel biking
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires for my 'town bike', which I've since converted to a gravel bike (by switching out the handlebar & adding panniers). Just did the 109 mile gravel bike tour of the Michelson Trail in South Dakota. The tires did great on the packed gravel surface!

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rugged, well built tire
rating
by MetaNeuralNetwork
Casual Cyclist
Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tread design and tough all around tire. Has a sharp look to it as well.

The one caveat is that the tires are quite a bit heavy. For a pure street bike, I'd look elsewhere. But if you spend considerable time on pavement and in light gravel, these are an excellent choice!

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really good tires, great deal.
rating
by Steve
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Im getting back into cycling at 58. These

tires can be pumped up to 80 psi. Which gives me the most production for my efforts. They handle great (black top) ride nice, good service. Five stars.

Reviewed 8/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great heavy city bike tire
rating
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain View, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great heavy-duty city bike tire. I put a pair of the 1.6 tires on a bike for my parents, and I liked them so much I bought another pair for my around town bike. I also took them on a 15 mile gravel ride and they performed well on dry fire roads. The tread rolls quietly on pavement. The only down side is that the tires are quite heavy and it gives the bike a slightly sluggish feel compared to a racing tire, but hopefully it will make up for that in puncture resistance.

Reviewed 11/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent around town and good on dirt and gravel.
rating
by kcfirl
Casual Cyclist
Carmichael, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these tires for my sons bike and his rides to school, the park, and the Dollar Store and taco Bell. All are about 1.5 miles away and mostly paved with some dirt and gravel. He could not be happier with them and they seem to be lasting extremely well.

Reviewed 11/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Seems like a great tire for gravel riding.
rating
by Eric
Winchester Ky
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Don't have much experience with it yet but it seems to roll pretty well on pavement and still give good traction on gravel on a 26" hardtail MTB.

Reviewed 12/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for my pedal assist roadtrail bike.
rating
by D. Nelson
Casual Cyclist
Bellingham, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a narrower tire for my pedal assist electric bike that would work well on both roads and rail trails. I had been using a 1.75 inch width mountain bike tire that was wearing out and I wanted something lighter but still substantial and a little wider than a 1.5 inch tire. This is it. The extra width and tread pattern have worked out great for my recreational rides each week. I can ride on the flat with the motor turned off and use less power for many of the hills in the area to enure I get good exercise. At the same time, I can always ride, even if I am a little tired or under the weather or face steeper hills since I can crank up the pedal assist whenever I want.

Reviewed 7/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Look great, Fit great and Wear great
rating
by TJ in ChandlerAZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Chandler, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these at a great price and didn't have very high expectations. I was really surprised with the quality, the fit and, so far, they wear like iron. The reflective pinstripes are nice, too

Reviewed 11/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Roboust tire, nice
rating
by Luciano
Daily Commuter
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like their size and the way they run on the crushed lime road, not terribly grippy but it gives you some warning on how far you can go on the wet road, so I like it!

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fit and great ride
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Oregon

First tire change on my Specialized Hard Rock and love the tread and feel of the ride.

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dgneizmikgmail
rating
by Nezzy
North Carolina
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for tires to replace the tires i wore out on my Trek 4300, and these tires are fantastic. Extremely free rolling on pavement and amazing off road,where I ride this bike most. Couldn't be happier!

Reviewed 6/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.