FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Protek 700c Tire

MichelinProtek 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(17)
(4)
(0)
(2)
(56%)
(33%)
(8%)
(0%)
(4%)
Great buying and service experience, thank you
rating
by Bradleyco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Shore of Michigan
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 30 plus miles a day for pleasure in and around Michigan's trails. These tires are superior in ride and performance to my previous tires. The narrow band white wall looks good and glows at night for added safety.

Reviewed 7/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good city commuter tire
rating
by Anonymous
PDX
11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

These tires hold up well to wear and punctures-great for commuting on streets to avoid flats

Reviewed 6/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great town bike tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a town bike with big folding panniers and a large rack bag that I use to get groceries (just fits two large bags of groceries and a six-pack in the rack bag) - about 40 lb with no load. These tires carry the load easily yet are lighter and have much lower rolling resistance than the others I have tried on this bike. I absolutely recommend them!

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Protek is good tire and a good value.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

We bought the 32mm Protek from WesternBikeWorks as a Deal of the day. We have it on the rear wheel of our road tandem to see if a lower pressure wider tire will reduce vibration compared to 28mm Gatorskins. Team and tandem weigh just under 400 pounds and we wear rear tires quickly. Weve put over 700 miles on the Protek and were very pleased with the ride, rolling resistance and flat protection.

Reviewed 4/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
rating
by etod13
CLE
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I only have had them on my bike for a couple hundred miles, but Ive put them through the wringer. They have great traction in wet and sloppy weather and provide an ultra-smooth ride over chuckhole-covered streets. These were a perfect investment to allow me to ride my cross bike year round.

Reviewed 12/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire,great price.
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on the knock around town ride. No issues at all. Easy to mount, nice ride and the reflective strip really stands out in the dark.

Reviewed 8/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire for a good price
rating
by MindfulCyclist
Daily Commuter
Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A nothing special tire that does what it states. Never got flats and a great tire if you are looking for a good commuting tire.

Reviewed 4/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Do it most tire
rating
by Chris DeRosa
North West Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Went with Protec 38 mm 700c but sidewall stated it was rated 40mm. Not sure why some manufacturers ocassionaly do this, but caused no clearance issues on my Sirrus Elite Carbon. This Protec 3840 tire is a replacement for the factory 30mm. A nice improvement on tar & chip, light graveldirt and rougher streets. They give up a little speed to the previous Specilized 30 Espoir but not a lot. I like this tire and the size is a good match for my fitness and city adventure riding style.

Reviewed 3/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
well pleased with these tires for my commuter.
rating
by Meaux
Daily Commuter
Louisiana
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

They remind me of much more expensive touring tires sold by a German manufacturer. They roll well and have nice rounded shoulders for leaning into turns. Other reviewers had noted they run a bit large. I generally run 35s and that is the size I bought but my bike has very minimal brake and fender clearance and If I get another set they will be 32s. Otherwise I am completely pleased.

Reviewed 3/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires and very smooth ride.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very nice tires and very smooth quiet ride. No issues with punctures as of yet and got about 600 miles on them. Great tire all around.

Reviewed 11/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
rating
by Otis
Casual Cyclist
Indiana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire, nice tread pattern and rides well. Safety reflective strip on sides. Great for the commute.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuting tire...
rating
by Chris
Daily Commuter
Nashville
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I've had these tires on my daily commuter for the last 5 weeks and I love them. They roads here in Nashville are garbage and these tires have held up to the daily punishment of them. They're solid in the wet and don't kick up too much of a rooster tail. I would definitely buy these again, and will when they wear out.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall Good Value, but Early Death
rating
by A4Awesome
Daily Commuter
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

Been running the 38mm tires for 19 months, it has made a world of difference compared to the OEM set! After about 800 miles of mostly pavement with some gravel, not even 1 puncture or even a flat! The tires have stayed on the rims since I first put them on. However, recently (800 miles) they have developed a bulge with torn threads on the sidewall which will surely blow out soon. Was hoping for a longer lifespan, but they were great while they lasted.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good everyday street tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island,NY
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Holds up to everyday use. 22miles per day

Reviewed 6/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rides smooth and wears well on gravel surface
rating
by WILLIAM
Cycling Enthusiast
b4n0e1
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use protek both front and back on my Giant Hybrid bike. I am a daily rider on gravel and pavement, 80% gravel rail-trails

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding,smoothGrip on snow,wet,dry.Easy to mount w hands only.Very Exact fit.Great Night Visability!
rating
by Mikeys Bykes
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

These are smooth,Comfortable rolling tires that add a comfort level that will amaze your bike.Pretty fast Tires and Durable protection.Reflective sidewalls are Bright at night.Tire fits the size without a strain to mount.I sell a lot of used,nice hi-end HybridsCity bikes and are my go-to replacements.They do everything well.

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Michelin tires but
rating
by Fred Flintstone
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange, CA
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Love Michelin tires but the Protek didn't meet my expectations for this quality manufacturer. Bought a set of 700cX28mm for Winter road riding for the gravel bike. One is still going strong at 1800 miles, the other blew out the sidewall after about 1500 miles while on a local century ride. Had some difficulties getting the tires to mount and seat on tubeless rims using tubes as well.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Incredible Value
rating
by LPS
Daily Commuter
Spartanburg, S.C.
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Got a set of these for $XXX each on the daily special, an unbelievable steal. I'm riding the 40mm 7 days a week for about 6 months now. I can' say enough good about these tires except I'd replace them again at full price in a heartbeat. I like to over inflate all my tires, rock hard. They roll great and track really good on turns, and off road. They mount easy, and have lived through a brutally hot summer here in S.C. on chip-seal roads well over 100 degrees carrying 230 pound loads with ease. These could be the best tires I have EVER rode staying in the moderately priced tire range. I weigh about 175 and carry tools and groceries regularly. I can't believe these got ANY negative reviews, take those with a grain of salt. Or did I get the best set ever made?

Reviewed 10/4/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellant tire with a reasonable price
rating
by leahcim5102
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, New York
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 22 miles per day on the street for exercise. Rarely miss a day. Protek tires last me about a year, maybe even a little longer. I like the reflective belt on the sidewall. Rarely get a flat and usually it's because I'm using the tire past it's replacement point ( I tend to run them kinda bald...)

Reviewed 12/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Washington DC
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have not had a chance to test the durability but the tire looks good and I really like the reflective stripe on the side. Excellent price!

Reviewed 12/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page